Looking for the right Christmas tree

in #christmas8 years ago (edited)

Each year, same question!

What kind of Christmas tree should I get?

Well, it's not that I don't have a lot of choice. There are many types of artificial trees or natural trees, chopped or in the pot. Personally, I don't like those plastic trees very much. I prefer natural trees. And if I just could find one that is still in the pot with soil, I would take it only if the poor tree could survive the climate here when summer comes. So, these days I was going to few supermarkets and to city market place to see their offer. In supermarkets, the most of these trees are artificial.

Every shop and store that I was passing by, had an artificial tree inside.

At the pharmacy store | At the hairdresser's

full size | full size

In the supermarket | In boxes on the shelf

full size | full size

I do understand people who buy those artificial trees because they can be in use for more years. But artificial trees are more realistic each year! And you have to buy another one because it look much more beautiful than last year's. I wonder when they will make an artificial Christmas tree that will be able to connect to WiFi and with LED display.

I think that buying an artificial Christmas tree is something like stealing the Christmas. But I will not judge anyone, because we all have different tastes and opinions.

Now, let's check what I've found in the market place!

Natural trees! Many sorts and types again. Chopped or in pot, still alive.

On the photo below, you can see a young Nordmann fir in the pot. It is wide and short and there is no any point to sell these trees here, because it is sentenced to death because of climate. If I transplant it in the garden after the Christmas there is no way that poor thing could survive.

full size

Next to Nordmann fir you can see a chopped silver fir and on the next photo you can see a spruce.

Nordmann fir and chopped silver fir | Just a regular balkano spruce

full size | full size

The main problem with this chopped trees are needle - like leaves that fall of very quickly and whole tree is drying very fast. That's why I put that kind of tree in the pot with sand and some water to keep it alive at least for some time. But that's not the solution.

It would be nice if authorities allowed me to have a nice sativa of just little autoflowering cannabis strain to decorate it for Christmas, and we all would be very happy, but that's not how things go around here.

So, I'm forced to take a hatchet and to go in woods to find some quality and beautiful tree. I do that for last four years.

It is not destroying of environment, these trees are growing very fast and they are spreading their seeds very quickly and they can grow anywhere.

I talk about pine and prickly juniper. You can see really a lot of these here. And they are very dangerous in the summer because they are flammable and they are cause of many fire related accidents here.

Young Aleppo pine | Prickly juniper

full size | full size

The prickly juniper is the best choice. It has the strongest leaves and can survive very long time after chopping. In summer, outside, it can behave like a bomb. So, it's kinda pest and it's not a problem to chop one. Today I haven't found a perfect one, but I will and I will report about it!

All photos above are mine and you can click on them to see them in their original resolution.

The photo below is downloaded from here:

http://lijecenje-biljem.blogspot.hr/2012/10/smreka-kleka-juniperus-communis.html

And I put it in this post just to show you what I am looking for (IT IS NOT CLICKABLE):

#balkanos

#whysoserious

Sort:  

haha, yes, i will report and post more photos next few days, so if you like something ;) lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44