The Fobidden - The Weekened Freewrite #7

The Forbidden

There I was, just standing there, when what I wanted to do was forbidden. I touched the door handle to my older sister's bedroom, looking both ways down and up the hall. No-one was home. The branches scraped the window at the end of the hall and I startled.

I had to see her room, I missed my sister Angie so much it hurt. My hand reached out, almost of its own volition. I turned the knob expecting resistance but it swung open easily. Too easily. Looking back along the hall, I slipped inside and shut the door behind me. Mom was called to my uncle's. He was sick and needed her. I begged off telling her I had a paper due tomorrow morning. There was no paper due.

I moved quickly to my sister's desk and began opening drawers. I shuffled through drawings and pages of her handwriting.

There has to be a clue in here to her disappearance last summer. She was gone without a note or a goodbye. Poof, gone. The police said they exhausted the leads and her case stagnated on someone's desk. I reached under her desk, sweeping my fingers left and right and then I felt it, a small box, but not too small.

She may be young, but she is not that young. At 16 Angie reached top of her senior class. Her looks stopped older men in their places when she entered a room. Mom was pretty, but not like Angie. Angie's wavy blonde hair and deep, ocean blue eyes lit up when she talked about travel. She even joined a travel club and had brochures about France and Germany. She was planning on travel before college, maybe an overseas college, she joked.

The box pulled free. Her room almost smelled like her. Her bed was still made and pillows laid beautifully on the head of the bed.
I didn't want to sit on the bed. What if Mom returned and saw it changed? She would fly into hysterics.

Grasping the box I opened the door, checked the hall and raced to my own room, closing the door quietly.
I pulled my notebook and a textbook out of my bag and made some notes on a blank page. They were pure nonsense, but I'd have something to show Mom that proved I'd been working on a paper.

I opened the box with some trouble. Angie had taped it up tight. Finding a letter opener I cut the tape. In the box was a receipt. I looked at it in shock. Where did she get the money to buy a plane ticket?

I recalled the day I loaned Morgan $400 bucks. He said it was for a friend who needed help desperately and he was going to return it soon. I saved up for a year to buy my class ring. Everyone else had one already but I had to buy it from my odd babysitting jobs and birthday money. Our brother gave it to Angie for this ticket and she disappeared! I stood up and grabbed my phone. Speed dial rang Morgan in seconds and his adolescent voice message kicked in..."leave a message at the beep." A message followed, "the mailbox is full. You can not leave a message."
The phone went dead.

people-2569224_1920.jpg
Image

clipart-bars-dividers-4.jpg

This ends my Weekend Freewrite Prompt hosted by @mariannewest. Please join us for the daily prompt anytime! Weekend Freewrite

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

logo.jpg

Logo by @KingLeo47

Sort:  

You are leaving us hanging and wanting to know so much more!!! Great job!!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-60-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-twins

Thanks so much! These are the best prompts & keep me thinking!

So exciting and sad. Still I hope she finds her dister😉 You are a terrific writer my friend💜

Thank you so much for the wonderful encouragement! I want to see her sister found.

I am book maniac. Great writing my dear. I am looking forward to read more :) Lot's of love my dear ;)))

Thank you so much! I appreciate the compliment. Lots of love to you, too!

this IS great!!! These weekend freewrites are SO fun to read after yours is done to see everyone else's take on it!!

and yes, LOT's of questions I want answers to! :D from your story.

You know, we should do a thing where one weekend you pick up someone's last weekends freewrite and continue the story with the newest 3 prompts.

does that make sense? :D

Thank you for reading @snook
I'm glad that you enjoy them and I see exactly what you're saying... That would definitely be an interesting challenge I think. Maybe we should explore it?

ohhhhhh, no, not me! I'm not even close to being able to take on one of your stories and make a proper continuation to it..........I would be scared to death after I posted it LOLL that someone would yell at me for killing their story!

Hmmmm........guess I have a few things to work on :D

I have every confidence in your ability! You will get to that point where you feel the same.<3

Awww!! Nice. Wish I could finish it. Was initially having negative thoughts, because of the title and missing his sister.
Its a nice piece.

Thank you for stopping by and reading! I wasn't sure what to title it to be honest... So I just went lazy LOL. It would be fun to see if someone could keep this going.

You’re quite the writer my friend. I read through this as an enjoying breeze. You can continue on the story whenever because it was a great start and I am intrigued and felt left wanting more :)

Thank you so much, I really appreciate you taking the time to read and comment It's a Wonderful comment. I enjoy doing these very much. They are bringing out a lot of different creativity in me that I didn't know was lying dormant. <3 much love.

You’re very welcome. I’m happy to show you support. As long as you are having fun and consistently writing, you will grow in your skillful craft regardless :) truly it is love, God has given us so many gifts

Yes, he has, my dear friend and I am working the craft as time allows! Blessings!

That's beautiful, I think you will enjoy my new poem them called December Chills, I will perform the song and post it hopefully tomorrow, I have already posted parts 1 & 2

I will go read it!

This is so good, congrats. I'm waiting part 2!!

Thank you <3 these Freewrites are so fun!

Morgan and Angie went away from everyone hoping for a better future together. The phone is dead because he can't use it in another country.

Oh! You should write part #2!

Nice, appreciate that story. Drew me in off the top, short and sweet. Good beginning middle & end.

Thank you for reading and for the kind review!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59209.84
ETH 2659.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43