Wampum Carving

in #wampum7 years ago

I am hoping to get some wampum carving done this year...last year I was just to busy. It takes hours to make one piece, but like beading it is something I Love to do.

feather 9h.jpg

Wampum comes from the Quahog shell and has been used for recording agreements and treaties, as well as adornment. The idea that wampum was a currency only happened after the 'settlers' arrived and thought that a gift was meant as a payment for purchase. It was a clash of cultures and understandings, to say the least.

Wolf 2c.jpg

I first cut out shapes...

wolfgirl 1b.jpg

Then drill any holes, before I do more work on a piece. Wampum is very brittle, and can shatter easily. One of the hardest things I do is adding the holes in the feather quills...I get about 50% drilled without the quill breaking :)

006.jpg

Once I get any holes drilled, I begin adding detail. This takes many hours, because wampum is also very hard, and if it is worked too fast it can crack. It always needs to be worked in water to keep the heat down as well as the dust, which is toxic if inhaled. It can cut up the insides of the lungs because there is so much silica in the shells.

I do not make beads. One needs lapidary tools for that and I do my work by hand.

wolfgirl 1e.jpg

April feather turtle.jpg

eagle 2b.jpg

Then polish, polish, polish...

SL 1w.jpg

bird 1b.jpg

...and add bails if needed...

Free Form Wampum Pendant 1a.jpg

Whale Fluke Wampum Pendant 2b.jpg

Fingers crossed I can make time this winter :)

Sort:  

Wow! You are always doing the most awesome things! I hope you have time too. What do you use to carve the shell?

Thank you :) I use various abrasive hand tools and papers...mostly I use time...

Quick question... I just found this ring at a thrift store and am wondering if you might be able to tell if this is some kind of Wampum carving ...

I can't tell if it's shell but I can't think what else it would be.

Sorry I was off working :O

It is not wampum, but could be stone or another shell. I would heat a needle or pin red hot, and touch it on the piece in an inconspicuous area...if it melts it is poured resin made from a mold...in which case you will smell the resin too. If not, then it is most likely stone or shell. I could not say from a photo though.

Shared to show some awesome work!

Thanks Weetree :) I hope I can make more!!

@elew got you a $8.04 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@elew got you a $8.04 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more! @originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @elew to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Thank you so much :)

Incrediable work you do @elew so beautiful!
I really like the wolf lady, could be a wolfman?
but I see a lady :-)
What do you use to polish polish polish with?
The feathers and eagle I also really like, love how
the purple flows into the white on the shell and
where do these shells come from? We have been
finding some along the beach here, will look closer
for purple but I do see pinks and whites.
Thank you for showing us elew!

Thank you Shasta :)

They come from the New England coast...the very white and purple from the Cape and Islands, and the darker shells like the wolf lady come from RI and NY. Off the mainland most quahogs have pink, brown and off white undertones along with the purple...completely different shells.
I use various grits to polish, it is a slow process to do by hand.

@elew My husband also likes the wolf lady lol
She and the purple feathers would look cool together :-)

Congratulations @elew! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51