My Web Development Stack Story 1: How I got into LAMP

in #web6 years ago (edited)

I fell in love with the Web when I first learnt about it while studying in the US in 1996. The Web's mix of visuals and back-end logic appeals to me. How a medium can be both a learning and a teaching platform where I can explore, grow, and share my knowledge all in one place is akin to magic.

lamp-image.png
image source

The LAMP stack is a natural progression of my choice of web building tools. In my earlier years, I developed using server-side JavaScript since I needed to work with Sun/UNIX machines that run Netscape Enterprise servers.

screencapture-web-archive-org-web-19990203195042-http-www-sabah-net-my-80-2018-03-31-09_01_18.png
(screencapture from the Internet Wayback Machine)

Above is the pre-2000 version of Sabah.Net, and that site together with the official Sabah Government website ran on those humongous Sun Solaris servers and server-side JS. Webmaster became my first ever job out of college, and I was also the first officially titled Webmaster for both websites and the company I worked for.

screencapture-web-archive-org-web-20020525044204-http-www-sabah-net-my-80-2018-03-31-09_04_21.png
(screencapture from the Internet Wayback Machine)

When the servers were migrated to Microsoft Windows NT, which comes with Internet Information Server (IIS) built into it, I took the chance to not only redesign the whole Sabah.Net website, but also to migrate both the codebase and database from server-side JS/Oracle DB to Active Server Pages (ASP)/Microsoft SQL Server. I streamlined the changes into the Sabah Gov site as well, so the design looked pretty much identical.

By chance, the Systems and Network team were meddling with LINUX and testing whether open source technology can handle the load that large enterprise services usually handle. That introduced me to Apache and PHP. Those and the IIS/ASP combo further solidified my love for Web development. Unfortunately, Microsoft upgraded ASP to ASP.net and took the learning curve way for that tool way steeper that it suppose to. I let go of ASP to focus more on LAMP, and I haven't looked back since.

You have done your part, ASP.

LIKE WHAT YOU READ? Then check out my previous post: https://steemit.com/dlive/@webgrrrl/d8707ea0-32e9-11e8-b82e-c1500cea03c6

Sort:  

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60051.08
ETH 2417.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43