Steemit needs more diversity in its posts (or Why Steemit needs crap posts)

in #steemit8 years ago

If we want to reach the masses we need a wide variety of posts, currently the majority of posts are like, this one, about the future/management of steemit, were are all the cat pics?

Sure we had a couple of days of memes when one made $x,xxx, and I am sure a lot of people decried that as the 'end of steemit', and asked 'Do we really want to be just like reddit?' well my answer is, yes! I love reddit, there are well thought out reddits like /r/askhistorians or /r/askscience, and there are free for all shitstorms like /r/funny and /r/pics where gems that keep me laughing can be found every day.

Currently there is nothing keeping me reading steemit because all I see is the same type of post, steemit this, STEEM that, with the occasional meme day, poetry day or olympics day.

Instead of whales getting voting bots to maximise their curation rewards I'd like to see a bot set up to up vote topics that are not seeing a lot of love. That is how we got our meme days, if people see a post 'making it' in #meme others will follow. Can I ask whales to find a random topic and search through it for something (anything!) of value and give it it's day in the sun. The post you pluck from obscurity doesn't really matter it is the attention the topic gets that is the goal.

With this in mind I'd like ask you not to vote for this post and instead vote for the post below, I found it in #random, it got 0 votes (they must of even canceled their own vote)

An Ode to Macabre Mosquito!

Sort:  

Eh, we don't need crap posts - we need daring posts. People that are willing to write an article even though they won't make anything because there's like 3 people on Steemit that have any interest in coin collecting.
People like me ;)

Hello @fiveboringgames, great and funny post! Your meme is featured in this post https://steemit.com/meme/@delphia16/daily-pick-of-hidden-memes-2 Hope that's OK

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

About linkback_bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 66261.45
ETH 3535.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.12