LOST GLORY

in #war6 years ago (edited)

This place used to be beautiful,
It was never ruins.
I still can remember it all very clearly,
The way the stars array themselves in the sky with the moon carved beautifully amidst them.

I remember everything,
The alluring laughter of my wife and the feel of my daughter's fingers gently tugging my trousers.
"PaPa, tell me a story" she would say with a mischievous twinkle in her eyes.

I remember every single detail all too clearly,
The cool evening breeze blowing my wife's 'kaftan' as she struggles to tame it.
I never told her that I found it cute.

I remember it all
The sound of gunshots and cries of agony as I rushed amidst the chaos to get home.
The face of the man who shot my wife and child would forever be etched in my memory.
"I should have protected them" I said silently the zillion time as I stared at their unmarked grave.

The breeze blew against my face with the metallic smell of blood and gunpowder wafting through my senses.

BOOM!!!!!!!!!!!

I heard another bomb go off,
I looked up and stared blankly into the horizon and all I could feel was numbness.
I had nothing more to live for.

Seeing the black smoke twirl in the air, I slowly walked to my veranda and I calmly waited.
Waited for death's cold hands to engulf me.

This is dedicated to all bomb blast victims in Nigeria. Do not lose hope
This is to remind you that we are praying for you from the depth of our hearts. Please do not lose hope.

And to others, treasure the moment you spend with your loved ones, they won't always be around.

Image credit : Shuttersstock
IMG_20180418_210730_077.JPG

Sort:  

I like this

This is an extremely poignant approach to the tragic situation in Nigeria. Very well done. Thanks for sharing. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @djoi. Congratulations and best wishes.

Hey, just wanted to let you know I gave you an upvote because I appreciate your content! =D See you around

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

The thing about wars; it never leaves a place the same.

You are very correct

@djoi featured you in her entry to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest which lead me here.

This was a great story. Is there still war going on in Nigeria, even though there are a lot of Nigerians on Steemit, I still do not hear much of the news anywhere, not my home town in Alaska, nor news of the lower 48, but news from distant places is even less likely for me to hear. (I gave up TV, and Internet news).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61426.96
ETH 3441.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51