Visiting a Local Trail {Running with a Wednesday Walk Break!}

Happy Wednesday folks!  I'm pulling double duty again today to support @tattodjay's #wednesdaywalk (his latest post) and stay up to "speed" with my @runningproject buddies!  The weather the rest of this week is pretty soggy, so I was really motivated to get out for some time on my feet on Monday while I could.  I decided to head out to a trail I have not been to in quite a while to get some different scenery and there is a really good hilly section to train on.

I am lucky in that there are a few different trail options right near my work to get in some activity.  That's part of what I love about @tattoodjay's challenge--encouraging people to explore all of the options that are just steps away from them and have fun being just a little bit active.  Of course I love getting my runs in and being consistent with that part of my training, but I also really like the excuse to stop and take some pictures while I walk for a bit and really take in the scenery.  Whether you walk, run, bike or hike it's important to slow things down once in a while and take in the world around you.

This particular trail I went on this week tends to be pretty quiet, though you will pass a steady trickle of people throughout.  It is nice that there is some parking on both ends of the 2-mile stretch and a pedestrian entrance about halfway, so you can enter in a few different places depending on how far you want to go or where you are coming from.  Though it is close to businesses and a few major highways, you still get a great getaway and plenty of nature.



Coming across this bridge is a great hill for some repeats!  I did a few to test out bringing a run group here soon.  Not many people enjoy the pain of working on hill strength, but it is definitely more bearable with some friends.



At least at the top of the hill you get some flowers...



I could have joined in on the #treetuesday tag yesterday with these guys growing out of the wall...



I know people have mixed feelings about graffiti, but it is nice when it has a positive message.  I took it as a good reminder to build up the people around you.  You never know when someone needs a little extra support!



My running stats obviously didn't look great with my walking detour, but I'm just happy I got out for a slightly longer excursion and just got the run in period.  My consistency has been off over the summer, but I'm hoping after this ridiculously rainy week I can get back to a little bit of a better running schedule.  Especially since I'm getting close to fall racing season!



I hope everyone gets in their walk or run today!  On that note...time for my workout here in the gym!


Banners created by:

1) @woman-onthe-wing

2) @dksart

3) @bearone for @steemusa

Sort:  

What a great place for a run, Love that first shot and view that is so cool, and the resilienc eof those trees growing out of the walls is pretty amazing

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk tip!

Always happy to support such a great challenge! I forgot how neat this particular trail was. I only went about halfway, so next time I'll try to get some more shots further down and closer to the main river. :) Have a great day!

@plantstoplanks Cool I look forward to seeing more of the trail :)

Terrific photos @plantstoplanks!! I know what you mean about the graffiti. I especially loved that shot of the trees..like..what the heck..lol! :)

Thank you @deerjay! Those trees were pretty neat, weren't they? Crazy how adaptable nature really is. :)

You're welcome and it sure is!! :)

I totally agree, it's really important to slow down and take in the world... Once a week my husband takes Sky all day and I take myself off into the forest! And on evenings I go for runs, sometimes I take my camera if the light's good and run, stop, take photo, run, stop, take photo... it's really fun! Even though I'm running I'm looking for photo opportunities and it makes me focus on all the nature around and appreciate its beauty. Very good for the soul!!!

It is a wonderful habit! I tend to sometimes just put my head down and get in the workout, but more and more I am trying to slow myself down on occasion to get something different out of the experience. And to do your soul some more good, I just showed my best buddy at work the art you made me and she adored it! She thought it was so perfect, too! :)

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of August 2 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

Neat! Thanks so much!

Thank you! I am very lucky to have some really nice trails so close. :)

nice trail to run/walk!!!! =) I would have walked most of it ahahha, you go girl!

Haha! Well any forward motion is a positive thing! I'm trying to really get back to it, so hopefully plenty more runs around here to come. 😉

great goal! I'm back to my routine tomorrow, I can't wait! I feel like I gained 20 pounds

I'm sure you'll be back in the habit and feeling fantastic in no time!

What a lovely place! Happy running 😉

Very happy running this time around, indeed! Thank you!

It looks like a very nice trail!

And what a coincidence! I've joined the Wednesday walk for the first time today! :)

Oh nice! I'll have to stop by and take a stroll with you, as well... ;)

Lol definitely not the flowers that I was expecting! Still quite the amazing trail of course though.

Yeah, you can't really stop and smell these flowers. ;) They do make the concrete look a bit more festive, though!

It looks like a wonderful place to hike. Very relaxing!

Thanks! Happy to share it with everyone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60531.60
ETH 2905.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33