⏺Are your goals clear enough?

in #welovesteemit7 years ago (edited)

Are they Steemit.png

There is a lot to be said on the topic of setting goals.

I imagine creating goals with the idea of using a candle. If you light up a candle in a dark room, most people will assume that there is not enough light being produced by the candle. However, that is in fact incorrect. See, if you take the same amount of light being produced, and you use a flash light, and point it at something in the same room, you will clearly be able to see whatever is in that spot.

candle.jfif

The only difference being focus.

The candle has small bits of energy shooting everywhere, never really impacting anything, where as the flash light is using the same amount of energy, but pointing it in a single confined spot.

flashlight.jpg

You will notice with any adjustable flash light that the bigger you zoom it out, the weaker the light.. Vice-versa for when you make the light zoomed in more, it is a lot brighter.

See, we are all only human. One person doesn't necessarily have more potential than another.

Aside from the candle analogy I just used, here's another way to look at it.. Imagine someone at the beach. They get this idea that they want to dig a hole in the sand. They have the choice to use one of two different tools to help them dig. A shovel, or a tea spoon.

See, most people pick the tea spoon in life. They go on to use this tea spoon to try and dig their huge hole, and never end up understanding why they are not succeeding..

You need to put your spoon down, and start using your shovel!

shovel.jpg

The more specific your goals are, the more obsessed you become. The more obsessed you become, the more results will start to show.

It's a very simple concept.

In life, you get what you ask for. If you ask for some money, life will give you dollar. Then the general reaction would be that the concept didn't work, and that they didn't get what they wanted.. But that's not true. They never said how much they wanted.

Trust me, the guy who drives his Ferrari or Lamborghini isn't much better than you are. And he knows this. The only difference is that he decided that he wanted to do whatever it would take to be able to own that exotic car, and you decided to settle for less (just an example :P).

Ferrari 458.jpg

Start setting your goals. Start deciding exactly what it is you want to achieve.

Here are some of my goals here on Steemit for the next 45 days:

⏺ To be at a minimum of 6000+ total posts.
⏺ To have a minimum of 1000 followers (hopefully closer to 1500).
⏺ To reply to every single comment on every single post I make.
⏺ To make a new friend every single day.
⏺ To make the best quality content I am able to make.

Let me know some of your guys' goals :) I would love to hear them!

As of right now, it has been 17 days since I have joined Steemit :)

My main Instagram account is currently at 35.8K+ Followers.

You Can Follow Your Boy Here @ENAZWAHSDARB (420+ Amazing Followers Strong)

Sort:  

Pretty insane goals there. For me in the next 45 days I'd like to:

To be at 2500+ posts
Have 500+ followers
Reply to every comment left on my posts

Good luck with your goals.

Awesome stuff brother! This is what I want to hear!

Awesome goals. I don't think mine are too insane haha, very doable for anyone actually.. Stay in touch. We must motivate each other along the way if we start to slack off ;)

A few months ago my son asked my husband what he thought it would take for him to become a well-known gamer on the internet. My husband brought him into my little office and presented him with me, completely absorbed in my task of becoming a known name on this platform and said "Most people will tell you it's about hard work , but I say it's about obsession ." Also we are big on the idea of setting intent. So this post obviously resonated :)

My man is a crypto guy, super gifted at deciphering which coins/tokens are going somewhere. In the short and the long term. He learned of steemit somewhere in the trenches of that world and after following it for a bit, he decided two things- A: It was the perfect creative outlet for me, and B: Unless another platform with the same idea and a better interface made an appearance this past year, steem would eventually be incredibly valuable. He's no longer concerned about the interface, in fact he thinks that holding off on that was part of the genius, to attract intelligent, forward thinking individuals and create a base of people to self-police and keep out other forms of censorship for one thing, but also to get the bugs worked out with hardforks before the masses descended, make sure this ship could hold up against a tidal wave and not be sunk by it.

This post was actually perfectly timed for me. I definitely have not been pushing as hard as I once did, which is not a problem in fact it was necessary to keep from burning out and allow me to still be consistent, but I'm thinking now is the time to push hard once more, while the price drops and the instant gratification/entirely lacking in foresight style newbies drop away with it.

I have no doubt you will accomplish what you set out to :)

I like this comment. A true sign of passion.

Your husband is in a really strong field of knowledge. You guys are going to be rewarded accordingly!

No matter in what area of life, the Law of Averages will always play it's course. Certain people just have certain paradigms and outlooks towards the things they do. 1% of people will always out-do the 99% combined.

These spammers, naggers, and immature users are just taking a different form here on this platform, but they have always been around the world for hundreds of years. As much as people hate seeing price fall, I enjoy it as an opportunity to see the 1% of 'big-hitters' keep at it. When price drops to 10 cents.. That's when all these other people lose hope, leaving only the strongest remaining! I can't wait :D

The Hard Forks are such a great way to filter the community for only quality users. I used the same marketing technique to build my Instagram followings.

I am so glad you got this info at the right time :) Besides, regardless of your personal journey, there is no better time to push harder than right now! Any work you put in now will 10x when things start to soar.. It's exciting! :D

Thanks for your input @Dreemit. I appreciate that!

@enazhasdarb - I agree that we must set goals and go after them with a shovel in hand (not a teaspoon). However, setting too aggressive a goal may result in disappointment sometimes. Therefore, I believe we need to set realistic goals and work towards larger ones step by step.
Nice article. Upvoted

You added a very valid point. Always keep your goals realistic and obtainable. I have experienced a few of these moments myself actually.

When I was 18 years old I made a goal to buy myself a $100,000 Audi R8 supercar by the end of the year.. It's not that it was unobtainable, it's more a matter of I didn't have a physical plan on how I could do so. Moral of the story, I didn't buy the car and it didn't feel too great. On the contrary, it also didn't feel terrible considering the goal was so far-stretched that even the fact that I had the goal in the first place was good enough LOL! At the end of the day, I still worked harder, and that's what really counts :)

Thanks for stopping by. Talk soon.

You got some pretty bold goals! Go get 'em, @enazwahsdarb - I will do what I can to help. In fact, I think people in general are good and like helping each other. I don't think enough people share their goals with others and might miss a crucial piece of info by keeping it to themselves. BHAH . . . just when I feel my brain is too tired, you write something that makes me think! I'd curse you, but I like it ;)

Why thank you @Jannell! I think they are quite realistic, and anyone can achieve them with enough effort :)

Yeah I will admit, you need to be feeling quite bold to share your goals with the world. I don't usually do it, unless I am very confident in my abilities to achieve what I am claiming to.. But I figured I would pressurize myself this way, because if everyone knows what I am setting myself up for, I would hate to disappoint that claim! So now it's on! :)

Awesome comment, as per usual! You are simply too cool. I'm glad my content gets you thinking. That's the best kind! :) Talk soon.

I like that you make me think in positive ways. Encouragement to continue to do/be better.

Of course, that's the ultimate aim! Always strive for continuous improvement and expansion :)

Thanks for posting this, its a valuable perspective contained within these words. Steem on! and good luck with your goals

Thanks for stopping by! :) I appreciate your kind words. Talk soon :)

We tend to overthink stuff. I like hoe Eckhart Tolle puts it!

Very true. Keeping things simple gives a person direction. You don't need 101 directions.. You need only a very few! :) I never see Warren Buffet teaching people how to skate board.. His direction is investing, and he has mastered it, that's why he is where he is :) Nice seeing you again brother! Talk soon :)

Great inspiring post and again a lot of thinking starting in my head😊 lol
Intence goals but why not Im sure u will succseed.
My goal is......enjoy myself
Answer every comment ( always done that)
Get to 1000 followers....
To aprove my posts...can always do better.
Make someone smile everyday.....warms the ♡

I'm glad my words are able to make you think :)

Those are some awesome goals! Thanks for your encouragement! Very kind of you :) Thanks for stopping by! I will give you a follow. Now you are 1 step closer. (Haha never mind, I realize now I was already following lol!)

Yes I hope my goals will give me a kick in the butt😊 but ur post kinda did just that.
U are so welcome, only honest words.
Thank u for following already....lol

These are amazing goals and you're already motivating people!
I've been very careful about stating my goals and being very, very specific because the universe has a sense of humor and you might not get what you expected but you'll get exactly what you asked for. LOL Keep on building those dreams :)

You are most certainly right about that! The universe thinks it is very funny to make a joke out of you when you are not clear in what you want xD I have learnt that lesson many times haha! Thanks @Merej99! I appreciate your kind words sister! Talk soon :)

you re doing awesome on Instagram man! bring your followers on steemit!

Thanks brother! Yeah, I know a few people are cross-platforming, but I have actually made it a goal of mine to build a following solely through this community. Just a challenge I have set myself to do :) Maybe once I reach between 2000-5000 followers the point will be pretty much proven, and I will just tell all my friends on Facebook, and followers on Instagram to join :P

I understand, I am using facebook more with 5000 followers there..when I posted first time about steemit all my news feed was about it I think more than 300 people joined, so it will be good for you and for community if you will show them your work here and your results! Good luck!

Awesome stuff man! Good luck to you too! See you at the top :)

thanks man! We will have over 3000 followers in the next two months for sure!

As long as we keep up the pace, I have no doubt!! Easy win :)

Thanks a lot :) I appreciate that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63632.98
ETH 2727.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58