Wednesday Walk at Prettyboy Reservoir

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

My photos today were taken at Prettyboy Reservoir in Baltimore County, Maryland. This part of Baltimore County is known as the Hereford Zone. This reservoir is one of three that provides drinking water to approximately two million residents in Baltimore City and several Counties in the state of Maryland. Although it is located in Baltimore County, it is owned by the city of Baltimore.

qpfz8x4fv4.jpg

There are a couple of ways to get to the steps that take you down to this "dam" side of the reservoir. We (husband, sister and myself) walked through these gates and onto a field to the main steps down.

3ugi1wo4w1.jpg

Once we got onto a trail, we weren't on it long at all which I'll explain why later but don't be fooled by these steps on the left as we got plenty of walking in...

shrvnu7xn7.jpg

...on these steps going down and coming back up! Going down was the easy part though..lol!

outfgv0vww.jpg

This lady was the only other person we "ran" into on our trip. She ran up and down these steps several times with ease. Needless to say, I was impressed!

ctzikihfmi.jpg

My post today is on this side of the reservoir and I'll do a second post another time on the other side of the reservoir.

u1ixbb2rbq.jpg

er8go6glwr.jpg

There was a little bit of graffiti on a wall. I blurred out one of the tags as it was a bit explicit.

emwc62cnhl.jpg

It was a beautiful blue sky day although the sun was blinding at times. Half the time, I couldn't even see what was on my camera screen so I took lots of photos. Turns out, at one point on my camera phone, I had the camera turned around and I took a few photos of myself. They were easy deletes..lol!

jx8jjmyvvy.jpg

7ipwoo2c8p.jpg

ttq5iy75ki.jpg

brxs1joty8.jpg

This is the trail that we found. We had to climb over the stone fence. I'm sure Jay would've had a grand laugh to see that!

jzoiwai913.jpg

The trail was very narrow and steep. That is why we weren't on it long.

3mcbxslcci.jpg

kfdd3garx4.jpg

uwyrf5x33v.jpg

Not far into the trail, it dropped off to a point that none of us were comfortable with so we turned around.

14mm0vhgd8.jpg

Lately, I've been having some issues with heights and balance so it helped to remind myself to not look down.

qzkydaei63.jpg

r6wv872w5e.jpg

The last time I was here, I was probably about 19 or 20 years old. The steps were old and crumbly, not like how they are today. I also went there at night. Geez, I did some crazy stuff back then.

klncerqhha.jpg

Going back up these steps was a lot harder than going down but with a couple of breaks on the way up, I made it!

bd51gcuvwt.jpg

This is the little field that we walked over to get to the steps and back to the vehicle. Don't worry though 'cause I'm not done yet with my photos. 😀

9el94essq3.jpg

This is the way we took to get over onto to the other side of the reservoir. Those photos will be in another post.

o3qjcsehr5.jpg

A few photos from the parking lot. Yes..those are security cameras in the first photo. Safety is a concern wherever you may be. This area is beautiful but crime doesn't care and so it goes!

ieh7gesbw2.jpg

q96fvh4n8a.jpg

znqsc4ugwc.jpg

Just a couple more "dam" photos before we go!

t2wgxty100.jpg

duncbqkwrg.jpg

My last photo (if you're still here) and to tell you how the reservoir was named. The story goes that a very long time ago a farmer had a beautiful white colt named "Pretty Boy". "Pretty Boy" was caught out in a thunderstorm and fell into a stream nearby and passed away. So, the tributary was named in memory of that beautiful white colt! 💖

4hqqdtqifb.jpg

Thank you @tattoodjay for #wednesdaywalk!! 🙂

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

Oh, I had no idea that was there! What a beautiful place and I love that story, even though it is sad, the memory lives on.

Of course, I would have loved to have been a fly on the wall when you went over that fence! :)

Quite the hike and a workout for anyone. The scenery there is stunning and well, of course, I look at that and know I would have to do a tick check! LOL, I have this thing about ticks around here. The stairs alone were nothing to scoff at!

The glorious shots were wonderful!

I want to thank you for being a member of #SteemUSA!

!tip

Thank you so much Denise! It is a beautiful place. Those stairs about did me in. Tick checks are very important indeed. I don't think I've gotten one yet this season...knock on wood! 😉

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks so much @pixresteemer!! xoxo

No swim????? 😂😉

Lol..the way my luck is going..no way! I fell in the water at Kilgore Falls a couple weeks ago and submerged myself and camera which surprising still works..mostly. Haven't posted about it yet but here is a preview just for you! 😉
jttk9n572l.jpg

Thanks but... I'm a bit dissapointed now... I was expecting underwater pictures 😂

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

🎁 Hi @deerjay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Maine-Ly A Wednesday Walk On A Tree Tuesday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I love this post, my brother worked for many years on Hydro Dammin new earl and so I have an affinity for them I must say
very impressive that lady running up and down the stairs i think just walking them would be hard enough for me LOL

I really love the view down on the dam with the water flowing
Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Thank you Jay! Walking back up those stairs was not an easy task..lol.

With my Bad knees and weak Lungs i to would have struggled going up them without a doubt

You and me both for sure. I get out of breath just doing my steps at home. I think I took three breaks on the way up along with my companions. Misery loves company..lol.

I would have joined you on the breaks walking up I am sure :)

!ENGAGE 50

(Engage Token was created by @abh12345, to reward content and engagement, just a fun token, Here he explains it sort of Engage Token issued)

Thank you so much @bashadow!! 💖

You got a 4.62% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @deerjay! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

wow .. look at that water
what an amazing place

Thanks so much @rebeccabe!!

Glorious photos of the water and nature surrounding your walk. You did well to climb those steps. I’m glad you are getting around. Sure was steep steps and a lot of them. Sad story about “Pretty Boy” but nice to commentate him. 💕

Thank you Jo! I'm glad I found that info on the name. I was about done for the day after those steps too. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61226.21
ETH 2715.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45