Wednesday Walk #1

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago

Wednesday Walk is a challenge by my friend Tattodjay @tattoodjay to take a short walk and document it with a camera. You can read all about it right here

I won't even pretend to try to explain it, you can just take a look for yourself. Anyway, it sounds like fun so I decided to try it.

WWSTART-1.JPG

We'll start at the start. This is taken right in the center of my driveway looking straight east. The sun is pretty nearly up but not quite.

That low spot in the (cough)Mountain Range is called Telegraph Pass and is conveniently straight east of my house so on the equinoxes the sun rises right through Telegraph pass.

WWStreet-1.JPG

We walk down my cul-de=sac and turn onto 38th Street. We'll walk all the way to the end then turn left to head south toward a pretty big patch of desert right near my house. All in all about .7 mile or a bit over 1km from my place to the desert. For those that haven't met Sam, there he is. Pissed at me for stopping to take a photo.


WWMockingbird Tree-1.JPG

Just before we get to the desert we walk by this place that hasn't been lived in for several years. The trees and bushes in the front are horribly overgrown and a haven for birdies. These were taken with my phone so you really can't see, but there were at least a dozen Mockingbirds in this tree this morning.

WWSamandShadow-1.JPG

This is right at the start of our desert experience. We walk down a trail behind the only gate in the area. Sam has been off lead for 2 minutes and has already found something incredibly tasty to smell. Probably other dog poop.

WWSamStarts-1.JPG We walk south (outbound) for at least a km, sometimes we go as far as 3 km before we turn around for home. In this photo Sam is just starting one of his favorite things. Digging after ground squirrels. He has caught exactly one in his lifetime, but he really keeps trying.

WWSamat ene-1.JPG

Here we are almost at the end of our Wednesday Walk. You can tell that Sam is a little tuckered, his tail is down an he is panting pretty good. Time to go home and get drinks for the house. Thanks for walking along!

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

The STEEM Engine

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

I bet same love these walks even if he is tuckered out by the end of the walk, thanks for taking us along on the walk and showing us your area

Always a shame to see a property get run down like that

thanks for joining Wednesdya Walk tip!

He just loves walking. He really likes to be on the lead and is incredibly good on it. He goes a little crazy when we are getting ready to go, but he's really good once we start. And he loves being able to run free in the desert. Doggy heaven.

That place is overgrown, but it is a needed haven for birdies and butterflies. When the hummingbirds are migrating there well be hundreds right there. It's cool from my perspective...

Thanks for starting this, and thanks for letting us play. Sam has some ideas for other walks...

That is so cool that you will have so many hummingbirds there I am kind of envious LOL

I'll go over to that place with my tripod when the hummers show in full force. It is pretty cool. I have a couple of other things that I plan to document this winter. We really get a lot of migratory birdies here. Something like 75% of the birds that use the Pacific Flyway stop in a 25 mile circle of Yuma,

WOW that is so cool that so many birds migrate through there, look forward to seeing some of them in your posts

Man you really do live right right at the edge of the desert don't you? Same looks really happy to be able to make his walk, i guess it is always a new adventure each day.

'Bout a half mile to where you see. 5 miles to places where you won't see another person all day. As it cools a little we plan to take at least one walk a week in a 'remote location'. I'm looking forward to it, and Sam would be if he understood what we'll be doing.

I think dogs understand more than we give them credit for, they just don't have a way to communicate it to us. It might be that we aren't the ones who understand and the dogs think the same things about us. They sit there thinking, "man if he just knew how to bark, he would be the perfect pet."

My dog love chasing after squirrels at my in-laws house as well. She has caught only one herself. I wasn't there, but I heard the story about it. Apparently it was like something out of National Geographic!

Sam gets after them at a way too large angle, he digs right under them. I don't care, the exercise is good for him... Most the time I just let him dig and walk slowly on. When I change the route I call him and he finds fresh holes to dig :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 262 (9/20/18)

I liked your pics with your dog, what beautiful place. walk is good for health and keep doing it. Hope I can also continue my walk.

Sam is a lot of fun to walk with. He's such a goof at times. When he's really after squirrels he sticks his nose down every hole and smells. At least one in three is full of loose dirt so he comes up sneezing.

I like that Sam takes you on long walks.

Sam is really good that way. He gets a lot more mileage than I do, but I actually get a pretty good walk out of the deal.

what great photo's!!! Thank you for taking me along with you today!!! I love seeing part of places I will never go!!

It's a pleasure. I'd pretty much bet that we will show more and more of the desert as time goes along. From the edge it looks pretty dead, but it's not...

So cool that you go out for a walk so early! I can imagine how loud those birds can get at that hour.

They really are loud. I think it's how Sam can tell that it's almost time. The birdie volume increases :)

@bigtom13 great to see this unusual destination and also great that Sam is around to take care of you Lol. Blessings!

I just don't know what I'd do without Sam looking out for me. :) Thanks for stopping by!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 212 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82