Some cool, quirky and beautiful sights from my day in Playa del Carmen, Mexico

in #walkwithme6 years ago

This is my favourite photo I took today... it sums up a lot of what I love about Mexico; simple, easy, self-sustaining, and the importance of family and religion.

We got out for a little walk today and wandered around some streets we hadn't been to before. It was one of those perfect days; a few fluffy white clouds, beautiful blue sky and hot!

From a distance, I thought this "post" was some kind of chimney or something...

but upon closer inspection, we realised it was a 'dead' palm or coconut tree that perhaps woodpeckers had gotten into; I just thought it looked really interesting!

Then we spotted this mural on the cement fence around a house. I wonder if Coca-Cola endorses this? :)

I think at one point it had been a restaurant?

I love how people here create, like this stone wall around a property...

Then, from a distance, we heard what we thought was crying and wondered if maybe this little kid was caught in a tree and dad was helping...

...but as we got closer, we could hear them laughing because the dad was setting the baby in the tree for fun, and the proud little brother, giggling, hand on hip :) It was very sweet, and as we passed, the father turned to us, grinning.

It really is a simple life here!

Like how a lot of people have their own chickens and roosters

Notice the shrine in the background; so beautiful!

The rooster really was as big as he looks here! He started to do a little cocky dance for me too, so I backed away slowly:)

Of course today is Valentine's Day, love is in the air, and the market in the park was in full swing, trying to sell all their Valentine's goods. There's my love, @briancourteau, eyeing them up! I was so happy that he felt up to getting out for a little walk!

Check out this tree in the park...

...and it's extensive root system!

No such thing as safety standards here! We did get lots of waves from these guys as they passed...well, I think I did :)

We passed this little house that had transformed their driveway into a sweet little courtyard...

Brian was getting tired, and wished we could have taken a break there!

Thank goodness, one of our favourite restaurants, Chiltepin, was right around the corner. Perfect place for a Valentine's drink, snack and dip in their pool! (He was checking on steemit:)

I think he pushed himself too much for me today, because he started to really feel sore and tired, but I really appreciated him doing that for me! We got home just in time to see this wondrous sight...

A perfect ending to a perfect day, spent with the guy I love !! Hope everyone had a wonderful day too. Cheers!


STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF.gif
Appreciator Footer.png

Sort:  

nice pic ,i up vote ,re steem and followed , i would to be strong like you.

Thank you @abudabor, I appreciate your support :) Welcome to steemit!

beautiful Lyn , we have roasters exactly same colors , the place looks like my country Philippines. God Bless you both

Thank you @grace44, I appreciate that...and you stopping by :)

Looks like you had a good Valentines day. Heck of a sunset there.

Thank you so much @thedarkhorse. Every evening I need to run outside to witness the sunset...they really are beautiful every night!

Looks like a great walk. Glad you two were able to get out and spend time walking together. Yay for good days!

Yay for good days is right!! I'm glad I made you smile and not cry with this post :) Thanks for stopping by!

Thanks, although it's ok to cry. It just means that something is significant or important to me. I've never been in your specific situation, but I've been in times that were like sun through the clouds and learned to appreciate those. I've also been in the never-ending suck and it's rough. My heart hurts for you. The best thing and only thing I can do is take that to Jesus. Still praying for healing for Brian's healing and peace for you!

Wow, I really don't know what to say except Thank you again, and I'm sending internet hugs your way. I have learned to appreciate the 'sunny' moments for sure; I've tried to enjoy all the little moments throughout my life, but right now, there seems to be a lot more significance to them. We appreciate your kind thoughts and prayers. There have been so many here sending them our way...who knows? Stranger things have happened for sure! Thank you again!

Really beautiful Valentine's day walk in Playa Del Carmen! Of course I loved the rooster and hen photos the most :) I also enjoyed watching the man and his children...reminds me so much of my own family <3 <3 People are really the same everywhere, good people everywhere who want to enjoy life with their loved ones.

Thanks for stopping by! And yes, people really are the same all over...and I have to believe they are all essentially good;) One of the things I love about this platform is being able to see that every day; the world is really a much smaller place with steemit ! :) Thanks again!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 05:40:23
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 110.67/200.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 23
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That's a good summary ... you get a good idea of ​​the area. I was in Mexico for a short time ... but that's how I remember it ... It's always nice to be able to celebrate something with someone you love. By the way .. I think your roosters photos are gorgeous. Especially the first photo. Absolutely gorgeous !!!

Thank you so much! If you liked those roosters, you should check out a post last month...I was out biking and out of no where, roosters and chickens were crossing the road. I was killing myself laughing.https://steemit.com/travel/@lynncoyle1/why-did-the-chicken-cross-the-road
Thanks for stopping by! I'd totally give you an upvote, but my voting power has dropped so low, I've got nothing to give! Cheers:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56519.24
ETH 2991.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16