Finally - Finding and cutting my own Christmas tree

in #whysoserious8 years ago (edited)

As I told you in one of my earlier posts, I cut my own Christmas tree each year.

It's not that I can't afford a tree to buy. I just think that my way is more beautiful. Those natural trees on the market are cut more than two weeks ago, their needle - leaves are already falling down and those trees are really low quality. Artificial trees can't gice you a touch of magic in the time of Christmas. If you like, you can read here about my choices and decisions:

https://steemit.com/christmas/@dumar022/looking-for-the-right-christmas-tree

So, I chose prickly juniper.

It's not that I'm doing some kind of a crime because these prickly bushes can be really dangerous in the summer. Don't try to approach to prickly juniper with a cigarette in the summer. It's very flammable and can cause real disaster in it's environment. And it grows very quickly, there are millions of these trees so it's not a shame to take one for my Christmas decoration.

The trees of prickly juniper are very variable in the shape.

Once I saw a prickly juniper 10 meters tall. But now, I don't need a tall one. I keep my Christmas three on a small table, so, I don't need a tree taller than 1.5 meters. Only if I could find one with acceptable shape. So, while I was walking with my dog, I found a perfect one.

PHOTO 1 - Prickly Juniper in the nature

full size

I let my dog to chase pheasants and I checked my equipment.

Only gloves are necessary, but you must have a little saw and a hatchet. These needle - like leaves can get you bleed, so I must be careful. This little white thing that you can see on the glove is my medium to be one with the nature (PHOTO 2). If I want to take this tree from Mother Earth, I have to meditate first. This is a small size thing, I'll take a bigger one when the day comes to it's end. It turned out that a saw and an axe weren't needed at all! I just bent a tree with my leg and it broke (PHOTO 3).

PHOTO 2 - The Equipment | PHOTO 3 - Prickly juniper breaks

full size |full size

Click on these photos to see them in better preview.

I had to put the tree in a pot with some sand and water, so needle like leaves will endure for few weeks (PHOTO 4).

Then I put it in my backyard to cut some branches (PHOTO 5).

PHOTO 4 - The pot with sand | PHOTO 5 - Grooming

full size |full size

Click on these photos to see them in better preview.

This is how it looks in my living room without any decorations (PHOTO 6):

PHOTO 6 - Prickly Juniper without decoration

full size

Under the tree I placed this little manger - like objects that I made few days earlier and explained here how I've done it:

https://steemit.com/whysoserious/@dumar022/making-manger-for-baby-jesus

Then I went to collect some moss and ringworm.

The moss and the ringworm can adapt around my Christmas tree and manger very nicely. So, with some decorations and light, it all looks like this (PHOTO 7 & PHOTO 8):

PHOTO 7 - Prickly Juniper - Lights ON

full size

PHOTO 8 - Prickly Juniper - Lights OFF

full size

PHOTO 9 - The village | PHOTO 10 - The Manger

full size |full size

Click on these photos to see them in better preview.

#whysoserious

Sort:  

beautiful christmas tree! congrats you choose the right one :)

Nice. How long does this tree stay?
And what do you do with it after that?

In my country the tree stays till January 6th, after that I make a bow and arrows from it for my little cousin

Thanks for your reply. So, it's really like 12 days of Christmas then. :-)

you're welcome

@dumar022, so glad you didn't cut your arm off. Excellent Post

hahaha, lol! thank you @runridefly

Looks great! I need to come for a beer to check it in 1st person :)

tonight, perhaps? I am in!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $31.83 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 22 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48