Wednesday Walk ~ It's For The Birds!

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago (edited)

Today it stopped raining long enough for me to get down to the park and do a little #wednesdaywalk as started by @tattoodjay. You should go check out his post which you will find right here.

There were all kinds of people out today feeding the birds in the park, but I never expected to see this fellow:

i5a8ksfme0.jpg

When I saw him I yelled out "Hey Santa!" but I must say he didn't seem amused... What? Am I the first person to notice the resemblance? I mean does the guy check his look in the mirror when he puts on that hat??? Anyhow, no harm done, we had a nice little chat about the birds.

89dqw0ptkp.jpg

This lady came along and the Peacocks ran to her for food, and they were eating right out of her hand. It was very apparent that the birds recognized her. I guess she must come every day...

I'm going to come back to the Peacocks in a moment, but first I want to show you some other cool birds I saw today.

qh9msfbo1m.jpg

Above: A Coopers Hawk. This bird was perched on top of what we call the Pigeon Tree. There is usually a large flock of Pigeons that hang out there, but today I noticed them cicling the park over and over... I guess they were waiting for the Hawk to leave.

a3gxj5ypc9.jpg

Here's another look - check out those eyes! He knew I was watching.

9v6vwebe2k.jpg

In a bush just below the Pigeon tree I spotted this lovely Great Blue Heron. The Heron colony has not moved into the park in large numbers yet. They'll be along in another month or so. This one was a loner.

6y42aldnmu.jpg

Above: Here's a nice pair of common Merganser Ducks swimming on the pond. They disappear beneath the water for long periods of time while fishing. I couldn't believe how long they stay down there!

lw20nnj5lp.jpg

I guess I'll show you more of the Peacocks now. I should say Peafowl because of course there are males and females: Peacocks and Peahens. This one looks like a young male who was just practicing his strut.

uisqc00xld.gif

I'm sure all the Peahens noticed but they weren't too impressed. Come back when you grow some tail feathers they were thinking!

Do you know what a group of Peacocks is called? You know how we have a Pride of Lions, or a Murder of Crows? You get a bunch of Peacocks together - that's called an Ostentation. Cool name, huh?

ivfgdcuau1.jpg

The Cherry Blossoms are a touch bigger now. Not too many around yet, but isn't this cool? Somebody must have forgot to tell them... this is Canada and it is not yet even offically winter yet, but here comes Spring! Crazy, right? :)

Another day we'll go looking for a Romp of Otters, and if I ever get to Africa, I for sure want to see a Tower of Giraffes! That's all for now folks, hope you're having a great Wednesday. See you again soon. :)

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer!

Oh my goodness how incredible that you get to see all of these different kinds of birds all at the same park! That Coopers Hawk is something else! Love the stare down it gave you!

There were others I couldn't get. A Kingfisher was flying around but they're too quick for me. All kinds of ducks and geese... It's a great spot for bird watchers! I appreciate your support, thank you so much!

Howdy sir Keith! oh man, that hawk is magnificent! He just stayed the whole time you were there? A murder of crows? wow, I've never heard that before, that's surprising! Of course I've never heard of a romp of otters or a tower of giraffes either! Anyway these are wonderful photos!

I watched the hawk for a while but it just sat up there in that tree. Saw one right outside my door the other day, and a nice big owl as well. Glad you liked the photos, thanks so much, my friend :)

Sir Keith, do you live in town and there are big birds like that right outside your door?

Well, there are lots of big trees here, including giant sequoia which are not native but they thrive in our wet climate. A couple of dead trees were removed for a small local park around the corner recently, and we think maybe the owl and hawk got displaced.

I wonder if you can put some kind of food out to keep them close by, that would be cool.

It would be cool. They're both raptors - I think I'd need mice, or maybe a rat or squirrel would work too. Not sure my wife would like this however!

haha! oh ok..yeah you'd have to clear it with her and it might fall like a wet log. Is your wife retired?

Yes, we both are now. Cathy is a great photographer and artist.

Great looking peacock!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks very much :)

What a cool selection of birds you came across I love the last gif of the peacock that is so cool

and I probably would have called out Hi Santa to that guy

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

Thank you very much @tattoodjay :)

Most welcome my friend

🎁 Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Did You Know There Are Palm Trees In Nyc Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Great selection of birds from today's walk! I would bet that the hawk was hoping that the pigeon's would come over for dinner...

Oh yeah... or a squirrel. Someone told me they saw him go after a squirrel but he missed!

Poor hawk! Lucky squirrel!

Did you know that a group of turkeys is a rafter? Great photos of all of the birds. That Hawks eyes are intense. That is a really great shot. Santa must have thought he was going to be able to spend the time feeding the birds incognito. You outed him!

I did NOT know about a rafter of turkeys, that's another new one for me! Yes, I agree about Santa. He wanted to be incognito, took off the red jacket but forgot about the hat! It all makes sense now :) Thank you, Melinda :)

I had to look turkeys up the first time I saw a whole bunch of them walking through the yard. We were all debating what are they a gaggle? a flock? a group? And had never heard of a rafter!
How are you feeling?

Melinda - I am starting to feel a lot better now. I think I was sick for a long time and didn't know it. I'm 10 years younger now! (Except for my knees! )

I am so glad! Imagine how good you will feel in a month!

Wonderful captures of Santa and the birds. Love the peacock strutting his stuff. U&R

Thank you very much and sorry for the delayed response I missed your comment!

You got a 2.68% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @keithboone!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.95
ETH 2946.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55