Writing Contest: I am a Whale baby!

in #whaledream6 years ago (edited)

This is a response to @mermaidvampire's Writing Contest: What Would You Do If You Were A Steemit Whale?
image
Whaley

Steemit Sea

In my previous post, I mentioned that my voice is worth something now that I LANDED ON THE STEEMIT SEA. Having jumped into this interesting sea, I somehow managed to "swim" into the shallow waters and apparently like being here.

Being less than a month old and have read hundreds if not thousands of articles already, I pretty much came across terms like whales and minnows, VPs and SPs, curation and upvotes.

A Steemit whale? What is that?

Correct me if I am wrong, but a whale is someone with large SP - four to five digit or more. Sheesh, I gotta swim a lot more to earn just a hundred SP.

image

Anyways, for what's its worth, minnows like me yearn for a whale's splash whenever I post an article. Just so my efforts in doing an article be somehow compensated (monetary or otherwise) if it will somehow be "noticed". Err, lots of "somehow" there.

Fast Forward

@Kaloka -- A Steemit Whale

Yes! I finally made it!

I am a whale baby!
Mind you, becoming a whale didn't happen overnight. I needed to "swim" -- yeah, swim hard -- into the vast and deep Steemit Sea.... Gradually.

So now that the long dream is here and I can call myself a whale having thousands of Steem Power. I got this power to make a splash into the ocean. And I plan to make a big spash.

How will I do that?

For one, I would make myself visible by making posts, commenting on others' posts, talk to them on the discord channel. And basically make friends with them. I would say "kamusta?" (how are you?), like how I am when I was still a minnow.

I know how minnows yearn for my upvotes (I have been there), and so I would want to maximize my voting power. A percent of my vote to a well-thought-of and well-written article can bring about huge effect on a minnow:

  1. A minnow can feel good about himself. That point where his thoughts were acknowledged and noticed is something that can't be completely compensated by any STEEM worth. I know it can be overwhelming when a whale notices you, but that is what I hope to bring.

  2. A minnow can be motivated to do even better. An upvote from a whale like me will drive him to make quality posts. It gives a positive effect for him to be motivated and stay on the steemit sea. The more quality posts, the better Steemit will be. The better Steemit, the happier we all are. It is a win-win! The thought of influencing others to be better is something immeasurable. That I hope to have an effect on the minnows.

  3. A minnow will encourage others to swim into the Steemit sea for monetary compensation, and later on would realize it is not all about the money. The more Steemians, the happier we all will be.

And who knows what else I could come up with -- maybe I could do a @steem-untalented to encourage the untalented in out-of-box thinking; @teardrops smt token to give value to tears; or the trending @ulogs to encourage everyone become a "celebrity".

Oh Geez, were all those projects taken already? By who?!

Hahaha, I know a whale in the person of Sir Terry @surpassinggoogle have done all such already. But what can I do, he is the one whale I wish I could become too.

Why not, he splashes on me every so often. Thank you @surpassinggoogle.

I am tagging @yadah04 to join the contest.

Contest rule:

Just write about your ideas and opinions about the topic in a post.

At least a hundred words.

Put the link of this contest in the post for reference.

Comment the link of your post below.

Tag a friend or friends that you want to invite to make an entry to this contest.

Use the tag "whaledream." (Drop the quotes.)

Sort:  

First of all congratz that you become a whale! Really cool to hear that the whales themselves are motivated to help the minnows! I just keep on writing 1 post per day with quality content with spelling checked and everything! I try to help as many other minnows as i can by commenting and upvoting others every single day! I am a fish now. but i am a 100% sure if i keep my discipline and consistancy i will become a whale myself! I feel a 100% confident about it :D! This post motivates me!

Thanks for the "congratz" @semtroneum. Though I have yet to swim a lot more to truly become a whale. But yes, I am a whale in heart. I claim my "whale-ship" that sooner rather than later I would be. We can do this.

Posted using Partiko Android

Anytime man :D! Maybe we can help eachother to grow ^^!

Hey there whale baby. Lol. uhm thanks for tagging me to join the contest. But first, I have to sleep and dream -- have a #whaledream. ^_^

You are welcome dear. Yeah, good idea on sleeping on it first. Hehehw. Just get your alarm clock on for the contest deadline

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @kaloka! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kaloka! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Motivating others by acknowledging their efforts is the most effective way to make everyone happy in this platform.

Keep up the good work.

Congratulations @kaloka! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61251.21
ETH 2951.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52