Treasure Hunters Find A Fortune Worth Of Coins In A Field

in #wealth5 years ago

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

I love this kind of story because this can happen to anyone. The great sir @nickyhavey calls me Lord Fluffton because of the fluff pieces I post and I reckon I earned the title. lol.

I love feel-good stories. This couple in England, (and I'm sure sir nickyhavey and the other great Brittish Steemians already know this story) were out in a farmer's field Northeast of Somerset with their metal detectors when their machines alerted them to this hoard.

sujxwd77ox.jpg
source

Here's Lisa Grace(what a wonderful name) with her detector, it looks state-of-the-art:

wln5lqkrww.jpg
source

And here's Adam Staples with his:

xw91ahleaz.jpg
source

It's 2,571 silver coins, they're King Harold II pennies from the end of Anglo-Saxon England and William the Conqueror coins. The coins are extremely rare because King Harold was king for only 9 months.

I guess he was leading his army at the Battle of Hastings and got shot in the eye with an arrow. So his reign got cut short.

These coins are a thousand years old! To me living in a country that's only 250 years old it boggles my mind. Many of them are in perfect condition and they're worth a fortune.

England has a great system set up for treasure hunters

According to the law, the couple turned them over to the proper government department which is called the local finds liaison officer who then gave them to the British Museum in London to evaluate.

The rough estimate of value is 5 million dollars! The way it works in England is that if the museum rates them as Treasure, then the couple will be paid the value of the coins in pounds.

Here's the happy and soon to be rich couple(probably dreaming of investing in Steem):

9ezhqnfam4.jpg
source

If the museum doesn't rate them as Treasure, then they get the coins back and they can sell them on their own. Also, if the coins are rated as treasure, the couple has to split the value of the coins with the land owner 50/50.

So either way they're going to be millionaires! I'd like to know if this find was total luck or if they had reason to believe there was treasure there.

They've been very tight-lipped so far concerning details, even in their interview with Treasure Hunting magazine where they made the cover:

qya89rlk1k.jpg
source

The other major find was astounding as well

Back in 2009 an unemployed coffin factory worker was down on his luck, 55 years old, no future prospects...when he was out in a farm field with an old detector he'd bought many years before for 2.50 pounds.

It alerted him to a hoard of gold jewelry, crosses, sword hilts, and jewels worth 5 million dollars! That was outside Staffordshire, England.

I love it when regular working class people strike it rich. And as old as Europe is, there has to be untold buried treasure there!

Let me know if you're a treasure hunter. I know the great sir @balticbadger in Germany uses his detector.

a0esw215rr.png

Thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy
Texas

uvsylyennv.png

l1xgphrt5d.png

ak059z170l.png

Sort:  

Just imagine what people might find in America 1,000 years from now. If we all live that long.

lol! Howdy sir blockurator! Yes, if the human race lasts that long? Exactly. Well, with everything going digital then I'd think actual gold, silver and jewels treasures would be even more rare and valuable. That's a great point sir blockurator, thanks for commenting!

Oh man that’s awesome!!! Crazy to think what all lies beneath us. Here we have romans, vikings, world wars. The coolest thing I found so far was a large bullet probably a 50 cal. We live next to a wwii nazi airport so come fall once the plants die off I will be looking for my million dollar treasure! What an amazing find!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Howdy sir badger! You are in such a great area to search! That would be something to make a major find!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @kharma.scribbles.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Howdy and thank you helpiecake and @kharma.scribbles! And thanks for all you do to help others.

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 6.35% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Howdy steem-plus and thank you for the upvote!

That would be so cool! There is a British TV show called 'Detectorists'. I watched it on Amazon at the recommendation of friends who had loved it. It's about two friends who share a passion for metal detecting and it made me wish I could go metal detecting! I can't imagine how thrilling it must be to find a treasure!

Oh I know, especially if you are over in an ancient country like England. That makes sense to have a show like that over there, you never know! Over here, except for battle fields looking for old bullets I think parks and beaches is where everyone looks.

And they are lucky if they find a few quarters!

lol! that is very true!

Or ring tabs from a beer can! I had some guys stop and ask to walk around the spring with their detectors but they found nothing.

Oh, in your backyard or in behind your house? Our country isn't old enough. The ancient countries that existed before banks seem to have treasure hidden everywhere! "ring tabs from a beer can!" lol.

Yes, the spring/pond in my yard. This property was used as a picnic grounds in the late 1800s and I would have expected them to find something. I'm glad they made pop tops so that they did not detach from the can.

I had forgotten all about that old style of pop tops until you said something!

T would be nice if I happened to find some hidden treasure in my fields!

Hey, anything is possible sir kaminchan! Especially in a country as old as yours!

I ought to save up for a metal detector one day! But I don’t want to dig the ground!

I agree about diggin holes but if the metal detector went crazy I would be so anxious to see what it was I'd turn into a ditch digger pretty fast! Korea is such an old country, odds are that there might be alot of hidden or lost coins or treasure over there!

Also unexploded old bombs from the Second World War! I would look at old areas where there were lots of fightings among the tribes! Warriors and people lost their previous belongings at warring areas.

In the jungles along the border, many land mines are still hidden along the trail!

Wow sir kaminchan, how would you know if you could dig down with a shovel then? I mean, what if it's a land mine?
But at the same time, yes if there was lots of fighting people would bury their valuables wouldn't they?

That's one more reason I miss living in Europe. Not that I was a treasure hunter, but even having buildings and ruins that old around is amazing. Of course, out your way there are the remains of Pueblo settlements but, here in Minnesota, the plains natives left little more than arrow points and petroglyphs.

When i lived in southern Spain, I was a half hour's bike ride away from Roman and Moorish ruins, as well as bronze age cave paintings.

Howdy sir fotosdenada! Man, you were able to see some serious stuff in Spain. Yeah most of our country is so young, too young for ancient treasure!

Amazing! Lucky couple 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree and howdy clitadias!

I think you should get yourself a detector and go about in your big piece of land. Maybe you will find something more worthwhile than a buck or two from you posts here on Steem. 😃

Howdy today sir Vincent! well this is just grass lands that has never been settled so I don't think there is anything out here. Maybe a few arrow heads but the detector wouldn't pick those up. It needs to be in an ancient country like yours, just think of the post that would make if you found something valuable!

Congratulations @janton! This post was selected by the Power House Creatives as today's Rally Upvote Post :)

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Howdy steemitbloggers! What a wonderful surprise, thank you so much. God bless you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72