WednesdayHouse : Maya Jane Coles

in #wednesdayhouse6 years ago

Hi friends, I know I missed the last Technofriday but I was on the road for like ten hours and I just didn't manage a quality post. Don't worry I will be back this Friday with a proper post for #TechnoFriday. However , I'm on holiday in Denmark at the moment and I took some time of my vacation to write about Maya Jane Coles for #WednesdayHouse.

I first came across Maya Jane Coles in 2011 when she remixed Ritual Union for Little Dragon.

House has always been Technos little sister for me, as a huge techno fan, house was good but it just didn't hit the spot for me. I like my techno dark and weird and house in general is happy and melodious...I enjoy it sometimes but I have never been a full time house listener. This changed a bit when I discovered Maya Jane Coles. Her sets were so fresh and new, she played lovely house tracks without getting kitschy. By kitschy I mean having lyrics about the shining sun and love all night long and stuff like that. She is a great producer and a great skilled DJ. I don't know why but I have something for female DJ's and she won't be the last female DJ I will write about.

Here is some more information about her from her presskit:

On top of winning numerous awards, 29-year-old British-Japanese DJ/producer Maya Jane Coles has amassed millions of plays on YouTube and Spotify, and can boast a staggering 3.2 million Soundcloud followers! 2017 sees Maya release her most substantial body of work to date; her sophomore album ‘Take Flight’ on her own label, I/AM/ME.

Well, Maya is somewhat of an enigma in today's music world; on a typical Maya Jane Coles record, Maya will have written, produced, engineered, arranged, mixed and performed every element of the track; some times top-lining and, on many occasions, even designing the sleeve artwork too. Maya is no overnight success, rather someone who has been paying their dues and honing their craft for years…

Whilst earlier tracks were all well received it is arguably ‘What They Say’, originally released on Real Tone, that would see Maya emerge as a burgeoning star across the underground house scene. Topping both the sales charts on Beatport and Resident Advisor’s charts week upon week.

Last I'll present you a Liveset so you can see and hear her in action.

Many thanks to @andyjaypowell and @uwelang for creating and hosting #wednesdayhouse!

Check out the other Dancemusic tags as well and don't forget to follow the creators!

#MondayTrance by @andyjypowell
#DiscoTuesday by @musicgeek
#WednesdayHouse by @andyjaypowell
#RapThursday by @flipstar
#TechnoFriday by @neutronenkind
#Danceweekend by @uwelang

Sort:  

oh, I forgot how good that video is!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Katerwurst from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Congratulations @katerwurst! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88