You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fragments of Memory - Poem #11 (Welcome to the Sombre Days)

A beautiful poem and I really enjoyed it. It hits hard for me having loss all but one grandparent and she is 93 and not doing so well now. I'm lucky to have lived quite a while with all four of them. They were all incredible people from an incredible generation. Thanks.

Sort:  

By the time I was 18 I had no grandparents. Most people my age have solid relationships with their grandparents. I almost had no chance to have a relationship with any of them - there is a loss that is kind of different than losing a grandparent you truly love. In a way, I may never know that kind of loss.

It's really tough I know because it is a big loss. Grandparents are special people to most. My wife had never met any of her grandparents as they all died before she was born. She often laments never having known them and I just cant imagine the feeling. She really loves my grandmother and I'm thankful that has given her some idea of what she missed. You should spend a bit of time at a retirement home sometime. It's really interesting to meet some of those characters and learn about their lives. thanks again.

That's definitely an interesting idea. I do remember a little bit about my great-grandma as well. She died when she was around 97. My grandparents never aged that much, they got sick and all passed away through different diseases or illnesses. Even though ageing seems to be something 'negative', it is a blessing in these contexts.

Agreed. I've learned by watching my grandparents pass that going early without a drawn out time of pain and suffering is a blessing. It's so hard on them and the whole family to watch them suffer for long periods. Two of mine had parkinsons disease, I wouldn't wish that on anyone.

My last grandma had several physical illnesses that contributed to a dementia as well. Ever since I was fourteen or so, she would think I am my uncle (her son) rather than me. It was quite awkward

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63915.30
ETH 2740.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59