The Reckoning: Weekend Freewrite Part 3

in #weekendfreewrite7 years ago

Here is part 3 of my three-part weekend freewrite story. The previous pieces are:

The previous two mini scenes leading up to this one are the initial prompt and the interference. This one is the dramatic twist.

The Reckoning

watch.jpg
Image credit: Pixabay

The bill she forgot to pay lay on the floor by the open door. She nearly shrieked. If the creditors came, her way of life and her time to herself might be taken away. She stooped to pick it up and then thrust it behind her back before the visitor could see. He must not see!

She peered through the door at the young man who stood there. “Who are you?” she asked. He looked slightly alarmed, as if he had found himself here on some pretense or mistake. He faltered and tried to say something, but no words came out of his mouth.

“Are you hungry?” she asked. She had become accustomed to the bright outdoor light now and watched this young man with keen interest. He wore jeans and an old t-shirt and seemed to have been dropped here from nowhere.

The young man stared at her. But then an odd look of knowing came over his face. “Yes, Mother,” he said. “I am very hungry.”



Thank you for reading! If you'd like to take part in this weekly exercise, visit @mariannewest's blog. She also has a daily freewrite prompt. Check it out.

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

so nice friend .... @jayna

Nice ending, good closure.

Oh, that's a poignant ending. Nice writing, Jayna. I'm practicing freewrites and hoping to try one for posting soon!

They are very fun and freeing. I am a person who likes to work over my fiction and really fine-tune it. I also try to write in a certain genre (well, literary fiction, which I suppose is the non-genre). I sometimes think my approach limits my creativity and the variety of things I am willing to write about, as well as the amount I post. Freewriting is of course a jump-start. It's something you can do to get a lot of ideas and creative bits done in a short period of time. It's not the end zone, but a part of your playbook. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67905.30
ETH 2637.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67