THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS VIDEO SERIES - EPISODE 20 - MISSISSIPPI MAP TURTLE

in #wild-man7 years ago

I've always enjoyed Map Turtles and now I am finally getting some experience with them!


Map Turtles are an interesting group of turtles. Their name comes from the patterns on their shells that resemble topographical or contour maps. Back in Wisconsin, we had three species, but since they are mostly found in bigger rivers, I never encountered them in my area.

Accurate identification of these can be tricky, but I believe that the ones I have here are Mississippi Map Turtles. Enjoy the video.

The information is the video is original but I did have a quick refresher from this source.

THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 20

MISSISSIPPI MAP TURTLE


If you enjoyed this video, please consider thanking @thelivingpoet for encouraging me to make it!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-wild-friend-mississippi-map-turtle



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

So cool! You're like my own personal discovery channel! 🙌🏼

Glad that you think so!

turtle cuteness overload!
it looks a bit like a giant green turtle so cute! haha

sometimes they get married ?

hahah on that papa thanks!

Yup same here :p

Loading...

So interesting as usual :p

Aww the baby turtle is the cutest. I always had a fascination and love for turtles because of the teenage mutant ninja turtles haha.

I found a recently preserved turtle. Preserving turtles in Indonesia is illegal because sea turtles are protected. For green turtle eggs and scaly turtles, if the population is excessive, may eat it, but only outside the conservation area. Read more, I wrote about it at the following link:

https://steemit.com/animals/@ayijufridar/turtles-safe-from-fire-or-penyu-yang-selamat-dari-kebakaran-or

Thanks a lot for @papa-pepper to sharing the map turtle.

Thank you! I think that they are really cool too!

but ninja turtle is very very cool papa :D

Hi just want you to know that my kids enjoy reading your blog..they're very educational..

Hey @papa-pepper , have you ever eaten turtle before?

Yes I have, but as far as I can recall, it was only Snapping Turtles.

Never eaten any myself, but I can imagine that they all taste pretty much the same!

You do some cool stuff. that's why i followed you. I updated - followed and commented. I will appreciate if you do the same. Thank you for your posts

Nice post. Love this series. Can't wait for more! Thank you

I'll try to keep them coming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81