An introduction to me ! Who am I ?

in #who7 years ago

Now that is the question....I am a slightly crazy English retiree who lives in " The land of smiles" aka Thailand.
Why Thailand? On our very first visit, many years ago now I fell in love. Thailand and its people hold a very special place in my heart. I also do not miss the cold...I love being warm.
It is also where quite by chance I took up writing and blogging both of which I am surprised and amazed at all the lovely people I have met who have been most extraordinarily helpful and kind to me as a novice writer.
To date, I have short stories in two Anthologies published by Phuket Writers, a novel in progress and a cookbook...who doesn't write a cookbook?
My blog is a mixed blog...lifestyle I suppose which contains authentic recipes from around the world which I have gleaned from people who have passed through my life here or have only stayed a while. Some recipes have come about because I can't get a product here and now make my own. This picture is beautiful crispy Pork and Kale one of my favourites.
Crispy Pork and Kale.png
We now live in the north of Thailand and love it....This view is overlooking the Mekong river which is close to where we live.SAM_8103.JPG
It is the real Thailand and not touristy like Phuket where we lived for the first 5 years here. I now enjoy seeing the rich culture and learning about that culture and the traditions which are passed down through generations here. Like the weaving of cloth and silk where the wooden looms are under the house.
lady weaving.jpg 5.jpg
The beautiful temples we have here of which there are many. Much of this I share on my blogs and will share with you.
I hesitate to write about anything controversial although trust me I do have opinions...ha ha
A fifties child " I am who I am today because of the choices I made yesterday" Eleanor Roosevelt and I think that sums me up very well.
I look forward to writing on Steemit and getting to know you all.
Thank you for reading this :)

Sort:  

Welcome to the community!

Thailand looks and sounds amazing. Being from the UK myself it's definitely somewhere on the list!

I've just posted my introductory post for be sure to check it out

I certainly will and from one newbie to another...Welcome :)

It looks amazing there. I am glad to have learned of your backstory! Very interesting that you live in the "real" part lol.
I think you would have made more on this if you posted it in introduceyourself tag lol. The list of the most common tags are on the right. That helps people find what they are looking for. Good first post. You will catch on quick! I resteemed it, but I don't have too many followers yet either lol.

Thank you for the tip and thank you :)

Yes if you look at the introduceyourself tag, many are over 10 bucks!

Welcome to Steemit, I look forward to finding out more about Thai life.

Congratulations @thailife! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60929.80
ETH 2371.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49