The Torrey C. Brown Rail Trail ~ White Hall, Maryland

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

The Torrey C. Brown Rail Trail (formerly known as NCR - Northern Central Railway) is approximately 20 miles long. It is also part of the Gunpowder Falls State Park.

qemjloekyi.jpg

stw85ii5gl.jpg

n6466wihzg.jpg

The trail runs from Cockeysville, Maryland to New Freedom, Pennsylvania and has many access points. We chose the access point in White Hall, Maryland.

rfcsost01l.jpg

The trail is flat and easy to walk, hike, bike or ride a horse on. You can also find picnic tables, benches, drinking fountains and restrooms along the route.

y0p817txx9.jpg

This particular day was very sunny with a nice temperature and there were a lot of shady spots along the way.

8ss4096v7y.jpg

62p7v1cvoz.jpg

kz2yppnjne.jpg

We came upon a small bridge with remnants of an old railway to the side of it.

821ldb0kko.jpg

6nrf6gthav.jpg

I decided to do a few edits, of some sights along the way, with side by side comparisons.

bxmf1mfcvo.jpg

p635otwvh3.jpg

lwkcm39yi1.jpg

I spied this little red maple tree hiding among the ferns and other foliage.

t5vswpobzc.jpg

I thought these trees on a little hill looked quite nice!

jfn59d6v6a.jpg

I love the way the sun was hitting the trees in these next photos.

8gfwl9rgjx.jpg

izbpv45y2g.jpg

Seeing bedrock, along the sides of the trail, with the foliage growing in and near it and the trees that almost appear to be growing out of rock was a beautiful sight to see!

to9c27rhgv.jpg

7xwkvan4qp.jpg

There were lots of these flowers along the trail. I believe they are Hesperis aka Dame's Rocket.

f9mgrwwj3z.jpg

This part of the trail was mostly trees and foliage but I did manage to get a couple of water shots in.

8l6s7u0kb1.jpg

fnjmpp0quj.jpg

This is my last photo along with a couple of edits. Ahhhh...if only I'd packed a picnic basket! 😉

vrceny87qr.jpg

q1dydkgvuf.jpg

8qro3o638k.gif

Thank you @tattoodjay for #wednesdaywalk!!

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you very much @pixresteemer!! xoxo

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=deerjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-torrey-c-brown-rail-trail-white-hall-maryland


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

The trail looks so picturesque! Superb!

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful trails with the trees making a lovely canopy overhead. A lot of area to cover, Dee. I think I would need a rest at those picnic tables at the end.
Lovely reflecting water edit. 💕

Thank you Jo!! The picnic tables sure did look inviting. The canopies helped to keep the heat down and sunburn at bay. Hee hee, I had to add a little more water to the post one way or another. 😉

Hi Dee. I wanted to let you know I will be away until late Tuesday. Going to Skiff lake tomorrow- long drive 6 hrs. No internet so will just have to enjoy nature. 😂

Thanks for letting me know Jo!! Wishing you a safe trip and a wonderful time!! Enjoy nature and bring back some great photos! xoxo💞

What a lovely trail for a walk must be so refreshign walkign there
Such a cool idea with the side by side different edits

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Thank you Jay!! It was a nice walk especially in the shady areas which there were a lot of on this part of the trail. 🙂

Ohh ye son hot days finding shade for walks in important,, with all my Skin damage I have had I do that all the time and try to avoid to much time in the sun

Yep! I've had too many bouts with skin cancer so I try to get out early and not stay out for too long. 🙂

Yes exactly the same with me, and next month have my 6 monthly check, would be nice to have one when I clear of any I think its 14 so far

I hope and pray that you have a good check up. I am way past due for mine. My doctor moved out of state and the last couple that I saw, I just didn't feel comfortable with. I've lost count on how many biopsies I've had but have had melanoma and basal cell. I tell people that I love the sun but it doesn't love me..lol. 🌞

Do try and find a Dr you like it is very important, Ohh Biospies I stopped counting LOL, the 14 is the Removals, one Melanoma, and I think 9 Basal and 4 or 5 Squamous cell, i have three spots I will point out on my visit and then see if they find anything, I am at the stage now it doesn’t bother me if they find somehting for removal, its better t have it found early and got rid of

Ahh..you've had the trifecta! I know I need to get on that along with some other check ups. My last one the doctor missed a spot on my ear which I found by accident..smh.🙁

A lovely walk through a beautiful area. it feels good to get out in nature, doesn't it? Your photos and edits are great!

Thank you so much Melinda!! It does indeed and with everything going on it makes me appreciate it even more. ❤️

Wonderful photos of very picturesque landscape @deerjay and your edits are awesome too. 🌻 🌼 🌻

Thank you so much @trudeehunter!! I'm still working on improving and having some fun with my edits. 🙂 💐

It is a constant learning procedure and the main thing is that you are having fun doing the digital edits. I'm still hooked on the process. 😊

You got a 4.78% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @deerjay! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55