Sort:  

oh cool sir Keith, so you guys are a good pair with similar interests! That's wonderful. What did you guys do before retirement? You may have told me what you did, if you did I forgot.

I worked in I.T. - computer network support. I single-handedly installed and supported a large corporate network with data centres and engineering offices in Toronto, Ottawa, and Los Angeles. Cathy worked in accounting for the same company for a number of years.

How about you?

Howdy tonight sir keithboone! That's sounds like a lot of pressure. Did you fly all over the place?

I've been independent almost all my life. Started out working on our family farm and then worked in some factories but my wife and I had a commercial floor cleaning business for a long time, retail stores, then we started a real estate company from scratch and built it into a successful firm.

When the stress from the real estate company was too much on my wife we gave that up and moved to Texas and I've been looking for something ever since. Mrs. J finally found a good job but I'm not sure what I'm doing but I'm keeping my eyes open.

Yes, It was a crazy level of pressure, and I did have to fly around a bit, but I also managed to pre-configure and ship tons of equipment to the remote offices and then have an engineer plug the stuff in for me and turn it on. I would then connect remotely to manage the equipment. I'm talking about computer servers - racks and racks of them, all pretty high tech stuff. (By the way, I could have run a whole bunch of Steemit witness servers, I had just a stupid amount of computer hardware at my disposal in those days!)

It sounds like you've done pretty well for yourself, and you've got some land there in Texas?

how interesting sir Keith....you had tons of hardware and could also have been mining alot of Bitcoin probably.
yeah we did well enough to buy a place but have no retirement, that's the problem of working for yourself.

We worked 16 hrs a day 7 days a week 365 days a year for many years! Had to if we wanted to stay with the banks in real estate. I wanted to keep working because it was my ultimate dream job, I wanted to work a few more years so we could have a retirement fund but she couldn't do it. so we got an old place here but at least it's private and on 15 acres. Needs tons of work but that takes money and that's why we're kinda scrambling to find a way to make a living so we can keep this place and develop it.

Well, I wish you all the success in the world. 15 acres is nice, my father-in-law had 13 acres so I have a good idea of what that looks like. I think you should get some horses and put on wild west shows! Maybe rob a stagecoach every day for the tourists - you know what to do! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50