Wednesday Walk | Altos Mirandinos Part. 2

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

Inspired by the Wednesday Walk of @tattoodjay

Hello dear friends,

On this Wednesday walk,Today I will continue my walk through the high Mirandinos. On this occasion, my wife had to go down to the city of Caracas, if you have noticed in the previous posts, I gladly make your driver, so I have a lot of free time to entertain myself until I go looking for her again.

At 08:30 in the morning, I left my wife in a building near the city's East Park, and I thought, now I will return to the city of San Antonio de los Altos, but by one of the alternative roads that cross two typical towns of the State Miranda.

The Pan-American Highway is the main route that links the capital of Venezuela with the city of Teques. On a traffic-free day like Sunday, the time spent is 20 minutes. Previously, during workdays and peak hours, I used to take up to three hours to return home after work. Now, with the current emigration, time has been drastically reduced.

Obviously this time, neither the distance nor the time spent on the road is a problem. The objective is to learn at the stops on the towns of San José de los Altos, San Diego de los Altos and San Antonio de los Altos. As you may have noticed, the three villages have names of Catholic Saints.

San Antonio de los Altos 3.jpeg

Panoramic view of the city of Caracas from a sector around San Antonio de los Altos

After traveling a lonely narrow two-way road through a region with dense mountain vegetation, I began the ascent from 900 meters above the sea level of Caracas. The first stop is San José de los Altos.

IMG_2404.JPG

Side view of the valley from Bolivar street of San José de los Altos

I believe that most of the towns of Venezuela have as their center: a Bolivar square, a Catholic church, a basic education school, a police station and the town hall. San José de los Altos is no exception.

San Jose de los Altos 1.jpeg

Of course, the monument in honor of Simón Bolívar, was something unique here. It was a Menhir stone with a plaque commemorating the foundation of the town and on the cusp a representation of a coin with the profile of the Procer. The town was founded in 1956.

IMG_2413.JPG

Side view of the valley from Cecilio Acosta street in San Diego de los Altos

The second stop was the town of San Diego de los Altos. This is somewhat larger in extension. It also has a Bolivar square and Catholic church, but unlike the previous town, it has a museum dedicated to the illustrious character of the town, Cecilio Acosta.

On the front of the temple there are two plaques, the first on the commemoration of the baptism of Cecilio Acosta, indicating that the building is over 200 years old. And the second metal plate that indicates the altitude of the town: 1260 meters above sea level.

San Diego de los Altos 2.jpeg

I remember that even in my city of birth, there is a street with the name of Cecilio Acosta, but I must confess my total ignorance about who this character was. Generally, one ends up knowing the stories of legendary characters and almost nothing of people more contemporary and close to us.

San Diego.jpeg

Cecilio Acosta was a very important intellectual of the 19th century. He was a theologian, lawyer, land surveyor and writer; according to how little I researched about him. Unfortunately the museum about him was closed. I have a good reason to return at a suitable time, and admission is free.

IMG_2432.JPG

View of part Caracas Valley from the Simón Rodríguez Training Center of San Antonio de los Altos

Finally, the third and last stop: San Antonio de los Altos. It is the largest, most populous and modern of the three villages in my learning path. I have lived with my family for almost 27 years. I've seen several posts on Steemit that talk about her, which is why I won't talk much about her.

I will only follow the same scheme so far, but shorter.

San Antonio de los Altos 1.jpeg

Maintains the same pattern of Catholic church, school, Plaza Bolivar, the only difference is that the police station and the town hall are far from the center in the vicinity of the Pan-American Highway.

San Antonio de los Altos 2.jpeg

The other fact worth mentioning is the modest monument to the Marques de Mijares as benefactor of the town founded in 1683.

From the Plaza Bolívar, I boarded the vehicle and let myself be taken to the Simón Rodríguez training center looking for the highest place in the area.

IMG_2432.JPG

San Antonio de los Altos 4.jpeg

IMG_2433.JPG

Until that moment, I had not made conscious, that from there the valley of Caracas is seen. Especially, in the area where my wife was at that time. And I said Wow. So many years living nearby and I didn't know that I can see most of the Avila hill.

Thanks for reading me and see you on the next Wednesday walk.

Fotografia 2.png

Photographs:

CameraCanon PowerShot A590 IS
Location / DateAltos Mirandinos - Venezuela / Dec 4, 2019
SettingsAutomatic
EditionNo
Photographer@janaveda

Sort:  

Love the post and thanks for taking us through that journey. Wednesdaywalks are honestly pretty sweet!

MintDice

That looks like a lovely #WednesdayWalk 😘

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=janaveda
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wednesday-walk-or-altos-mirandinos-part-2


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Very nice to see parts of your city, surrounded by mountains reflecting the beauty of Venezuela and history @janaveda

@tipu curate

What a great post showing us these interesting villages in such depth

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Thanks for share your Wednesday memories

Posted using Partiko Android

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #701.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team and got an upvote from @blocktrades to support your work. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of the Haveyoubeenhere community:


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43