Wednesday Walk: Garden

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago (edited)

Happy Wednesday Everyone! ♥️

Wednesday Walk is a challenge started by @tattoodjay. The idea is to get out for a short walk and get some shots of what you can see within a short distance of your home office or wherever you start.

My #wednesdaywalk was going outside to see how the three plants that comprise my veggie garden are doing.

It only 8:25 A.M. and the sun is starting to shine after a cooler night that made sleeping a breeze.

The hosta blooms have faded now but the leaves are still green.


DA4188A3-10A3-4A45-801B-8E0FF1021D68.jpeg


First up were the tomatoes. I couldn’t find the Early Girl starter plants at the garden center and settled for these ones. They seem to be doing okay but it will be awhile before they turn red.


63E708F3-157F-466F-B786-B23CCBC73AF7.jpeg


Last year I planted Hungarian peppers and they were plentiful. This time I planted jalapeños. Not so successful as something was eating holes in the leaves. Finally the plants are blossoming and a few small peppers are visible.


9FB0E6E4-4CD5-417A-BC04-ECB58F870050.jpeg


My last stop was to check on the sweet green peppers. The plants seemed healthy enough and it wouldn’t be long when I will pick one.


7078DA8D-3498-4C05-BE3E-C4EB35CF79A3.jpeg

I do enjoy checking out these few plants each day, watering them and watching them grow. Planting a few plants keeps me grounded and appreciated of the miracle of life.

I have a few other edibles that come up every year such as rhubarb and chives that are finished producing until next spring. My herbs such as peppermint and lemon balm need to be thinned out as they tend to take over.

The cats, Red and Sunday, also have their own plant of catnip in the garden. I usually bring in a leaf or two each day for them. I rub the leaves to activate the scent then place it on their scratching pad. The cats will eat some or just lay contently on top of the catnip that’s on the scratching pad.

The little catnip plant is starting to blossom. I hope it comes up again next year. Beside it is the silver mound.


0ADEBE3C-9906-4B61-963E-40417AFA1C26.jpeg




#thealliance




PHC-Footer-05.gif


64E124ED-E71A-4088-9788-0E836FBC0236.jpeg

.

Sort:  

Nice plants you have.

Too bad the jalapenos are having a tough go.

Thanks @lordvdr! I don’t know what is eating the leaves but I put some soapy water on them and it seemed to have discouraged whatever it was.

Glad to see the veggies growing! Like you, I enjoy watching them grow, flower, and ultimately grow into veggies. It's very satisfying and fulfilling.

Thanks @wwwiebe. Even a small garden can be fulfilling. I usually have tomatoes growing late into the fall. It’s so nice to go out an pick a fresh one for a salad or sandwich. 😊

Seeing veggies grow always makes me smile, @redheadpei. Thanks for that :0)

Welcome @simplymike! 😊 🍅

Nice little son, is always great to visit the edibles! I'm always curious to see what is ready or not... And to stop myself from harvesting before they are ready!

I know what you mean, it’s hard not to pick some before they are ready. I do like fried green tomatoes and onions so I may raid the tomatoes. 😊

It is great to have your own veggie or herbs to pick after taking care and watching them grow.

Hi Neli! Homegrown tastes so fresh compared to ones from the grocery stores.

Happy Wednesday Jo!! The silver mound is very pretty! No hot peppers for me..I can't handle the heat. Looks like you have the makings of a good salsa there so maybe some hot peppers are in order. I hope the tomato plants bear lots of tomatoes for you. Nothing like a good home grown tomato! 😋

Hi Dee! Thanks so much. 💕
Somehow the Hungarian or jalapeños don’t bother me. Hubs throws the seeds away then chops the rest of the pepper into scrambled eggs. Maybe the seeds carry more heat. Salsa sounds good.
Yes, I love going out to pick a nice ripe tomato.

You are welcome Jo!! I only eat jalapeno's once in a while and in small quantities. Sometimes I buy cheddar cheese and jalapeno bagels which are pretty good as are jalapeno poppers. I think it might be time for lunch now..lol. 😀

Looks like a nice sunny day there it started grey and overcast and is so humid here today I doubt i will do much walking

Your garden seems to be doing so well

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Thanks JJ. @tattoodjay. Today is turning out another warm summer day day 30C (86F).

and here whenI went for lunch it was the same temp as you 86 with real feel of 91 and peaking at 92 actual temp I think

You´ve had a wonderful walk in your own garden. Tomatoes and what have you are always de- stressing because when you plant them yourself, you see the miracle daily since it is growing everyday. It may be weird to hear but I talk to my veggies.... hehehe and I think they like that!

Thanks for stopping by @mers. Talking to them probably helps as long as they don’t answer back. 😊 I touch mine when I check them out.

Greenery view of your garden is looking awesome.

Thanks @kamrunnahar for your lovely comment. 😊

Planting a few plants keeps me grounded and appreciated of the miracle of life.

Yes!!! That is such a wonderful way to view the miracle of life. As simple as that is, it made my day hearing you say it. (So to speak)

I love your garden and the fact that you take such joy in Mother Nature. Those holes may be from slugs or snails?

Your peppers look amazing! Keep on planting Farmer MsGregor!

Happy Wednesday!

!tip

Happy Wednesday, Denise! Thanks so much for stopping by my little garden. ♥️ There are a few slugs around the garden and they are probably filling up.
I appreciate your generous tip. 🌺

Yes! I have found a couple of the little buggers! I wish I could throw them some leaves instead of them taking all the leaves off my beautiful plants!

Happy Wednesday to you and it is always a pleasure to stop by your place. So serene and beautiful.

I hope tomorrow is an amazing day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59401.87
ETH 2615.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40