Walk with me #3 - A walk in the rain

in #walkwithme6 years ago

Helloooo my friends...

It was such a nice rainy day in Damascus today, and I was walking and walking endlessly and then I stopped and thouhgt about taking some photos... & I'M GLAD I DID!!!
It was beautiful seeing that couple walking under one umbrella... <3

The smell of the streets was amazing, and the colors are of course a different kind of special.

This shop has the right idea, protecting the merchandise while showing the umbrellas...

Took a break from the rain on this bridge. I had to dry the phone. hehehe.

Then I had to wait for a guy near the ancient citadel of Damascus, which was fun cuz I love to walk by this amazing place and just look at it.

& the statue of Saladin and his soldiers. I tell you, it wasn't allowed to take photos of it when we were kids and it was new. So taking a photo now is cool!

The sun was trying hard to get out there, but the clouds had the numbers on her :P

& in the park, flowers were dancing to the wind. But they were kind enough to hold still for a second while I took my photos.

& the back tower of the citadel. You're officially in the old city.

The smell of the rain, like I said is amazing. But walking in these tight alleys, listening to music from cafes and shops, and smelling something else: people cooking lunch, you'd feel pretty special, AND SO HUNGRY I almost knocked on some door asking for a plate. :P :P

I don't know what happened at the bus stop, but it was raining alright!!

But the pigeons of the old city just didn't care. They were doing their usual thing... Just like I always do.
Btw, there are many puddles everywhere and it gets annoying sometimes. But this one is the exact opposite of annoying, with the pigeons drinking from it and flying around.

I hope you enjoyed today's walk. It was so much fun for me and it was my pleasure to share it with you.
Have a nice day. See you later.

I wanted to call it a windy and rainy day walk but I could only take photos of the rain for you, the wind was extra playful and didn't stand in front of the camera at all. :P

Till next post, Love and Light!!

Sort:  

man you took me back in time i was born in Damascus and i lived there for 15 years, what a beautiful city . I wish you best of luck on steemit . Take care

I'm glad I did that. I bet you miss it so much. What photos are your favorite?
Thanks, I wish you the same. Much love.

i do my friend , my favorite is the statue of Saladin :) , man i do miss these days especially the hamedia souq

Bakdash?? ;)
I'm doing a post on Saroojah. ;) Check it out.

yes best ice cream ever :) , sure i will check it

So what goes on in the citadel? Im curious to know if such a beautiful place is still being used. The bullets on the ground, it made me feel sad. It tells a story that needs no words with a thousand different scenarios. Rain can be cleansing but it can also mean sadness. In your pictures I see both.
Love in the rain is the highlight and its wonderful.

The citadel used to be an old prison when the French were here and for many years after that. It still has places we're not allowed in, simply cuz you'd get lost in it and it leads to lots of levels underground. (I've seen some). Nowadays it's used for musical concerts and other kinds of art events. It has seen many jazz festivals, rock concerts, and all kinds and genres of music that I'm proud to say that I never missed almost any of them, even Gorillaz played there once. It also has seen a lot of sculpting and painting contests and exhibitions. It also has an institute of tourism and archeology . I was accepted in it after high school & I wish I didn't waste that chance. Check out my next post for a new photo of the citadel. You'll love it.

The bullets on the ground, they were a little more than usual, that's why I said it rained there...

Thanks for your support and everything, @foxyspirit. I'm glad you're enjoying my posts. Much love.

OOOOH I can't wait for the next post then. I would love to get lost in the underground of the citadel. That's my kind of adventure! In the pictures, it doesn't look like it's that big. But to hold concerts it has got to be massive.

You would be lost and those tunnels lead God knows where, even outside the citadel itself, cuz how else did soldiers escape to ask for reinforcements in the old times when they city would get under siege. But hey, let's get lost and enjoy the adventure. hihihihi

& yeah, it has a huge open space inside.

WOW, definitely fools the eye from the outside ^_^. And yes let's get lost hahaha :p xxx Woohoo Gorillaz! ♪I ain't happy, I'm feeling glad I got sunshine in a bag...♪

♪ I'm useless but not for long. The future is coming on. ♪

to quote Metallica ♪ How can I be lost if I got no where to go? ♪ So apparently we're gonna live in the citadel and that's it. :P

OMG I love that soooong!! ♪ search for seas of gold, how come its got so cold♪
The future is coming on and you will not be lost and it wont be so cold. High hopes and prayers. The earth will heal it's greatest ones :) big hugs scorpii.
Is there a layout of the citadel? like blueprints? I want to see how big it is underground. or an idea of it ^_^

No, no blueprints that I know of.

Whoa...just tremendous photos, my favourites were the ones of the citadel, especially the view from the back, the light was really nice.

This one of course made me sad...yet grateful for your perspective, because it shows us all aspects of your life.

It does show all perspectives. With the beautiful pictures, its hard to imagine the chaos. It brings us back to reality.

I was thinking what beautiful photos, and I didn't even realize those were bullets at the bus stop until I read your comment! O: I thought they were cigarette butts! Wow, my privilege showing itself. I was just thinking this morning how we in America are so numb to mass shootings at schools and cinemas and such now, and how people in war zones must be numb to that violence all around. :(
I'd like to toss arms manufacturers into a volcano now...

I don't think those who are in the thick of it can feel numb to it. I like to think that I was mentally prepared more than other people around here so when the crisis happened, I was never scared or confused. & I adapted to things people never expected to live with. But when people are in the middle of a battle or near places where mortars are falling, they are scared and confused and all kinds of feelings... But when that's over, we have to go back to living our lives or else fear would control the people and they'd die from being poor and hungry before the war "might" kill them.

If you get rid of all arms manufacturers, most of the world's problems would be over by morning.

Oh, I agree, I didn't mean in the moment, but the ability to carry on with life after, even though it may happen again. It's strong and sad at the same time, because no one should have to "get used" to such awful things.

no one should have to "get used" to such awful things. Indeed.

I love it! So interesting to see the differences between there and here. Cars squeezed into those tiny alleyways!

The statue IS cooland pigeons? You're speaking my language. Pigeons are so adorable!

Thank you for sharing a great walk!

I'm glad you like it. ^_^
I do love mosques pigeons. They are really adorable; their colorful necks are amazing.

You're welcome, my friend.

Love your close up flowers and the back of the Citadel, but I think the Saladin statue is my favourite. Funny to see Jerusalem scratched in to the stone. I also liked the narrow street pics and think the post overall gives a very clear impression of Damascus as vibrant and historic with modern touches.
Hopefully they will quickly and successfully remove the problem in Ghouta, so that the bullets will be a fading memory. Peace.

It's a statue of Saladin liberating Jerusalem so it's written there "liberation of Jerusalem" and the king is in the back under the horses bottom :P & his crown has fallen... It's funny when you look at it from the back.

As the city grows it tends to have more modern neighborhoods than it has old ones.

Ghouta?? You're up to date with the news! That's cool! They're attacking it right now, hoping the terrorists and all the militias will surrender soon and announce Damascus to be safe again.

I watch @syrianaanalysis here and on youtube! Yes I could only see Jerusalem - now it makes sense. Hope it ends soon:)

You just planted 0.67 tree(s)!


Thanks to @phoenixwren

We have planted already 7664.15 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18435.56
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

How can I do that @treeplanter, plant trees and get paid for it??

Thanks a lot.

Hello, thanks for your interest. I recommend you to read any of my post, where you can read about it more. Thanks.
@martin.mikes
coordinator and founder of @kedjom-keku and @treeplanter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.72
ETH 3101.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33