Wednesday Walk Among The Street Art of ... Austin, TexassteemCreated with Sketch.

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago (edited)

quilttoad.jpg
Endangered Houston Toad mural by Louis Masai in Austin, Tx at 6th & San Jacinto Blvd.
photo was taken by me


While in Austin last week for the Global Block Builders Conference, we found this amazing mural painted by Louis Masai in November of 2016. I fell in love this with one. I am sure it is because of the bees and that the toads look like they are being quilted. It was just amazing to see this creative painting in the middle of Austin. What was even more surprising is there was an article written about him painting this mural and what it represented! You can view that article HERE!

quilttoad4.jpg
Close up of the eyes and detail of the quilt patches.
photo was taken by me


This being a week after my father passed away, I was pretty emotional and found the distraction of finding many of the Austin murals welcoming. I just loved that I found a piece that really spoke to me, but not in the way the artist intended. I found myself thinking about my mother and hoping she can be settled soon so she can begin quilting again. Quilts were an important part of my childhood because of her and she has talked about getting back into them now that she can focus on herself, not on Dad's health. There is, however, a sad tone to her voice when she speaks of it.

quilttoad1.jpg
photo was taken by me


quilttoad5.jpg
Two bees stitching the quilted toads.
photo was taken by me


The thing I love most about this mural is the bee; both of them. Look at those wings! You can almost see through them and those legs have pollen balls on them. Look at how fluffy they look! The artist captured the look of these bumble bee creatures perfectly. Who cares that they are holding needles! Is that even possible? Art is definitely a world of illusion and imagination.

bumble-bee-2361336_1280.jpg
Photo source HERE


quilttoad3.jpg
Masai's message to be taken away from the mural
photo was taken by me


This artist wanted us to be aware of the endangered toads in Texas. He painted this mural in conjunction with the Global Wildlife Conservation. This is one of thirteen murals Masai did in the series he called "The Art of Beeing" and they can all be seen in New York City, Detroit, Reno, Sacramento, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Pheonix, El Paso, New Orleans, Nashville, and Miami. Maybe we should add these to our collection list.

One of the things that just caught my eye was the metal covering something industrial in front of the mural. It looks almost as if it were drawn into the mural itself. I was a bit stunned to see this in the effect of the lighting.

quilttoad2.jpg
Louis Masai's signature
photo was taken by me


This is a rough week, but I was happy to see the many amazing murals throughout the city helping to divert my brain. If you are ever in Austin, stop by Sixth & San Jacinto Blvd and view this artwork.
Sort:  

I didn't know that the toads are an endangered species, too. Is there any animal whose natural habitat we won't destroy, in our crazy quest for progress?

Thanks for sharing these photos. Excellent mural. It's a real artwork with a message to share.

It is really sad what we will do.
You are most welcome. Just loved this piece.
Ren

I really liked those artworks :)
I don't like drawing but I like artworks, sometimes I ask myself how are those people draw those creative artworks hehe

It always amazes me to see the work. I often wish I could hide away and watch these people while they create.
Ren

Thank you for being on #ulog and sharing in its movement. You can also ulog on https://ulogs.org

You have been sent some teardrops token to celebrate you. You can find or transfer these steem-based tokens on 'https://steemgigs.org'. Simply login via steemconnect, then click on your 'profile-thumbnail > wallet'

The teardrops tokens will be useable on ulogs.org, steemgigs.org and macrohard.pro also as a 'token of influence'. You can get some more here or read more about why you should get some here

While you are on steemgigs, it will be awesome if you took time to fill up an in-depth steem profile. To do so click on 'profile-thumbnail > edit profile'.

If you are interested in getting 'certified' under the teardrops SMT, kindly add in your 'best email' onto this google form

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake-red-velvet-cake.png

Manually curated by @eonwarped.

Thank you so much. I just love red velvet cake!

Hi @rubberduckiemom, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity and the trail!

If you want to support us, please consider following our curation trail, setting us as your witness proxy, or delegating STEEM POWER to us.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

🎁 Hi @rubberduckiemom! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

These are some pretty interesting pieces. My favorite is the first one with the frogs. I like it because of the different quilt patches that make up the skin. I like the way that it looks. I'm also sorry to hear about your dad :/ I know that must be tough...

Thank you so very much. It has been rough, but I am not alone. There are so many others who have lost their fathers so I have many people who are supportive and encouraging.

As for the art, I loved that it looked like quilt patches too.
Thanks so much for joining in my Wednesday. It really made me feel happy.
Ren

You’re welcome!😁I’m one of those people that lost their fathers. I was really young when it happened though so I’ve had a lot of time to heal.

Posted using Partiko iOS

@rubberduckiemom, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

WOW what a cool mural with an important message Loved the shots you shared with us

Sorry the weak was a rough one I hope it gets better

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

It was rough, but I have lots of support and encouragement. Many of you my Steem friends.

I just loved the message for sure. Loved that I could share it with you all.
Ren

I am glad you have steemit to share and the community for support ;)

Love those bees @rubberduckiemom!!!
That us some nice art, a lot of hours of work right there...

I was so excited to find an article about the artist. So often these artists are underrated and unappreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97