The Kelpies - Scotland - White Is White ChallengesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #whiteiswhite7 years ago

I used a 14mm wide angle lens to capture this image of Scotland's Kelpies sculpture and the fluffy white clouds which seem to point towards the sculptures! They appear to just rise up out of the ground alongside the Forth and Clyde canal in a 350 hectares (865 acres) parkland called The Helix, between Grangemouth and Falkirk, Scotland.

The sculptures, designed by Scottish sculptor Andy Scott, stand around a hundred feet high, so you can't help but see them from the M9 as you drive by! They pay tribute to the horses used in Scotland's Industrial era.
170906-0016-33.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.

Camera Used: Canon EOS 5D Mark II
Lens: Sigma 14mm
Camera Settings: 1/2000 sec; f/10; ISO 500
Software: Adobe Photoshop® and Adobe Camera Raw

The theme for Sunday's White Is White Challenge is Anything Goes.

The explanation and rules for the challenge can be found in this post

Monday: White Photographed Against White
Tuesday: Animals
Wednesday: Flowers
Thursday: Food And Drink
Friday: Architecture
Saturday: Water In Nature
Sunday: Anything Goes

Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it.

To find my blog posts, photography and designs on Steemit, please search on #dianemacphoto and to check out my art prints and stock images online, please visit my website.

Sort:  

Nice shot with sky clouds. But had to zoom in to see what the sculpture was. Looks pretty impressive. Do you have a closer picture of the horses?

Yes, I did a whole blog post about them a couple of weeks ago. The post is here!

Sorry missed that. I tend to skip over black/white , to me color is the real thing. The sculpture is very impressive. Seems to be made of small parts . Quite an achievement.

That's OK! we can't see everything. Yes, it's a very impressive piece of engineering and art! By the way, once upon a time, there was no such thing as color photography. LOL!

I know I remember B/W television.

Me too. I'm a very oldtimer. LOL! I remember the first tv in our town!

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 7 October 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Thanks you my friend! :-)

Kelpies! Nice to see you captured them while you were here. I drive past them all the time but have never actually taken the time to visit or photograph them.. Did you see them after dark? They get lit up by internal lighting and it looks really great.
Did you have a nice visit?

Thanks! No, I didn't see them at night this time, but hope to do that on another visit. I was with a friend and she had her dog with her. I posted some black and whites a couple of weeks ago in this post. I had a great visit, thanks! It's always like I have never been away! Are you back from your travels? Will check your blog now!

Yeah I'm back now. Did you have a good time? I'll go check out that post of yours now :)

It's so monumental! Great photo, with the surroundings and the sky.
My entry for whiteiswhite today:
https://steemit.com/whiteiswhite/@kalemandra/white-is-white-challenge-animals

Thanks for the feedback on my shot! What a beautiful white goat! I will check her out on your page. Thanks for participating! i have learned a lot from you and others who do challenges on Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62213.63
ETH 2420.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59