Walk With Me: To The Haunted House, Harbour Island, Bahamas

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

Yeah, you read that correctly, I’m going to take you inside the ruins of a haunted house. It’s located in the southern part of Harbour Island (Bahamas) in a district known as Dunmore Town.

27BD49EB-6350-47BF-B524-7DAEC416E620.jpeg

There Are Three Widely Accepted Stories Related To This Estate

The first story suggests that a wealthy Frenchman built the beautiful masion (for himself and his new bride) as part of an escape plan. He wanted to protect his personal wellbeing and his family’s wealth from the destruction that was devastating Europe, during the second World War.

The property had a spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean and the couple were deeply in love...or so everyone (on the island, at the time) thought.

7503775C-4C68-4D31-BF51-F744ABD6DD39.jpeg

Apparently the couple had a huge argument and the man’s wife left first. She was then followed by her husband and neither one of them ever returned.

They left everything just exactly as it was

Their dining table laid out with fine china, set for an evening meal, which was in different stages of being prepared.

FFAE8D70-75A6-4013-9FD8-EBCBF69D38EA.jpeg

All their clothes and personal belongings (along with all their gifts from their recent wedding) were still in the house, virtually unopened and untouched.

All just left, As If They Were Only Planning To Be Out Of Their House For A Few Minutes

The second story suggests that the house was indeed built by a wealthy European in the early 1940s.

This person then sold the estate to a Greek shipping tycoon in the early 1960s for a princely sum of a million dollars.

274774EE-7289-4E88-9430-FE3F7E58A0AD.jpeg

This is where the story starts to overlap

It was this Greek tycoon who brought his new wife to the house and after spending half an hour in the house, it was she who left the house screaming.

She vowed that she would never return to, or live in the house because it was haunted by ghosts who were tormenting her.

Shortly after that, the tycoon left the house too, presumably to follow his wife.

They both just left the house in haste before their evening meal was even ready to be served.

The third version of the story suggests that either the original Frenchman (who built the mansion) or the Greek tycoon (who purchased the estate in the 60s) had some kind of medical emergency that forced he and his wife to leave their house in haste. They never returned (presumably due to death).

Irregardless Of What Really Happened, The Mansion Stood Vacant For Decades

In the early 1980’s, the mansion was looted of its contents by vandals and it caught on fire. This reduced the house to ruins and the Bahamian government took over the ownership of the land and the shell of the structure which is still standing today.

You Might Be Wondering How I Came To Know About This House During My Short Visit To The Island

Well, one of my very best friends who suggested that we visit Harbour Island actually came with @knarly327 and I to show us around. He’d been traveling (with his parents and other siblings) to the island since he was a young lad.

In the early 1960s, he can remember visiting the abandoned house as a child. He said that you could actually peer into the windows and see the table set, just as it had been left.

He remembers seeing the fireplace, some of the plumbing fixtures, as well as many of the personal possessions of the home’s occupants.

He then confirmed that when he was in his 20s, the house caught fire and was badly damaged, pretty much reducing it to what it is today. A shell of a structure without much of a roof left.

836108F7-E18C-40C0-898A-AAA6CFF3E5BD.jpeg

My friend tries to visit the island every year.

He’s now almost 60 himself. This estate was one of his favourite childhood haunts (while vacationing with his parents) and he wanted to make sure that we had an opportunity to explore it and experience the mystery of it ourselves.

In the last 35+ years, Mother Nature has been working her magic to reclaim what was originally hers.

Without further ado, please #walkwithme so that you can #seewhatisee.

26A57FE1-441E-4120-A27B-6D0F617631FE.jpeg

Mother Nature’s Handiwork

F0D24E8C-CBDB-4BC1-BFCA-D5CBA471F93B.jpeg

218E3D94-8F1C-44BD-9010-4425807A9622.jpeg

98EB26DF-ADED-4AD0-8258-1E2557F83F68.jpeg

A Great Hallway

AEE7170E-437E-4EC9-9158-F5DF5EC29015.jpeg

Where The Second Floor Joists Were Once Affixed

2D3DC8C0-7C4C-4276-B880-C5836F735362.jpeg

A Closer Look

B517018B-8B01-499E-A02F-30F008D045CE.jpeg

Thank you for joining me on my exploration of Harbour Island’s infamous haunted house.

It is still a great mystery wrapped in sadness

(This is how the ruins made me feel anyway and I didn’t pick-up on any residual spirit energy or see any disembodied figures lurking between its archways.)

It’s a shame that it was so badly damaged because it is a very romantic architectural jewel...even though it’s mostly charred rubble.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey...if you dare. ;)

187C97F0-CD54-42C3-841A-B62C77204D2D.jpeg

~ Rebecca

Sort:  

Wow, this was an incredible story, Rebecca and I can't wait for @carolina-girl to read it, she loves things like this!

I absolutely loved how you described how Mother Nature was reclaiming what was hers and then showed the vines along the wall, that was brilliant and spooky all at the same time.

You do know that if you keep posting these incredible pictures of yourself, you're going to catch the eye of a modeling agency and get put on a magazine cover, don't ya?

Well done! You are the only person who made that connection about Mother Nature using vines to pull the remaining structure down and comment about it.
Thank you for your kind words. :)

I like to believe the second story :) Photos looks very creepy now, very sad no one maintained such beautiful place . When I scrolled fast I saw only the bottom half of the last pic and it freaked me out for a second :) . Loved reading the post - I like such stories

Thank you @ashwinrajt!
You are the only one so far that has made the connection between the black and white photo representing the feeling of a ghost. Good for you! It was my intent and I am glad that you like the story...you can imagine it happening. ;)

Very true , I can imagine it happening :) Well ghost stories are my area of interest, so I guess I can relate :)

this is what I saw :) ha ha . with the caption and story its a perfect ending for a haunted house :)
DQmSK2uZf76k5196unpGCRoxdm5kNfNd1jWaXNKC6b6VuP6_1680x8400.jpg

What the!!! Goosebumps!

did you try with your friends stay inside in evening? around 9 PM till 12 AM? That is really scary! I swear you will feel something different... Hehehe... Love your post! 35 years old of that house Am I right?

Following you now!!! Interesting!

Hi @kennyroy!
We explored the house ruins about 5:00 pm and spent about an hour wandering in and out of the structure.
As far as I could confirm the house has sat empty for at least 55 years. Then in the early 80s it was vandalized and torched, so it's been charred rubble for approximately 38 years.
Today, people get married in its shell for the romantic backdrop that it provides.
I happen to think that should help to re-calibrate the energy signature of the entire property because folks are regularly filling its cavities with love. ;)
Welcome aboard!

Thanks!

It was good location for the wedding as unique venue and good location of photography style, especially for the movie events... ^_^

Ooh that poor couple :'( Thanks for sharing this tale with us, I'm glad you felt no negative spirits in there. The architecture was amazing, and yeah, totally sad to see it falling apart...being uprooted. Great photos! Is that you in the last one?

Thanks Lyndsay!
I haven't talk to you in ages! Hope things are going well for you and yours.
It's a fascinating story and it was amazing to walk around and explore. Especially, since my friend could recount what he remembered from his own childhood.
Yes it is. :)

What an interesting story. The first version I like more, it's more romantic. And surprisingly, after so many years this house still looks majestic, I wonder what it was when it was whole? Thank you for the beautiful legend for the night :) Have a nice rest.

An interesting story. And in each case it looks mysterious, which causes curiosity. I wonder if there is a buyer for this house. I would not want to live in a house with ghosts. Great photos. Thank you for sharing Rebecca .

I always love haunted places :D makes me want to explore even more . I really want to go to the Bahamas it’s such a beautiful place . I hope you have a good time lovely

It is a beautiful place and I do hope you go for a visit. There is a lot to see and do and for the most part it is exceptionally safe. You must be getting ready for your own trip "home". That's exciting!

Rebecca
The only "hauntingly" figure I was able to see is the one standing in the doorway of the last photo.
Other than that magnificent creature.
I couldn't see anything that would be disturbing to me. Ha
Great story. I know you have many more. I know you well enough for that.
Thank you

Francis

Thank you Francis! I am disturbing and highly disturbed most days. Lol!
You are correct. There's always a story percolating in my mind...

A lovely story about the Bahamas. I lived there for many years I hope you enjoy your stay. There is quite a lot of derelict buildings on the islands, I guess there is a story behind all of them.

i think you are a brave girl and lots of energy to visite it a haunted house, all the story missing authentication except three as i feel. someones death or departure could turned you form your desire place.

Thank you for thinking that I am brave and have a lot of energy.
I agree with you @sheikh27. A version of the 3rd story is likely what really happened. As beautiful as the island is, it would have been really isolated to live on full-time 60+ years ago. I'm actually not sure what I would do if it happened to me and today we have internet to keep us connected to others. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69081.21
ETH 3809.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50