Leaving Church

chrch.png

I had barely stepped out of the church when I felt the first drop on my head. I looked up to see the clouds conspiring against what had been a bright day, moving together in a dark and menacing way. Church ought to be the place in which we feel lifted and inspired, as my mother had always said, “An opportunity to choose those good and uplifting places.”

But, this morning, my heart will stop when the Jewish-convert Sunday-school teacher, who was very well versed in historical accounts and scriptures, speaks to the group about being moved in difficult places by our own holy ghost promptings—ponder, research, pray to come to revelation and a move towards your own enlightenment.

The Bishop's wife had quickly stood, knowingly smiling at the rest of us and launched into a story of the Equal Rights Amendment issue coming through, while she was attending BYU. She explained, she’d been rushing around to get ready for her tennis date and was tripping over books strewn throughout the living and kitchen areas and when she’d inquired of her roommate, the other had said she was trying to make an informed choice when it came to the women’s amendment. The Bishop’s wife told us bravely, proudly, that she’d brushed her hand through the air, told her she didn’t need to waste her time on a sunny afternoon when the prophet had already spoken.

Some people can eat beans with abandon and never suffer side effects, but I was not one of these. Protein rich and a cheap staple, I do eat my share of them, making Boston baked Beans, cooking them until super soft and mashing with a bit of olive oil to smear across tortillas, or even occasionally I make a bean casserole if there are leftover tortilla chips to get rid of—all from pinto, unless split peas with ham.

Even so, even though I was eating them and enjoyed them there were those times that my guts rumbled, doubled over if I wasn’t able to let some of the gas escape and the worst of these times often enough happened at a public event or while with others in whom I didn’t want to expose to noxious fumes. That’s how this morning had felt too, the Bishop’s wife offering her holier-than-thou story, the one that stopped even the super smart Sunday-School teacher, who religiously wore her Star of David round her neck notwithstanding the bland Mormon chapel.

She hadn’t even started out talking about the long ago equal right amendment, but in that moment she was suffering some kind of junior-high-school seeming, head-cheerleader rebuttal, we’re cooler than you slapping. I sat holding in my gas—not born of bean, but fire of spirit over what had just transpired. It was my throat chakra that choked and I toyed with the blue stone of my necklace that rested there as I took in what I could no longer hold.

Remember that not all is sweet—though I’d certainly been raised to be so. It is nice to be liked and held in a fold, to know you are one of a group, marching together on behalf of the righteous side, but when your guts start to buckle and rumble, you might find yourself politely stepping aside to rest, “I’m sorry, I’ve got to just sit down here a second, better myself before continuing on.”

I turned to my husband, my voice shaking and my eyes wide in disbelief at what had just transpired, and whispered, “I don’t think I can do this anymore. I’m done.” I looked at the other women in the room and most seemed entirely unaffected, one searching her purse for more mints, one staring at the clock, another reading her lesson manual, and yet, my head was spinning, my guts knotting and my heart pounding.

Enrolled in an online gender-studies class, we’d been studying in detail the Equal Rights Amendment and why it hadn’t been ratified despite such simple and inoffensive language. Woefully, I’d been finding enough carefully saved and catalogued evidence from the church website to make me ill. For the beans had come to boiling, water all to steam, and black-burning to pan bottoms and now my prayers answered, because that lesson, which had nothing to do with the Equal Rights Amendment, spoke directly to me in such a precise language I couldn’t stay.

I walked out of the church and the watery drops fell on my head.

Sort:  

Congratulations @kimberlylane! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I can share your feelings, I was raised Catholic and always drawn to god and jesus, but so much of it created a reaction within me that was also 'born of fire of spirit'. I continued through high school despite not really believing the bulk of it because I knew the core was true and I liked volunteering to serve people. My reactions are severe to people using the core truths for oppressive and manipulative reasons.

Thanks for reading and sharing. Such a twisting when people use the "gospel," to oppress and manipulate and yet many really do believe in what they're doing.
And, also frustrating how many throw all spiritualism related to God and/or Jesus out the window because they don't want to be affiliated.
Complex and individual and yet, we're all in this together, whatever this is, and that's a spirituality I can believe in.

Yeah, I didn't throw any of the good stuff out

You have just witnessed that the gospel was not really taken seriously by anyone. Today's churches are hardly places of contemplation and spiritual formation. I think you suffered a salutary shock and went into opposition to the observed lived superficiality. The angry gases may indicate that you may be angry with yourself that you expected depth where no one is? The question would be: where do you find such things that inspire you and meet your expectations, if it is not the Sunday service? However, I can understand the grief that the churches are more like slumbering messengers lying sluggishly on the water and having begun to suffice themselves as long as no one shows up and gets involved with heart and spirit in this ministry. The question is: who should this be?

... When and where did the Bishop's wife not betray what had been achieved and say or do something that you would have found authentic and true? At the moment she still functions as a substitute for an achieved luxury, which one perceives as fallible.

The freewrite prompt stirred this memory for me. It's actually been a few years ago that I left, but agree that many churches are dead in the sense that they don't welcome questions or a burning desire to find what is right for oneself. I had left shortly after leaving home as a teen and then rejoined in my adult life after a particularly difficult time and it was right for then, but became stagnant and something I couldn't continue to support along with my own revelations.
At the same time, because it was the church I was raised in, and my family was a part of, it feels my culture and in that way the influence difficult to get out from under.

I feel that the greatest revelation for me was indeed to accept my christian background and that it's a relief to not deny that any longer. Churches are only institutions and live of the people who give spirit to them. Once there is no spirit to be found they become just buildings. Sometimes there are people who are able to reanimate it from within, sometimes from outside.

I often had the desire to visit the church around the corner and did it about two times. But I couldn't find what I was looking for. So I turned to Buddhism where the scriptures are still interpreted in a lively way. What a pity that I still do not have a real place to go to as the Buddhist centre here appears to me as well as somehow corrupted and the hypocrisy I sensed in some encounters backed me away from there.

In my eyes, a center is not enough. It has to be a monastery where an abbot is teaching the monks and congregation and stays available for worldly matters as to accompany the deaths of people etc. Fortunately, in the village I grew up the religious life is still taking place and the pastor does come to peoples homes when a relative dies and listens to the families. It's a blessing to have experienced that.

So in a sense I became my own church and like to have exchanges with people on the Net or in daily encounters with my clients, for example. Many of them do have a religious background and it serves us well when we can allow that to be expressed.
I am happy to have found in you a human which cares for this allowance, too.

Like you, I've found different churches and centers similar in their dogma or set ways and can't tie myself to any one. I do love and appreciate ritual and like you've mentioned the community in death and birth, etc.
I think having a spiritual/religious upbringing lends itself to a broader understanding of art and psychology. Those who've had that are better able to grasp a more macro view of themselves and humanity--synchronicities, a higher power, different viewpoints, etc.
Who are your clients? Are you a therapist?
I am also grateful to find friends like you who are willing to write it like you see it, question, have sincere and curious dialogue and continue to be open to growth as an individual and as a group. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99