Wednesday walk - Harlem Meer

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

Wednesday walk - Harlem Meer

1 Wednesday Walk Harlem Meer.jpg


Sony A7iii 100mm F8 1/125 ISO 250
*Click here to view larger


Wednesday Walk is a challenge started by me, the idea is to get out for a short walk and get some shots of what you can see within a short distance of your home office or wherever you start. And this is my entry for this week, but first, let me explain the challenge.

This is my post for the Wednesday Walk challenge hosted by myself, let me first explain the guidelines

Try and get out once a week for a short walk, can be from your office, home or anywhere really and walk for a few blocks or a few minutes looking for things to get shots of.

Your walk does not have to be on a Wednesday I just ask if possible to share your walk photos on a Wednesday.

Try and get a few shots not just one

You can look for anything in general or decide on one subject you want to get shots off.

Try to limit yourself to a set distance or time from the starting location, say 5 Blocks, 5 Minutes walk or whatever and see what you can find in that short distance

Make a point of looking around and up and see what you can find to get shots of that otherwise you may miss

Do a post with the shots you get on a Wednesday and tag it with #wednesdaywalk, also if you happen to join, please leave a link to your post in a comment on this post and I will try and visit them all.

Following me and resteeming the post so more see it would be appreciated but isn't a rule just a suggestion, but you may have a better chance of receiving a Steem Basic Income Share if you do.

I am not strict on these rules and hence why they are called guidelines and not rules

I will try and visit, resteem and upvote all who take part in the Wednesday Walk, plus I will be sending @steembasicincomeshares to a selection of those who participate.

Make me Smile Collaboration

As I mentioned above Wednesday Walk is collaborating with the Make Me Smile hosted by @elizacheng,
Starting now with this post, on the third Wednesday of the month out two challenges will collaborate so if you combine the two into one post you have double the fun

Here are the rules for her challenge

Your post can be writing, singing, video, poem,drawing, photography etc.... the most important part is your post Make me" smile, Remember, the ME is whoever read/view/listen to your post and this includes YOURSELF.
b. Your content must be ORIGINAL CONTENT
c. Please include at least 50 Words in your post

So the collaboration giveaway is as follows
As well as the SBI shares normally given away from the Wednesday Walk and Make me Smile Challenge, we will send one SBI Share each to one lucky winner who joins both challenges in one post

And now for this weeks walk post photos

The first shot is looking across the Harlem Meer, the building in the photo is the Dana A Discovery Centre, which is an Environmental Center, the offers a wide variety of free education and community programs, seasonal exhibits, and holiday celebrations.

This next shot is walkiing one of the trails by the Harlem Meer and I decided to slip a mono shot into this post.

Now I will admit even though I did a few walks last week, these shots are actually from a couple of weeks ago as I haven't had the time or energy to do any photo editing this week.

1 Wednesday Walk Harlem Meer-6.jpg


Sony A7iii 25mm F8 1/125 ISO 800
*Click here to view larger


And another shot looking over the water

1 Wednesday Walk Harlem Meer-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 31mm F8 1/125 ISO 160
*Click here to view larger



I do love walking in Central Park inthe early morning, often you have the pathways to yourself as you can see in this shot

1 Wednesday Walk Harlem Meer-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F8 1/125 ISO 500
*Click here to view larger



And another shot of the Meer itself, I do love this area and do not visit it as much as I would like as it is a long way from the office, when I visit there I normally get off the train at the 125th Street Station and walk to 100th Street where the park starts and then walk around it and through the park.

I know my last few Wednesday Walk posts including this one have been in Central Park, I promise to try and get my act together and share a walk somewhere else next week.

1 Wednesday Walk Harlem Meer-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/125 ISO 100
*Click here to view larger



And back to the Meer, this spot even has a small sandy beach like feature which this dog was enjoying

1 Wednesday Walk Harlem Meer-3.jpg
Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/125 ISO 100
*Click here to view larger



And one last shot just to show how lovelt the greens were that mornign after earlier rain, not the greatest of shotsI guess but I love the greens, and the open areas like this that are spread throughout the park.

1 Wednesday Walk Harlem Meer-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/125 ISO 100
*Click here to view larger


Steem Basic Income give away

I mentioned in the guidelines that from this week I will be sponsoring a few who join the #wednesdaywalk challenge with shares on Steem Basic Income

What is Steem Basic Income you may ask well here is how they explain it

Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered through providing regular upvotes to member content. so I have decided to send some Steem Basic Income shares to 5 people selected through a random draw so on the weekend all people who joined in last weeks Wednesday walk to @shasta, @tali72, @joanstewart, @sketch.and.jam, @shaunf, all people who joined in last weeks Wednesday walk . And a special bonus this week @elizacheng will send one SBI share to @sunikr,

I would love to be able to give everyone who joins a Steem Basic Income share, but I don't make enough steem each week to do so, but I will try and share them around fairly between those that join the challenge

I hope a few of you may find this an interesting challenge and decide to join in.


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA-jj2.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!steemitworldmap 40.795863 lat -73.949962 long Harlem Meer Central Park NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Amazing shots JJ. Your photos truly make the area a quiet paradise.
I’ve been a bit slack lately at getting any Wednesdaywalk posted but always think about your lovely challenge.

Thanks Kindly and no problems about the Wednesday walk, just when it fits with your schedule and the time you have is fine ;)

Oh, I cannot ever get enough of the beauty of Harlem. Honestly, Central Park - you could do that every week and it always is different, you just are so used to it, it has a sameness to it.

But, that is so not true. It looks different. Each week you show it.

Harlem used to be such a tough section of town and I used to have a friend living right on the cusp of it, and where I stayed if I couldn't/didn't want to get back to Connecticut. I can remember not wanting to traverse too far off the beaten path. Oh, it is such a wonderful place now and the rejuvination has done the entire place justice. Some of the oldest, most amazing buildings are still alive and well down there.

You always put som much into these posts and it really shows off in your photography, Thank you for taking me along on your #WednesdayWalk and that dog is surely having the time of his life. :)

Thanks for being a great part of @SteemUSA!

!tip

I love this end of the park, and as you say each park of the park has its own Beauty, and right next door to the Meer is the ramble another area of the park I live but its so far from the office I seldom make it there, but i may have to do a walk through there again soon

Harlem itself seems to be picking up it had such a bad reputation for a long time its great to see it coming back but still have the cool character of the old buildings

Cheers:)

It's absolutely true. I have always felt that way about Central Park. It's just one of those places I could go my entire life and it never looks the same. Of course, the fixed part of it is the same but even though Landscaping looks different throughout the seasons. I can understand about it being too far from the office. I'm always amazed that you go as far as you do.

Harlem has come a long way baby! There was a day that I wouldn't go down there unless I had to. Have yourself a most wonderful night!

OHh Ok its the newspaper part, now that makes more sense to me I was a little confused, but then again that is not unusual LOL
Will be cool seeing them hatch and grow and then fly away

Ohh yes it was such a lovely day I did sneak in a walk after lunch, and so wanted to play hookey and not go back I must admit, but I did the adult thing and went back to work

What you mean about bad reputation?

For a while that area was renowned for being quite dangerous and many did not go there

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for the resteem appreciated

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @traciyork!

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @solominer.

Loved the post, I shared it with the @helpie community and we upvoted your post. Thanks alot for making a quality post.

Thanks Kindly :)

Spring is a season of most bright and saturated colors.
Wonderful photos, and in monochrome as well 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks I thought there was so much color in the other photos one monoshot was at least needed to tone it down LOL

Balance is important, LOL

Posted using Partiko Android

YEs I think so as well :)

Looks so inviting with no crowds of people. :-)

Ohh yes indeed thats why I always go there early :)

I really like the idea of the combining of 2 challenges.
As usual great photography.

It is a cool Idea to combine them, walking always makes me smile so they kind of go together

Oh my word but we do live in a very pretty world don't we! Your photos are absolutely stunning @tattoodjay!

Thanks for your visit and yes there is so much beauty inthe world if were will to look and see it

La primera foto me encanto demasiado, parece un arco iris, muchos colores fantásticos.

Thanks Kindly :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79