House Party - a fiction frolic for weekend freewrite 11/10/2018

in #weekendfreewrite6 years ago (edited)

image.png
https://pixabay.com/en/superhero-girl-speed-runner-534120/

House Party


"And why am I never told what occurs in my house?" Kyla demanded in a loud voice.

Kyle slammed his hand down on the kitchen table, making everybody jump. Then he closed his eyes and took a deep breath. "Because you're never here." he replied, trying to keep his voice level. He opened his eyes and glared at her. "You're always down in the sub-basement playing with your ridiculous mad scientist equipment!"

"For the last time. It. Isn't. Ridiculous..." Kyla gritted.

"Ummm... yeah. Mom, I have to agree with Kyle this time", Kylee retorted, rolling her eyes. "It's worse than ridiculous, it is legit insane! Tell me Why is it that you want to turn us all into superheroes, again? I mean Christ, you take your mother to see "The Incredibles" one time in third grade...

"Look", Kyla began, in the measured tone of voice she used when lecturing beings of inferior intelligence, such as, for example, her mutinous offspring: "Everything in nature moves. Rocks shift. The Earth spins. The wind blows. And people become superheroes. Or, at least they might become superheroes, if someone's ungrateful children would give her some piece and quiet once in a while so that she could complete her experiments! For goodness' sake Kylee and Kyle! Look at little Kyllion, he's only three years old and last week he said that he'd love to be able to melt buildings just by looking at them! Or summon tornadoes at will. Or make random objects invisible. We could be a force to be reckoned with. A force for good! As a family. But no, you'd rather have wild house parties up here, without my permission, while I'm busy down in the basement, as if you think I'm not going to notice..."

"Mom!" Kylee moaned, "You didn't notice. We've been raging since Friday night. Half the school was here. Brandon P. brought his subwoofers and the floors were shaking. Like, rattling the teeth in your head shaking. It is now Monday evening, and you only just now noticed. And the only reason you noticed is because you ran out of frozen cheese danish and had to come up here to get more."

"Oh you haven't been at it since Friday I would have heard you..." Kyla retorted scornfully.

"Mom." Kyle said quietly. "The cops got called on us. TWICE. And SHUT US DOWN. Twice. And then everybody just came back like 45 minutes later and we started right back up again. At one point Kylee had to leave Kyllion in charge so she could drive down to the precinct station to bail both me and the widow Cranston, from next door, out using your secret underwear drawer stash (you shouldn't keep that much cash lying around in your underwear drawer, by the way). Do you know what we were arrested for? Indecent exposure. Do you know why? Because we were drunk enough to decide that the smart thing to do would be to flash Mr. Higglebottom across the street, because he kept calling the police on us. And yes. That was a bad decision Mom. Just like your decision to quit your job and give up your six figure salary in order to build a sub-basement laboratory and hole up in it 24/7 trying to find a way to turn Kyllion, your three year old, into the Incredible fucking Hulk is a bad decision. Except... the widow Cranston and I were hammered. What's your excuse? You're not drunk Mom!"

Kyla sighed and dropped into the chair in front of her. "I know", she said, "I shouldn't have given up my high paying job. But I'd saved up enough to build the lab, and support us in comfort for years to come. And I do have sizable inheritances stashed away for each of you, with several investment firms. So it's not like I was completely irresponsible. It's just... I just wanted to do something I really enjoyed for once! I mean, it's not like my job wasn't fulfilling on some levels. I guess I could have stuck with it... Working as personal assistant for an inordinately wealthy serial killer has its perks. But mostly, it was just really stressful. And I knew I was overqualified for many aspects of the job... I mean, the knife cleaning was such a tedious process, for instance, especially when the blood was good and crusted on there. Plus I felt pretty bad about his victims... I guess that's why, when I quit, I figured I'd devote the rest of my life to finding a way to stop him!"

And there it was again, that look of fiery determination. Or mania, depending on your perspective. She was sitting bolt upright in her chair now, hands balled into fists.

Her children just stood there staring at her, their mouths hanging open.

Kyle swallowed audibly. "It's ok, Mom. Spend as much time as you want in the lab. We're fine up here."

"Yeah", Kylee said in a small voice. "We had no idea Dr. Death was a serial killer. I mean, I guess the name should have been a giveaway, but... Oh God. It must have been horrible working for him... Oh Mom, I'm so sorry."

Kyllion toddled over to his mom and climbed into her lap, leaning his head against her chest. "Mommy", he said, "Can you really make it so I can fly?"

Kyla smiled and kissed the top of his head, holding him tight. "That's the plan pumpkin. And bend a solid steel bar into a pretzel with your bare hands. Just give me time."


©2018 Bennett Italia, all rights reserved.


image.png

Hi everyone! This is my 86th 5 minute freewrite. (Disclaimer: these usually take me significantly longer than 5 minutes to write and edit ).


Come join in the fun at @freewritehouse! Many thanks to @mariannewest for hosting this wonderful daily freewrite :) https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-11-10-2018-part-1-the-first-sentence


This weekend's prompts:

1. "And why am I never told what occurs in my house?" Kyla demanded in a loud voice.
2. Everything in nature moves. Rocks shift. The Earth spins. The wind blows.
3. knife cleaning was such a tedious process


image.png

Horizontal rulers courtesy @cryptosharon

IOW COLOR MAP.png


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bennettitalia from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This is freaking fantastic!!! I love all the Kyl... names!! And so funny!!!

Note to self - exposing yourself to the neighbor who calls the cops on you is a bad idea 😂

🤣 thank you @freewritehouse! Yeah I had to take a break from all that NaNo and blow off some steam and I guess I just got silly. The Kyla/Kyle/Kylee/Kyllion thing did crack me up too lol

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and possibly a resteem too.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Excellent story, I enjoyed every minute of it. I hope she's able to succeed with her baby super hero and bring Dr Death to an end.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @blueeyes8960! Me too 🤣 I have a feeling they're gonna kick some butt once she gets the superserum right! And maybe they'll even end up with a few superpowered lab rats into the bargain ;D

Love the snide reference to The Incredibles.

🤣 thanks yea me too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45