SHITPOSTS - Now And Forever

in #whysoserious6 years ago (edited)

I thought about making another funny fictional story but with a true point about good and bad things on Steemit, but some messages are better to say directly. This is not a post that will criticize some users or praise the others. I've been in some wars on Steemit, but I prefer to be in good relations with all and I hope that nobody here hates me. We all had mistakes while adjusting our earlier experiences to a new type of social network, but when you overgrow those things, you shouldn't make these mistakes anymore. So, I'll talk about responsibilities that a proper Steemer should pay attention to.

whats-a-shitpost.jpg


Let's define SHITPOSTS!

This word is invented on the social networks and everybody uses it whenever finds something that she/he doesn't like. But nobody would pay so much attention to those so called shitposts if so many of them haven't earned so much Steem by posting them. The most of Steemit users consider the shitpost to be a post with one or two images and 50-100 words. Same with memes, photos and funny video clips. I would exclude original photography from this category because you can see many amazing photos on Steemit, although I am tired to see the sunsets 100 times in a day. It is different when someone posts 20 photos in one post and when someone post 20 posts in a day, each with only one photo. Many of those boys and girls don't get much rewards but also many of them do. And always the same ones. So, how to call them? Shitposters? If is that so, I personally support and like some of those shitposters because that's just their style. But there are also so persistent shitposters that will never move a level up. You can see many contests and challenges here and all of entries on these contests can be considered as the shitposts. I mean, why would we upvote the entries on those contests if hey already have a chance to win the rewards? However, shitposts are part of Steemit and we will never get rid of them. So why not to organize something like Steemit Shitpost Challenge?


Auto-voting services save the day!

After I post this, I will get some upvotes from the same people with the same percentage as on my yesterday's post. And in the most cases they don't have an idea what I wrote about. A bot cannot decide is my post a shitpost or not so I'll get that upvote anyway. I understand that many people don't have time to read the posts, but if you don't have any time, what the hell are you doing here? People have time to fool around on Discord, fight each others, everybody has opinions and theories, who is @berniesanders, is he right or wrong... they have time for all that but when it comes to reading the posts, they let the Steem-voter to do the job. That is one of the reasons why always the same shitposters get the honey. At the end, the most important thing here is who gets the upvotes! At least know where your upvotes go!


Beauty of self-voting

The stupidest thing that I heard from Steemit users is this:
"If my followers see that I have few dollars in the first minute of posting, more of them will give me their upvotes."
Why so many people rush to earn some curation rewards if they don't have at least 10 000 Steem Power. I don't care about curation rewards, because if I did, I would never find so many great but underpaid posts. I am glad to follow and support many great users that don't get what they deserve. I hope that they will. But it is stupid even to think about curation rewards if you will get only a Steem or two in a week.
Every day so many strong users upvote their posts with 100% of voting power and then they start upvoting their own comments. Some do that because they want to earn, others do that because they want to prove that this is wrong but that doesn't have any effect.
Many people set their sliders to 10% - 15% and that's the most you're gonna get from them! Well, I think that the battery is here to waste it! I upvote by my own feelings! If I find your post great, I will not hesitate to give you much more.

Why to spare the voting battery, it doesn't take much to recharge! That is kinda idiotic. Give a man how much he deserves and do not be limited by stupid numbers.


Take a look at the trending page!

Same users every day, similar topics and funny number of so called shitposts. So what should encourage new users to join Steemit? OK, some will join, but will they stay after they see what's happening? I hate to see the same name twice on the same trending page. Is there any room for us? Maybe "us" is a wrong word, I will say "them" (you can't see me now but imagine me pointing the finger towards the hundreds of great authors that do not get any reward). Many people work for Steemit on some fields as developers, programmers, organizers... and they are not necessary good bloggers but they are payed mostly by the upvotes. So they get payed from the same reward pool that was made to be for bloggers. So you won't find any of the quality writings on the top of the trending page. If you are getting more than you deserve, you should be as much as responsible to improve your posts. If you don't get as you think you deserve, don't you dare to reduce your quality!


Why is pointless to seek for justice?

If you want to speak up, you will get no results. The truth is, we all had same chances when we started. OK, Steemit is also full of nepotism and protection but, the most of us had the same chances. Many authors made great contacts in their first weeks, I saw so many of those who were "upvote beggars" with no shame, but today they earn much much more than the rest of us. So, if you tell those guys that they get much higher rewards than they deserve, they will just tell you that you could do the same but - you didn't! Everything is allowed here and many things depend on human moral. Yes, we all could fake the programmers to get some jobs here or go from whale to whale asking them for upvotes! But we didn't! And I am proud of that! So many developers around and fucking notifications still don't work.


At the end...

What are my proposals for Steemit in 2018? This could sound a little bit extreme, but think about it! Nobody should be able to upvote himself with more than 1 fuckin $. This is where we have to be as equal as it's possible. And you shouldn't be able to upvote the same users twice in 48 hours (including yourself ). Now you will say that is easy to cheat the system because many people (including myself) have alternative accounts. So I would suggest that only accounts that were verified with some personal documents can give bigger upvotes than 1$ (to others, not to themselves). But nothing will change, so I'll keep my activity in #whysoserious and take all of this as a comedy!


Thank you!!!

logo

Sort:  

I wrote a similar post (omg over a year ago)

Steemit needs more diversity in its posts (or Why Steemit needs crap posts)

I would love to see both well written though out posts like your one. And a good old shit post that makes me laugh.

How could I miss to notice you last year and half?

I come and go, am prolific-ish for a few months then disappear again. All the better to build up my mystic.

I love the line about all these developers and still no notifications...lol I wondered about that. I am new on here but I did notice the same about the trending pages. I am thankful some of you on here are keeping an eye out. It helps those of us just learning. Blessings.

I've been a part of steemit for less than 24 hours and I can already agree with you. But we have to be realistic, it's today's society. You will find this kind of bullshit everywhere because people have no respect for themselves. Nothing's gonna change, I know that. It's just the way it is :)

Stay here, you'll see all good and bad things in a very short time

You make too much sense @dumar022 . Shake my head when I get a 0.05 vote from a whale, who has 98% power. 1 Dollar self vote sounds right. Wouldn't bother me if they did away with it.

Yep, nothing will change...

I don't mind the shitposts with low rewards, bad content is everywhere on the internet, unfortunately it must be here too. However, my largest issue with steemit is seeing shitposts with 100-200$ rewards. How can a platform succeed if that kind of behavior is tolerated here. In the long run it brings more bad players into the system and steemit could fail miserably because of that.

And that's something that we can't avoid. Many things depend on human morality and honesty, since all is allowed.

this truly is not encouraging for the new users

So i try to support as much as i can

Yaaaaa you have given a great information

Well... there are always exceptions... ;-)
I do use autovote on my other account (you know who I'm talking about, don't you?) but... I also see every post through this account... and in the event of a shitty post... I remove my vote. But honestly, I didn't do that a lot of times before... the people I choose to autovote are people I followed for a longer time and I'm pretty sure they post quality content... like you ;-)

Oh, and BTW :

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 28 December 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61409.80
ETH 3378.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51