THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS VIDEO SERIES - EPISODE 25 - THREE TOED BOX TURTLE

in #wild-man7 years ago

These guys are another interesting species of Box Turtles.


The Three Toed Box Turtle (Terrapene carolina triunguis) is a very cool turtle. Like other Box Turtles, they have a hinged shell that they can hide inside of and close up tight, almost like a clam! The Three Toed Box Turtle shares its habitat with the Ornate Box Turtle here in Arkansas.

In the Ozarks, you can sometimes find them everywhere. They will roam across fields and through the woods, so @papa-pepper always likes to keep an eye out. After having to jump into so many lakes, rivers, ponds, and swamps up in Wisconsin to locate and capture turtles, it's a nice change of pace to be able to just take a casual stroll through the woods and find a turtle.

This little one looks like it hatched earlier this year. At first, their shells are still soft, and they harden over time. The size and softness of these little ones make them a very easy meal for many predators. As is the case with many species of reptiles, the majority of the young do not make it into adulthood.

The information is the video is original but I did have a quick refresher from this source.

THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 25

THREE TOED BOX TURTLE


If you enjoyed this video, please consider thanking @thelivingpoet for encouraging me to make it!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-wild-friends-three-toed-box-turtles



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Good post, Thanks

This comment has received a 0.11 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

I love turtles. They are so cool. They never give up.

Cool little turtles! I grew up in the desert in AZ, one time we had a 3 legged desert tortoise 🐢 show up in the back yard. He weighed about 20 lbs. He would hang out with the dogs odd enough. As kids we loved that little turtle. I remember walking around in the desert looking for him when he decided to go back to the wild.

What an interesting tortoise. I've only found one in the wild, not far from where I am right now in South Texas. I'll have to look around and see if I can find another one!

lol. See if you can find my friend, Tripod, the desert tortoise. Tell him we moved to San Diego.

Wow! That's a very friendly tortoise.

@papa-pepper- Wow - That three toed box turtle looks adorable. It's pattern is not as pronounced or attractive as some of its cousins but I like the way it seems to be smiling at you in that picture. Thanks for this. We used to have two Singapore painted ear turtles. They died 5 years ago. This blog reminded me and made me nostalgic, Thanks again

I am continuing my focus on wildlife. Today I wrote a blog on Snoozing parrots with my musings about Thomas Carlyle equating parrots to economists. I request you to take a look at it when you have time. Your comments, as always, would be an encouragement and incentive for me to make better blogs. Thanks

Aww the little baby one is soooo cute!!! Turtles are such a cool animal :)
Ps I'm from the Ozarks as well :) a little south of the Springfield, MO area. My family still lives there so I go back to visit often. It's such a beautiful area!!

Cool, I've spent a lot of time lately in that area!

i like a turtle, so beautiful animal :)

It's really amazing to see them everywhere freely like that dear! Wish i could experience this!
Cheers
@progressivechef

It is a great experience, and I really love it!

Oh that baby turtle is friggin adorable!

Very cool. I love how passionate you are about all these beautiful creatures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97