You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit: The Whale Gossip Column Of Privileged Authors Competing for Whale Nipple

in #whales8 years ago (edited)

This small article is the proof to the main argument of his article. He just received over 500$ in just under an hour for a few words that many and many people have already said before. @barrycooper I am not trying to take off any credit that you might have earned, but if this article made it up to 500$+ in under an hour and A story I've spent many hours on building brought me less then 3$ https://steemit.com/fiction/@kuriko/in-the-eyes-of-danger-chapter-2-looking-into-the-eyes-of-a-monster

I can't seem to see how we are going in the right direction. I am not really into complaining but I hardly understand if people even read what they upvote. In any case your article is the living proof of the issue you seem to point, I am barely motivated to continue on steemit myself and I am sure i'm not the only one. It all goes back to whales running after known people.

I enjoyed this article of you https://steemit.com/barrycooper/@barrycooper/how-to-bust-cops-free-a-mother-from-federal-prison-and-escape-the-united-states I though you did deserve the reward to such a unique story, but a lot of whales are still exclusively running after big names like you and this is mostly why , I won't make it far in here.

Sort:  

I have a post that took me 3 months to complete (Here), and really is still in progress as the experiment is still in works, and it only made $0.18. Frankly, as an author, I am more upset that only one person commented than only making $0.18. I think that the more that you worry about making money off of your posts the more you are going to stress and the more it is going to appear in not only your content but in your curation and comments. If you focus on creating a community that fully interacts with itself then the funding will follow. Don't let others making money and you not making money discourage you to continue on, as others have pointed out - this site is very new, its still in its beta phasing even! I'll be sure to check out your articles. :)

I think a big problem with the platform now is discover-ability. This platform is literally flooded with information at an increasing rate, yet short of feeds it is kind of all dumped in one bucket. If they add being able to subscribe to tags and do something similar to feeds I think it could help. I am sure I've missed some really good posts just because I looked at them and realized I couldn't commit time to be objective about their piece at that time. The majority though it is because I simply never discovered them. It is in beta and I do know this will improve, and any platform with a lot of content coming up with discover-ability algorithms is tough. Think about how youtube, Amazon, and other places make suggestions to you of things you might like. This platform will likely have content flowing onto it way faster than either of those sites. This is a very tricky problem, and I do think that is why you didn't get more comments. YET Qualifier added as I am off to read your article now.

I really like your ideas about discoverability. And I absolutely agree, I've lost a few great articles for not having the energy or time to devote to the article I feel is necessary, then to think of how many I've just never even crossed is almost unfathomable. #betawillgetbetter Thank you for your input. I personally do not know much about developing algorithms, though I can assume it takes time to really zero it in.

I agree with you, yet there is also some value that people like you and I also get to comment and our comments are easier to see and perhaps get people reading them that normally wouldn't due to the extra visibility of @barrycooper's post. I do think it needs to spread around and I've seen people write some great things that got $0.00 or perhaps the $0.01 my vote was worth. I get it. Yet there are often other factors involved that can be beneficial as well. I tend to vote on small posts for people like @barrycooper because I know they have a bigger voice than I do (analogy). My vote is not worth much, if it were I'd still vote for people like Barry unless it was a crappy post, but I would use the slider and likely not award my max amount. As each of us get more power we further spread out the ability to find an uplift more great content. It is slow, but causing this redistribution in a non-organic natural way would be putting power into someones hands to decide who gets this. To some degree whale upvoting already is this, yet they are largely the creators and earliest adopters of the platform so I am uncertain how they could have completely avoided that without nerfing and potentially corrupting the entire system. I do think this problem we are describing is going to improve. I've been here a month and I've already seen quite a few changes.

@Kuriko You read my post so you know I admitted it's unfair that unknown authors are not being rewarded for good content. This does not mean I am being overpaid and you should not judge me for making the money I deserve. You should judge the unfair platform of Steem. I spent more than an hour on this post. I spent 11 years blogging, producing films and busting cops. During this time, I built a brand and fan base that made me popular. Because of my choice to be a humanitarian, I lost everything I had...including my family. Last year, I was alone in Mexico sleeping on a floor for a month. I am rebuilding and just now back on my feet. It's wrong to decide if payouts are the proper amount or not. It's proper to be upset if others are not paid the same. That's what's happening on Steem. I read the article you posted above and I am tenderly and sincerely trying to help you when I say there is another reason your writing is not doing well. It's fiction bro. You have to know this isn't a site where fiction will do good. Perhaps you should write an ebook and offer it for sale. Peace to you and I hope you find a platform where people want to read fiction. You are a good fiction writer.

@barrycooper I agree with the premise of your article and most definitely that no one should be able to judge if what you make on a piece is appropriate or not. As you know, writing is a craft and one that you clearly have been working at for years. Some fiction on here is doing well, but like anywhere else, it must be well crafted.

When I don't do well on an article and I've not done spectacular on any of them, I take into account my newness on the platform. I also take a hard look at the writing style I've used and the writing style of those who do better. I know full well that I can have a thousand people read, but they have to actually like it to get the majority of upvotes.

Some may upvote cause they sort of like it and have seen me around. An act of kindness. If I don't write well, I need to own up and take some ownership of the need to improve.

@shadowspub, I am impressed with our attitude and willingness to adjust and adapt. With a positive and sincere personality, I'm positive you will find your rhythm here. Thanks for the maturity. Big love.