Wednesday Walk on Chincoteague Island

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago (edited)

Still on Chincoteague Island and despite the rain, no less while this girl is camping in the sweltering heat, all because tradition has it. I have never been a slave to fashion or trends that are in vogue. Yet, traditions may not be broken nor toyed with.

I'm pretty sure it is in the bible somewhere. Let me know when you find it.

So there, you have it. Camping at the Pony Swim Week and #WednesdayWalk with @tattoodjay. Don't step on tradition.

pony swim0.jpg

We step out from the trolley, aptly called the Pony Express, and amble on down the street. It's early and yet, everything in the town is open. There was the pony swim earlier today and yes! I will be bringing that to you later or tomorrow. The internet is a busy place right now here on the island, so I (im)patiently waited to post this.

pony express.JPG

It's a wonderful way to get around the island and it is operated seasonally. In the winter, the entire island shuts down and the locals get their life back. Oh, but, while it is in season, it is a wonderful little place. Did I tell you that it is all things pony here on the island?

pony awim 11.jpg

We walk down the main street here and there are all things pony. Oh, yes! For Ninety-three years, everything has been that way. Go back and read about traditions if you don't remember.

pony swim 10.jpg

If you don't like horses or ponies, this is probably not a place for you to come. They take their ponies seriously here.

chincoteague 8.JPG

Bicycles are highly recommended for getting around. The traffic can be worse than New York City because there is usually a one way there and one way back route to contend with. But, hey! You'll be fit as a fiddle in no time.

Chincoteague 5.JPG

And don't forget to watch out for the Horses!

chincoteague7.JPG

Just the street I am looking for! Most people go down to the Memorial Park where you get a clear view of the ponies as they swim across from Assateague Island to Chincoteague Island, but, I prefer to muck through the swamp and go to the place where the ponies beach.

Shhhh! Let that be our little secret!

chincoteague9.JPG

Got your mucking boots on? I cannot even begin to tell you how many shoes have been lost down there. I know. It's not for everybody, but, it is for this somebody. So we will end our walk here so that I can claim my spot to stand and watch as my little ponies come swimming in

255807_10151763663943832_338769250_o2.jpg

Wednesday is also the #ColorChallenge #WednesdayYellow by @Kalemandra

Don't forget to come back to see the pony swim!

pony swim 9.jpg

¸.♥´¸.•♥¨) Let the sun shine in on your life
So the joy may touch your soul
(¸.•´♥ (¸.•´ ♥

#Steemusa is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

#TheAlliance is an awesome way to grow and discover some quality content. Check us out! Find us on Discord!




Facebook

Twitter

Instgram


Don't ever forget what wonderful world we live in, people. Let's hold hands around the globe and make this earth really spin. Some days, it is not as easy to see, so we must try harder to give everyone the proper focus.

Sort:  

Boots would be the way to go. All I know is leaches suck! Get it, see what I did there? Anywho, Im not sure if that is salt water and Im not sure if there are such things as salt water leaches, but the Old Guy would take no changes with the miserable buggers!

Hehe! Nice play on words there! But, yes! They do. In so many ways!

Thanfully, it's salt. And Denise wears mucking boots, which I managed to keep on my feet.I think you would have had fun and someday, when you move to Virginia, you'll have to go.

I hope your leg is all better!

Thanks for being a loyalist!

You go to such cool places and thanks for taking us along

Must have been a lot of fun walking around there

Tip!

It really is! Quaint andso very small town, but in a good way.The shore house that I bought is about 25 minutes from here.So, a lot of time is spent here.

The entire pony week is fun! You should come one time!

@dswigle Maybe one year I will make it there ;)

jumps on the horse laters !

Fascinating place! Can't wait to find out more!

A whole week of ponies! Who could ask for anything more! Thank you, Keith!

I don’t even own mucking boots so that would be a no from me!

What a quaint area. You just don’t see places like that staying around anymore for that kind of length. I hope they tradition going down. It is always nice when you end up in a town with some character to it.

Chincoteague is always fun! I love quaint little towns and this one has kept its charm.

No worries, I'll lian you a pair! Thanks for visiting!

Great photos! Can't wait to see the photos of the pony swim! Wait! I'' just roll up the jeans and take the shoes off and come muck with you to see them! LOL

Yes!! That would be so much fun!! I have done that too! :)

I love those places where I totally feel that time just stopped :) Have fun, my friend :)

Truth! Few and far between, but when you find one, its like hitting the jackpot!

Totally my friend.

The famous part of the place is all about boots, great Wednesdays with yellow flower.

Why does it always feel like you are on vacation?

Technically, I am only a couple of hours away from home so it can't be counted against me!

Tip!

Hi @rebeccabe! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

awesome photography
nice capture
thanks for sharing

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56