Wednesday Walk

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago (edited)

Do your thoughts run wild, do you think too much, if the sun comes out and brightens the day? Does it really matter, those inconsequential pieces of wrong logic running through your head? if you can close your eyes and imagine warm thoughts as you walk through life?

Let's go for our #WednesdayWalk with @Tattoodjay. Get your shoes on! We are going now! Let's start here, in the front yard, where the flowers are basking in the extra nutrients the rainwater has provided.

It has been a banner weekend for rain!

walk 4.jpg

These guys are about a one minute walk from my house. It is a subdivision flanked by a few farms. Ah! The best of both worlds. I cut through the pasture because there is no bull there today!

Otherwise, it is the long way for me!

walk 5.jpg

I love the huge trees surrounding my life. Oh, hug a tree today and embrace its size. I think of how this mighty oak was but a tiny acorn once upon a time. Nature never ceases to amaze me. They do their due diligence and give off oxygen, all the while making our earth a more beautiful place.

trees 8.jpg

It is a short walk through the woods as I make my way to the Civil War Battlefield. Virginia is littered with battlefields and historical landmarks. I love living here where it is steeped in history and always has something going on.

I have never felt at a loss for culture nor for the farming community. You can have both within minutes of any city here. Literally. It is one of the redeeming things this area gives you - after taking in the fact that the traffic is normally horrific.

You can't have everything. But you can have a #WednesdayWalk!

20180525_093432.jpg

This fencing surrounds most of the Civil War Battlefields and was used in that time frame. You will see it used throughout Virginia, Maryland and some parts of Pennsylvania. I haven't noted any in Ohio, but, somehow, I am sure there is some.

I was never really fond of its look, however, I have come to appreciate its significance as part of a historical landmark of a time. I guess it is all in how you perceive things.

20180526_074148.jpg

I am enjoying the profuse blooming of these roses. The rain and the cooler temperatures last week surely gave these beauties a boost. Breathe in that aroma and see if it doesn't transport you to heaven. Oh, yes.

Walk 3.jpg

Don't forget to look up! You might miss the best part of your day!

Day.jpg

Thank you so much for joining me on my #WednesdayWalk. I had a wonderful time showing off what makes my day in this area. There is so much to see, so much to do and truly remarkable people to do it with. Life is good. Embrace it!

Love is all around you!


Wednesday Walk 3.JPG

What is the Wednesday Walk Challenge?

This challenge created by @tattoodjay. Here are the guidelines from one of his recent posts:

Try and get out once a week for a short walk, can be from your office, home or anywhere really and walk for a few blocks or a few minutes looking for things to get shots of.

Your walk does not have to be on a Wednesday I just ask if possible to share your walk photos on a Wednesday.

Try and get a few shots not just one

You can look for anything in general or decide on one subject you want to get shots off.

Try to limit yourself to a set distance or time from the starting location, say 5 Blocks, 5 Minutes walk or whatever and see what you can find in that short distance

Make a point of looking around and up and see what you can find to get shots of that otherwise you may miss

Do a post with the shots you get on a Wednesday and tag it with #wednesdaywalk, also if you happen to join, please leave a link to your post in a comment on this post and I will try and visit them all.

Following me and resteeming the post so more see it would be appreciated but isn't a rule just a suggestion, but you may have a better chance of receiving a Steem Basic Income Share if you do.

I am not strict on these rules and hence why they are called guidelines and not rules

I will try and visit, resteem and upvote all who take part in the Wednesday Walk, plus I will be sending @steembasicincomeshares to a selection of those who participate.

These shots were actually taken on a Wednesday but as I say above your walk can be any day of the week.



¸.♥´¸.•♥¨) Let the sun shine in on your life
So the joy may touch your soul

(¸.•´♥ (¸.•´ ♥

1526862_10152162934543832_1112143058_n.jpg

#Steemusa is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

#TheAlliance is an awesome way to grow and discover some quality content. Check us out! Find us on Discord!




Facebook

Twitter

Instagram


Sort:  

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Thank you! :)

What a wonderful world you live in! I am referring to nature because I do not know more ... I think after a while the habit comes in, you get used to the beauty too. I know now you will say no! That's because you're a poet.
Now, when I read your blog and look at the photos (gentle cows are my favorites), I'm embarrassed to what I posted. In a hurry. I hope you have the indulgence ...

Thank you so much, Dan. I agree with the cows. It is funny that I live close enough to the city to enjoy great opera and theater plus all the benefits of living close to Washington, DC (the bad things too as well!) but this allows me to be close to nature as well.

I am truly fortunate and I do realize it.

A walk around the neighborhood always brightens my day, the seasonal changes brought on by the calendar make interesting things to look at while I get my daily exercise. Nature is abundant here and sadly, the beauty of the flowers will be taking a vacation here in a few months.

But, that only means that the season of Christmas will be soon upon us. :)

You are a fortunate for sure and it's great to realize! There are so many of whom life gives them everything and they are unhappy! I suspected somewhat that it is very beautiful and with a lot of nature where you live but I was not sure, Washington DC seemed to me to still be a big city with all the shortcomings. I'm glad for you and I wish you only the sunshine, as say you a good friend.

It is a big city and it's not. There are no huge buildings like New York City but many beautiful buildings with incredible architecture.

You can drive minutes out of the city into very suburban and sometimes spaces with farms, depending if you are on the outskirts of town or in the center. That is the joy of living here.

You can have your cake and eat it too. ;)

Of course, we all know the city to be corrupt and have many shortcomings.

Yes, I understand and it looks great the place you live! If you talk about corruption...what I can say more? In Romania corruption is a way of life. In Greece, I have not seen so many expensive cars that on my street home in Bucharest!

Quite a Mooving post, it branched out in many ways and almost got fenced in but danced it's way to a wonderful conclusion.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Always ready for a good chuckle.. and a "mooving' post. Thanks for the smile ;)

I am absolutely enchanted with the idea that you pick your walk route based in if a bull is in the way or not! Lol! I don't have those kind of issues where I live :) It sounds wonderful! Wishing you and the bull a wonderful day. This is a beautiful post.

Can you believe we have bulls so close to Washington, DC? Who knew? I always knew the politicians were full of... well. You know. :)

Well, you live in the world of fantasy and there are no bulls in that story. I live on property adjoining one of the Civil War Battlefields and the quick way is through the pasture, but, more often than not, that field is rotated to the bull and I take the long way home.

Life in the fast lane. LOL

And thank you. xo

Haha! So close the D.C. who would have thought, right?! 😂 Actually, here in LA, it is the land of fantasy...true...but much of it is fake & manufactured...so maybe my bull is bigger than your bull 😉 Well, anyway, enjoy the fast lane 👊

the trees are stunning !!! on your photos they seem simply huge. I imagine what kind of air there !!!! but meeting with the bull is not a very pleasant meeting :))) a good evening for you (we now have an evening :)), Denise!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Oh yeah I would stay out of that pasture, those bulls can be pretty ornery. I always enjoy all your your amazing shots.

I am really glad they left those old fence rows. I hope they can serve us as a reminder of the struggles from times past.

A beautiful day for a walk! Love the photos. The cow doesn't seem interested in what you are doing. Those are split rail fences and to me they were never attractive but I suppose it was what they used in the time period...

I enjoyed watching your pics of #wednesdaywalk. liked love sign flower and cow pic.

Great post about your walk in Virginia. Thanks for taking me with you! I love your cow shot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49