Wednesday Walk - Chilnualna Falls - Yosemite National Park, California


This is my contribution to the #wednesdaywalk challenge, a weekly challenge initiated by @tattoodjay. His goal is to get us outside and observing the sites we find around us at the time. I always seem to be on epic walks on Wednesdays that are probably a bit longer than he suggests but, here we are. Full disclosure...this is from last week but I was in a place that had lousy WIFI so I couldn't get a post out to save my life...which is as it should be when you are at one of the most beautiful places on earth.


This particular Wednesday, I was just beginning a couple day stay in Yosemite National Park with my son, Ryan, who had recently graduated from college. It was an excellent time for both of us to get out of the big city and clear our heads. We entered the southern end of the park on U.S. Route 41 which takes you through historic Wawona. Yosemite is known for epic waterfalls cascading from towering glacier cut granite cliffs but we thought we would ease into our experience with a visit to Chilnualna Falls that is located just outside Wawona. After a mile and a half drive off the highway that winds through the residences of park workers, we arrived at the trail head. Let's go see what we saw, shall we?

CF 1.jpg
The full trail is long, just short of 7 miles, so we chose the abbreviated version so we could make it down to Yosemite Valley for sunset. We saw signs of new growth...spring had long since sprung. Look at those fantastic jagged leaves!


CF 2.jpg
This was our first glimpse at Chilnualna Creek. The sound of rushing water is so soothing.


CF 5.jpg
Here is the best view of the falls that we could manage from our spot on the trail. A tad bit of scampering on wet rocks was required but we always put safety first. Our goal is to avoid ending up on the evening news.

The basic stats are these: there are 5 cascades over nearly 700 feet and it is ranked 380th in the world as far as height...quite respectable!


CF 8.jpg
The next couple of shots are vignettes that caught my eye.


CF 10.jpg
So texturally delicious!!!


CF 12.jpg
This beefy ladybug almost met its demise because I was going to use this rock to help me get down the trail. My hand was headed in its general direction...thankfully I saw it just in time!


CF 13.jpg
I always marvel and the rock formations in Yosemite...how the granite separates from itself. This particular spot reminded me of the plates on the back of a stegosaurus.


CF 16.jpg
One tree's destruction is can be an ambitious bug's artwork. There was was definitely an overall theme / pattern to this masterpiece.


CF 15.jpg
And finally...the bud of a wild iris. Happy sigh!


We have been to Yosemite countless times but this was my son's first hike to Chilnualna Falls. It was so great to start off with a new experience in a place that feels so much like home. I hope you enjoyed our #wednesdaywalk as much as we did!


Here is @tattoojay's post for today that includes some suggested guidelines in case you want to join in the fun. There is still a few hours left depending on where you are in the world.


!steemitworldmap 37.565296 lat -119.615628 long Chilnualna Falls - Yosemite Nat'l Park d3scr

Steemit USA footer.png

Sort:  

I did not know of the challenge. Is it weekly?
Lovely pictures, loved those falls, water is life 💚
Thanks for the hike

Yep, every Wednesday. Here is the link with the challenge details: https://steemit.com/wednesdaywalk/@tattoodjay/wednesday-walk-peter-detmold-park

Thanks for joining me!

Yosemite National Park! The one who inspired the master Ansel Adams! How I wished to be there with you, it's a place I would love to visit. Thanks for getting me there! Love the photos and your description. And congrats to your son!

It is the very place! I live only a few hours away and have been dozens of times. It never ever gets old!!! I would love to show you around if you ever find yourself in the neighborhood. I will post more pictures of spots in the valley I am certain you will recognize.

I will deliver your regards to my son...I will see him today. :)

Great, lucky mom!
And yes, this iconic place is on my wishlist for a long time. Looking forward to you to bringing more photos, Samantha!
Thanks!

The thought of accidentally squashing small bugs is the worst part for me when going hiking. Wednesday seems the best day. :)
Great bug artwork ;)

Creativity abounds in nature! Thanks for stopping by!

Such a beautiful area, I can almost hear the sound of the waterfalls must be so refreshing walking there

tip!

Beyond beautiful bordering on heavenly. Hiking there is good for the soul.

Thanks for the tip!

I can only imagine what an experience that must be

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=samanthajbarnes
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wednesday-walk-chilnualna-falls-yosemite-national-park-california


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi @samanthajbarnes! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Views From Over The Fdr Highway At Peter Detmold Park Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64