Sort:  

The entitlement mentality that underlies the issue you speak of is unfortunately quite common in the world today.

In fact, it's heavily promoted, because people under its spell are weak and easily manipulable due to their lack of autonomy.

Very true... Especially here in the States, we have a ingrained sense of entitlement that is passed down from generation to generation, and seems to get worse with time.

Somehow we have to teach people that they get what they earn, no free handouts.

I'm not a whale but I am a real G and a soft kisser. Rip Chris Farley

I'm glad somebody finally came out and said what we're all thinking.

I'm glad somebody
Finally came out and said
What we're all thinking.

                 - mattclarke


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Softest lips in the west! LOL

I'm actually on the east coast 😝

Support comes and goes, only the blockchain is forever.

yeah appreciation is a really healthy practice to have for what we're doing here... Its the only way to stay sane and just enjoy steem for what it is.

It would be nice if we all stopped to appreciate the people who take the time to appreciate us!

Entitled people in any situation is extremely annoying to me. On Steem it annoys me 10x more for some reason.

Posted using Partiko iOS

But how do we make them act less entitled? That is the question...

Instead of using your time to chase whales
Use your time to build your account and stop sending everything you make to the exchanges.
Try and invest in your account and invest your time in the platform

Look after your account and your account will look after you

Gratitude is very important. There is a greater incentive to give when you know you're appreciated. Relationships are everything. True in business and steam it is no different. But knowing you're genuinely interested in that person makes all the difference. Thank you for addressing an important subject that I hope all can learn from

Unfortunately, some of the people it is addressed to won't even realize it is about them. People with a sense of entitlement half the time don't even realize they are acting that way.

Agreed @mikepm74, let's all "Be excellent to each other."

Sadly, it does seem we live in the age of entitlement and people feeling that life should have an "easy button."

Whereas I realize that people are on Steemit for an assortment of reasons, it sometimes seems like people take this place far too seriously and have far too many little hissy fits over this and that. Just create something original and then interact and engage.

I'm blessed that one of the site's "orcas" was kind enough to give me a delegation... and I have nothing but gratitude for that, and there's no expectation there.

We're not "owed" anything for being here.

So, a well justified rant.

=^..^=

Well an excellent post! While I do appreciate an upvote from anyone I will never ask for it!
I place comment or do upvote a post because I like it. Not to get anything in return!
And yes, steem won’t be successful for everybody!
Cheers,
Peter

I write this comment with the EXPECTATION that it will get upvoted. :)

Great points made. Few take the time to do some simple math. 300 Whales/Orca accounts...over 100K smaller accounts.

Plus, who says anyone deserves a vote. Some will give it, others will not. That is how it works.

I try to be grateful for each token that comes into my account. I treasure them as beyond gold. It takes a lot of work to get upvotes and to get tokens coming in.

It is best to be grateful when it happens.

yeah.... it is a big playing field with only a few people in power. Unfortunately, a good chunk of those whales are either operating bidbots, or circle jerks, or just not participating at all, so the number is even smaller than the 300 you mentioned.

Hopefully eventually communities will make it easier for small accounts to get in front of people with the power to distribute larger rewards, but until then, we are stuck with the system we have. We need to be thankful if the whales ever look in our direction.

I've gotten a few whale upvotes in my year on the platform, and am lucky enough to be on Fulltimegeek's blessed list to get votes from his bots. I don't know that I ever did anything to deserve that, other than being in the right place at the right time, but I am thankful every single time one of those little buggers upvotes my posts. I also know and understand those votes could go away at any time, and I will be happy to have benefited from them for as long as I did!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42