My Walk In Ocean City, Maryland

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago (edited)

My Wednesday Walk today is in Ocean City. Maryland!

vxfq1jxcql.jpg

zvxsgzyok0.jpg

We started out a little later than we planned and arrived about 10am. It was still early when we arrived at the Inlet parking lot so there was still plenty of parking available.

xja0cl9ysh.jpg

wwypjbozhq.jpg

This is the view of the big ferris wheel from the lot. In just a few more hours this place is going to be crowded with lots of people. We (husband, son and self) were only going to be here for a couple of hours as we had plans to meet with some family for lunch and go-karts for the kids.

0p89e3mxlz.jpg

The boardwalk wasn't crowded yet either. We had plans to walk the boardwalk, stop in a couple of shops and take a walk along the beach before our meet-up for lunch.

ztt9hnuo34.jpg

6lk571prqr.jpg

fa7jsgkl5s.jpg

8cpz68xwr6.jpg

I still get a kick out of seeing the big shark at Ripley's Believe It or Not!

c066ejm03q.jpg

rw5q8ta3eb.jpg

7h96dvguid.jpg

There is a small boardwalk that you can walk down towards the beach on. It goes down about two thirds of the way. I knew walking in the sand might be difficult for me so walking down on this boardwalk helped a lot.

3fexzramtb.jpg

Walking on the sand was difficult for me as I have CRPS (Complex Regional Pain Syndrome) but walking along the beach and feeling the ocean waves on my feet was what I was looking forward to doing the most while here.

lt82e24myt.jpg

vkubb7ern8.jpg

Once we were on the wet sand it was much easier to walk. It had been several years since we'd been to Ocean City and it felt wonderful to see and feel the ocean waves!

1optuihqqh.jpg

4l81y40j56.jpg

vugm1yfdpe.jpg

ggz9ds3ehr.jpg

051y4071jk.jpg

Walking back was a little more difficult as I was feeling more pain and sometimes I will start to have spasms which is very painful. Just a little further.....

uz47vxlyum.jpg

n4210iabh4.jpg

Luckily, I made it back! Got my shoes back on and we continued our walk. This is the Firefighters Memorial monument which is on the boardwalk.

xj4p6nlugy.jpg

There are several places here that you can rent a bike and they have all kinds of bikes as well. You can only ride a bike on the boardwalk at certain hours though.

la6kdz3koo.jpg

0c5u8bjq9y.jpg

You can also take a souvenir photo on one of the huge wooden Adirondack chairs that are right by the boardwalk.

7wipd8lkmq.jpg

More shops along the boardwalk.

uykjo69rhi.jpg

j7ym84ihs7.jpg

There are so many places to eat here and there is something for everyone. If we didn't already have plans for lunch then I would totally be okay to have pizza at the beach. You can even have lunch (or dinner) on their rooftop deck.

65udvn7eyg.jpg

Now we are coming up on a sand display that I was hoping we would get to before having to leave. I love seeing these. The third one had some damage but it was still awesome to see!

vbeniuebya.jpg

7rvder5ay5.jpg

8lkq9jjnjx.jpg

Ocean City is the only place in Maryland (so far) that I've seen seagulls with the black head. We have plenty of seagulls close to where I live but none like the one in the lower right hand corner of this photo.

mm5te6ww2y.jpg

I love this sculpture on the beach. It's a nice area for the smaller children to play on.

54zkhwrspz.jpg

We got our walks in and shopping done so it was time to head back to the truck and meet up with some cousins that live just outside of Ocean City. We had a snack of funnel cake, fried oreos and fresh lemonade which was the best I've ever had. Didn't get any photos but they were delicious. You gotta watch out for the seagulls though when you have food out in the open. They are not beyond swooping down to try to confiscate something from you.

dmgo6q1imv.jpg

This is my last photo and how I wish that this was going in the opposite direction! My feet are killing me but it was totally worth it! My son is already hitting us up for a return trip so maybe we'll be able to get back one more time before school starts.

yhqqw2hb4x.jpg

Thank you @tattoodjay for #wednesdaywalk!!

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

Wonderful walk at the seaside and great photos)

Thank you so much @gritata!! 🙂

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you so much @pixresteemer!! 💖

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Wow what a fantastic walk @deejay! :-) So much to see and looks like
such a beautiful beach! Love those umbrella shadows all in a row!
And Riplies! believe it or not! lol

Thank you so much @shasta!! I love how the umbrella photo came out too. It is a nice beach and the city has put a lot of money into it especially after storms that have caused a lot of erosion. It's a pretty big tourist spot so it's to their advantage also to keep it looking nice. Maybe one of these days I'll actually go into Ripley's and check it out but I feel like I've already seen it through their books..lol. 😏

After a day stuck in the city its nice to see a beach post and what a cool place, looks like not only a nice beach but a fun place to visit

Thank you Jay!! They put a lot into keeping the beach and boardwalk nice. I like to go very very early before the sun gets too bad and the crowds pick up. My son is trying to talk us into another day trip before school starts so hopefully we will get another trip back. 🙂

I hope you do get back there soon and I like you prefer going early before there are many people there

Love seeing those ocean boardwalks! So different from anything we have here. I was thrilled to find a handicap accessible ramp on the beach at Lake Michigan. I was able to go on my scooter right down to the waters edge, something I had not been able to do in years. I'm so glad you were able to get down to the water, too!

Thank you so much Melinda! That is awesome that they had access all the way down to the water and you were able to get to the waters edge! That was the first time here that I recall a small boardwalk that went even part way down the beach but it sure did help. I don't think I would have made it otherwise so I was thankful that it was there. 😊

It was unexpected and made me realize how much I have missed being able to be on the beach.

Hi deerjay, did you know you can view this post on Steemie?

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=deerjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-walk-in-ocean-city-maryland


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @deerjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 25000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Ocean City looks like a great place to enjoy the ocean and the sightseeing. The shark made me laugh. It looks like it has false teeth. The sand sculptures were amazing. I’m happy you enjoyed the walk along the ocean. The air just feels and smells so much more refreshing there. Walking in sand can be hard at the best of times. 💕

Thank you so much Jo!! Now every time I see that shark, I will think of that and laugh also..lol! That sand almost got me on the way back but I would attempt it again in a heartbeat. 💓 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59483.95
ETH 2714.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50