Walk With Me And See What I See: Treed. Dead, Inside And Haunted

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

There are some famous trees that really stand-out and are worth making the effort to see when you’re visiting Harbour Island, in the Bahamas.

The first one is in the photo (below) as the tide was in.

A8D18F61-B54B-4F2A-BF10-130A526A2E99.jpeg

I know it doesn’t look like much (at first glance) but please look again. I really want you to see what I see.

The tree that is standing fully upright (as if it’s growing in the middle of the ocean) is known on the island (by all the locals) as The Lone Tree.

It’s actually a huge piece of driftwood that was deposited by hurricane Andrew in 1992.

As the story goes, it was either relocated by the hurricane from the neighbouring island of Eleuthera or, it was blown off the cliff that’s located directly above the beach.

Where ever it came from, the remarkable thing is that it was “planted” there in an upright position.

The islanders report that the tree moves around (from time to time) and they say this happens most during high tide as the sand shifts.

What’s really made the wood silhouette iconic, is that it’s often the backdrop for high fashion (haute couture) photo shoots that end up in major fashion magazines.

This Has Given The Lone Tree Celebrity Status

It has become so recognizable, that it’s a sought after “photo op” for tourists (to be photographed with) and is also a desirable wedding location where vows are exchanged.

Hmm? Lets proclaim our love to each other under dead wood, shall we? I guess if you start with dead any other wood that you’re exposed to on your wedding day is an impressive upgrade.

That’s the first lesson to learn about married life.

Setting the correct expectations. Perhaps, the Bahamians are onto something with their tourism initiatives. Lol!

The real trick is to wait until the tide is out because as we all know, timing is everything, especially when we’re discussing wood. ( I just can’t help it. Lol!)

9352A41F-618F-407A-8425-F871A3E75886.jpeg

In case you want to see the Lone tree in person, you can find it at one end of the island on the beach below Gusty’s bar in the sand flats (very far bottom, left corner on the map).

10C67E55-402C-47C5-AAF9-A312995DADB3.jpeg

Now we’re going to walk to the region depicted in the middle of the map to see the second note-worthy tree which is approximately a 1 km walk (in distance) from the Lone Tree.

**It’s A Massive Rubber Tree With Many Off-Shoots Growing In A Cluster **

896CF7F8-D704-4D40-B393-2B956BB7BA8C.jpeg

Again at first glance, it doesn’t look that impressive but I want you to look more closely and I’ll give you some perspective as I (with my 5 foot frame) stand inside it. (Yes, inside it.)

A09FB16E-AC4C-480E-9E43-ABC2925F9780.jpeg

Now, with my arms out stretched.

9702BEFF-4262-413D-943C-1149F449BCFC.jpeg

I probably don’t have to tell you this but I fit the classical stereotype of a tree hugger.
I love the energy that massive trees project and if it were up to me, I ‘d spend my time equally devided between large bodies of water and old growth trees.

For the third tree of “significance”, we’re going to keep walking down the road another 1.5 km, to the region depicted on the far bottom right of the map.

We’re back on the property that is home to the haunted house and we are going to take a look at the tree which is growing just behind the ruins of the mansion.

(If you missed my story about the haunted house, you can view it here: https://steemit.com/walkwithme/@rebeccaryan/walk-with-me-to-the-haunted-house-harbour-island-bahamas )

C2D83D92-BC30-4EEE-8614-27EDFC2463AA.jpeg

Once again, not that impressive until I add some perspective for you and you can see what I see.

16E101A6-E30F-4A00-A509-FD3DD60E77DF.jpeg

Like a 40 something, grown woman climbing a tree in her bathing suit and flip-flops. (Yeah, that’s not the most sensible attire for this activity but I am happy to report that I was able to haul my ass up there with relative ease so that you can see the magnitude of this gorgeous tree.

A7E813F6-6423-4ADD-9415-0BBD740FD6F7.jpeg

A little closer.

5294E605-D0B3-46A1-806E-40F4B38F402D.jpeg

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey...sometimes we’ll be stopping to love trees along the way. ;)

7B78EDBD-066D-4637-85C4-2CFA379265F0.jpeg

~ Rebecca

Sort:  

Wow, I cannot believe that the lone tree hasn't fallen over! This is spectacular!!! <3 <3 <3

Hi Lyndsay! @knarly327 had an animated (read: Not Quite heated) discussion about whether a hurricane could actually plant a tree that way...I'll spare you the trauma drama.
A truce (of sorts) occurred when I agreed that it was highly probable that the islanders make sure the tree never falls over because of the increase in tourism it drives every year. It's still amazing to look at and I went (absolutely no hardship here) to the location several times because I wanted to get a good shot of it when the tide was out. ;)

Yes...that would make sense...damn spoils it though hahahaaha!!!

Three very different trees, and a good walk (distance and content-wise). I hadn't heard of that specific tree in the water. When my friends and I were growing up, we'd go to the beach at low tide sometimes and dig a hole, then we'd find a big stick and post it in there like the first tree. When the tide came in, you'd get the same effect. Although we couldn't dig very deep, so it'd fall over. Looks like nature did a better job. :)

Thank you so much for adding your great comment @themanwithnoname! Was it actually Habour Island where you lived at one time as a kid?
I think that I could integrate into island life pretty easy at this point in my own life.
You can't help but feel good with the salt air, nature and all the walking. I loved it! :)

I would have liked to grow up at Harbour Island. It looks lovely.

You totally could. Some people go on vacation and just stay. Why not? :)
The salt air is great, especially when you get to smell it on a cool breeze next to a warm ocean on a hot day with a cold drink in your hand. :D

I absolutely love the lone tree! It's amazing how it ended "up" like that and I really like how it looks in the water.

Timing is crucial when dealing with wood, especially the older one gets. Morning wood seems to always be plentiful but hard to sell at times.

Hahaha! When it comes to wood (dead or alive) I'd like to suggest that if the correct expectation is set, there is no selling required. ;)

Greetings to you my dear friend
Beauty in trees and their splendor
And professionally filming the tree to appear in front of the sea and the blue sky above it
As well as the big, big tree with many beeches
And of course your beauty in the pictures
Really fantastic

Hey @rebeccaryan great post and Amazing Photos ! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! :)

What magnificent trees, that dead tree, that a tree is a giant, they really deserve attention. I wonder how many years a huge tree? I think no less than 100. Excellent photos, thank you for sharing with us.

A great story about a dead tree. Very interesting and wonderful photos. The gigantic tree is impressive, I have never seen such. Thanks for the interesting information. You are in great shape Rebecca

The trees are OK. I like them
But, the photos of the lady in them takes the prize.
I know that wasn't your objective in this post?
To steal the show.?
Well, maybe you did.....
If you did? Mission accomplished. Ha

Francis

Got it.

i love your post ♡ wonderful story wonderful photos ♡♡ . cheers ♥♥
@rebeccaryan

the sky that symbolizes welfare, blue and very bright

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79