RUNNING IN THE MARITIMES #5 - GLEN MARGARET

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

Today I headed in a different direction. I have not been there for awhile and I was missing it. I had so much fun a few days ago with a virtual run with @donnadavisart that I have decided to take @lyndsaybowes with me today for a virtual run.
So we headed off from Seabright and headed down to Glen Margaret.

We started off well left, right, left, right as we slowly jogged down the highway. Once we got down to Glen Margaret we just knew that we could not miss the opportunity to jog up the Wooden River Road. We could hear the River from the highway. It was so loud. We knew the river would be powerful today, from the run off of snow and the amount of rain we have had.

We marveled at the river and its strength and its beauty. We thought, lets slowly jog up the road further. It's not an easy jog. It feels like a logging road. Rocks and ruts, torn up by Trucks and ATV's.

Our excitement mounts as the day is beautiful and now we know if we keep going we will come to the mouth of the river.

Ah..we see it now barely peeking through the bush.

It has suddenly gotten very quiet. We are excited to see the view as there are no leaves on the trees.

A rambled old shack. Sitting forlorn at a beautiful spot in Nature.

Suddenly it is super super quiet and we know we have arrived. Ahhh. a breathtaking view. So beautiful. We stop and rest for a moment taking in the wonder.

We think we will turn around now, this road seems to go on forever and we still have so much to see and enjoy.

We really can not figure out what is going on here. You be the judge. Looks like a giant rat's nest.

LOOK!!! We even find a puddle barometer...it's frozen.

We follow the road back down to the highway and head to the bridge. From the top of the bridge we can really see the roaring river.

Now we are excited at the force of the river and we go to the other side of the bridge. Now we can see the force even better and watch it pushing itself into the Bay.

Into the bay it flows

WOW!! Hang tight to the railing we don't want to end up down there.

Ok @lyndsaybowes, let's keep going. You are doing so great! So much more to see as we head back to Seabright, This time on the water side. So much more to see.

We decide to get a little fancy and take some black and white shots .

Now I spy something through the trees. What is down there? Oh a beautiful sailboat.

One of my favorite things that man has ever created is a Sailboat. (That and chocolate), which you can eat on the Sailboat.

@lyndsaybowes is smiling at me. She knows I talk about Sailboats. A LOT!!!

Now this is neat. I wish we could rest our legs now and sit here and have a coffee. How fortunate that these fine people have such a lovely spot to rest.

We stop here for a moment as it is now getting hilly and take in another beautiful view.

OH MY GOSH!!! IT CAN'T BE...IT IS ANOTHER SAILBOAT. OH MY!!! I CAN HARDLY CONTAIN MYSELF

Now we really have to laugh as we are jogging along, as @lyndsaybowes and I are always trying to outdo each other in who can find the worst looking shack. What do you think? Does this one not take the prize?

A final peek down below as we head up the highway. We wont see the water again now. We sure enjoyed it. You can smell the salt.

Well that is it. @lyndsaybowes did awesome. A real champ. I hope she comes along again sometime.

I hope that you all enjoyed the virtual run with myself and @lyndsaybowes. Let me know if you would like to come along too.

Namaste

Sort:  

I hope it is alright @marionbowes I tagged along on your run ;)

That rushing river water is so wonderful. I love a river and its sound and white water.

You love sailing! Another thing we have in common. We used to have a 30 foot Morgan for years but sold it last year. I miss having it. As we live on the sea it is hard not having the boat again, but it was a lot of upkeep and we were getting busy with other things, but this Summer I think I'm going to get a small day sailor.

What type of boat do you have? I also love to eat chocolate anywhere, but I am being good with my no carbs so now I just annoy friends by asking to sniff their chocolate cake or sweets ;)

A wonderful virtual run I feel exhausted, I better sit down and rest with a hot cuppa , right.

I am so glad that you came. You are welcome to come along any time. In fact I am going to run there again today without taking pictures and just take in the sights. I love the sound of that river. I am trying to do no carbs too. I wrestle with that all the time. I always feel better for doing it and I love them all so much. Hee..I do not have a sailboat. I am a wannabe sailor. We had a motor boat once and we were avid water skiiers. Now we leave that to youth. I have friends who sail and well I tag along. I can also go to the local Marina, which is quite a huge place and have someone take me for 3 hours out on the bay and they bring lunch. Turns out ha ha, that sometimes its a neighbour. However, we have deep water mooring here on our cove and we own a deeded access to the ocean, so a boat is in order. I think though at this point in our lives it will be a cruiser that we can sleep on. That way we can cruise up and down the Nova Scotia coast. So glad you came by, I am just enjoying a cup myself now. BTW Massachusetts in now on my bucket list.

We'd love to have you at Toad Hall. Bring @lyndsaybowes and all her clan and make a weekend of it! Maybe we'll have a boat again and can take you out for a sail :)

My MIL has a cruiser here and in Florida. They used to have sailboats too, but now they jsut have the Trawlers, which are really nice. They are big enough to sleep on for sure and they stay on the vineyard for weeks at a time on their boat here. The one in FLorida is almost 50 feet, and very comfortable. We used to sail our 30 foot Morgan to the vineyard and it was comfortable enough to stay a week or so.

I loved waking up early and the mist would rise on the water, @winstonalden and the dogs would still be asleep and I'd creep out and make the coffee in our old perculator and have it alone on the deck listening to the gulls and the ringing of the can buoys. I love the water, being in, on , or near it. It feeds my soul for sure.

ah yes. that is why I love this Province so much. No matter where you go, you are never far away from water. Lakes, rivers, streams, ocean. Even if you drive Inland you dont have to travel far to get to water. I love to look at in, sit near it, hear it, see it, smell it. I love to walk and walk and walk on the beach. I also love the Sandpipers. They run sideways. so funny to watch. :)))

Nothing like peeking through the Bush 😎 I lovr boats too a friend of ours has a day cruiser so we will be able to take you around our coast when you get here 😎😎

I am sure the scenery and the view from the water would be outstanding .. a new camera is in order :))

Good thing I came along! I would hate to think of you running alone in the forest :)

well the forest was only a small part., and there was a doggie and two ladies. but yes. I am so glad you came:)))

It looked so different in there with all the leaves gone, way better views of the water I bet!

next time I will take you along in person :)))

Running allows me to set my mind free. Nothing seems impossible, nothing unattainable.
-Kara Goucher

Resteemed by @runningproject

Thanks for the wonderful tour, @marionbowes!

Pretty sure you have hung around this neck of the woods on the bike?

Not down your way exactly. My family had a camp on Boutiliers Point when in my single didgets. My mastery of bike riding happened over the summers there.

Fifty plus years later, the memory of pushing off with my bike from a boulder on the property and coasting down a grassy incline for the first time is still clear as a bell. 😎

Ah..so beautiful over there at Boutiliers. Almost purchased a home there. It was a toss up between that one and this one. I loved them both. That one was a bit larger and a nicer home in a sense, but this one has a beach and deep water mooring and a closer proximaty to the water.

Yes, such a beautiful area all along that coast. A bike tour, to your part of the coast, is on the agenda once summer rolls around; although this winter has been great for city biking.

I love going down the Aspatogan side of things...so beautiful ..down at Bayswater and such

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33