[Thinking While Gaming] You Don't Have to be Perfect

in #whysoserious6 years ago (edited)
Yesterday I wrote about Go Go Nippon character Akira, so I decided to give some love to her sister Makoto today. You can read each post exclusively.

AhmadmangaCovers_AUG-Gaming22.jpg

I'll start by quoting my opinion on the Visual Novel from yesterday:

Go Go Nippon is one of the games you'll either love or hate with passion, I love it because it has both Japanese and English text. But the girls are too generic, Makoto is perfect except some cute flaws, and the Akira is tusndere! It doesn't help that the protagonist is so stupid, oblivious and total japan fanboy with no personailty otherwise.
...
with 2016 DLC Go Go Nippon feels like an actual Visual Novel with more personality to both heroines and less stupid protagonist.


WARNING: Spoilers
But I recommend you read anyway.


In this Visual Novel, Makoto is the perfect Onee-san (Older Sister.) She excels in English and have amazing amount of knowledge on various things. She learns quickly & understands people's true nature easily. Compared to her sister, she barely has any flaw.

But she's terrible at cooking!
It can't be THAT terrible, right?

At one point she insisted on helping on dinner. She made the Salad. We didn't get to see her salad but the main character reaction is priceless:

Salad_From_Hell.jpg
The whole screen have gone Negative.

The player tried to act chivalrous and lie but couldn't. The only thing in his mind was "Can Salad ingredients kill?" To add to the hilarity, it was the best thing she did in a while.

Sorry_I_thought_I_did_A_good_Job.jpg
Protag: "She thought that was a good job?!"

That's one of the most fun parts in the whole VN.

Makoto is Perfect, Because she is Flawed

So, that's one of the flaws of this perfect character. She also has inferiority complex. Feeling that she can't be honest. She can't show her real feeling and she always wants to be perfect. She envyied her sister who while won't admit her feelingd, you could know what she thinks from her face.

20180527004705_1.jpg
Makoto learns to try new things! (Oh, I named my character Zack")

2015 expansion explores her flaws more. She accepted she should change and try to learn new things. Makoto ending (Route B) have something to do with cooking. The next expansion (2016) her route is basically this message: "You Don't Have to be Perfect."

Then The Topic Became Personal For me

As I read, I began to notice. Personally I struggle with this in life,
I always strive to be more clear, honest, kinder, and closer to perfect! (This video sums it up) If you follow my posts you might have noticed for better or worse.

I know I don't have to be Perfect, I have many flaws. Like Makoto I can't cook. I'm too naive among other things. But it hurts me when I see someone I can't help. It hurts more if s/he's someone I SHOULD help. When both optiuons hurt I get paralyzed and avoid everything related to the matter at hand.

But thinking upon Makoto's character development, I thought I could change! The change is something I fear, but deep down I know I could be better. I could try new things.

So that what I thought about as I walked through
Makoto routes in my achievements run of the VN.
I really relate to Makoto.

What do you think?

Do you think you should/could change yourself?
Know that no one is perfect, but we can get better when we try new things.

By the way,
The original version they were so little but 2015/2016 expansions added so much to the game.
I have the game in my list if you want to buy it for crypto currencies.


All images are screenshots taken by me from Go Go Nippon. +2016 DLC.
Sort:  

Your post just got curated by the akibast curation trail, manual approved and curated. LOL, we'll reach that day. I'm more of a fan of VN with SLG options, but it's always cool to see people reviewing VNs, maybe I make a review of one of my favorites one day. Aselia: The Eternal.

Haha that day will be the rebirth of the anime community.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, that's still a small Curation Team so hopefully by the time we get actual members they can get actual upvotes... Now? Not so much.

VN with SLG options, but it's always cool to see people reviewing VNs, maybe I make a review of one of my favorites one day. Aselia: The Eternal.

Not sure what SLG mean, Dating/Raising Simulations? I know a good one Princess Maker but didn't get it for the price.

I reviewed a VN where chooses matter, if that's for your liking too One Last Chance. Ah, it seems you already read/commented on it. Haha! :sweat_smile:

realizes that Discord emotics don't work here, laughs, and goes away.

Damn, I wanted to reply yesterday but my comment got erased and now I have to write again... God. Well, you're right, SLG is the tag for simulation VN, like dating or those where you do something besides choosing options. Sometimes increasing some stats giving gifts, other VN more on the dark side raise stats depending on "training", sometimes the routes and alternatives depend on these stats and the choices you've made. Basically they have some amount of gameplay besides choosing one option out of three. Maybe I like them more because I'm also a big fan of RPG, so I might have a bias there.

Ah, I get it... Depending on the world and the characters I love those more too~

It is always a good experience when things we play or read reminds/ teaches us a thing or two.

I am a guy that resists change though at the end of the day what will happen will still happen so I just have to live with that. I don't know but adjusting to new things has never been my forte and I always get anxious whenever it does happen. But I think changing to become better is good as long as we don't try to become someone else we are not and end up losing who we really are.

Posted using Partiko Android

I always try to find something or two to learn from a game, what's the point of paying money if all I get is short enjyment? I want a lasting thing, something that reminds me of my personality or adds to it.


I am a guy that resists change though at the end of the day what will happen will still happen so I just have to live with that. I don't know but adjusting to new things has never been my forte and I always get anxious whenever it does happen.

Me too, but I know that's wrong, that's why I wrote this post... I don't know how or when... But I must change!

Thanks for the comment and reading!

Congratulations, this post was rewarded with a SteemGC Upvote!

Want to meet fellow Steemit gamers and earn upvotes yourself? Join the SteemGC Discord channel!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76