Conscious Living in Playa del Carmen

in #walkwithme6 years ago

I went out today for a bike ride with the sole purpose of taking some photos of murals to share with everyone here. I did take a lot of them, but the first one was my favourite, and it got me thinking on an entirely different level altogether.

There was something so peaceful about her face here; the painting done so softly in shades of muted pastels. And just so you know, "Consciencia Viva" literally translates to "Living consciousness", or Conscious Living.

Being "conscious" means being fully aware of your surroundings, being in-tuned to everything, our environment, feelings and emotions, career, family, neighbourhood, friends, essentially our life. I have always lived this way, even before the idea of consciousness became a mainstream bandwagon for folks to jump on and tout their new enlightenment.

For me it always just is.

It's the little details in life that make it special; that piece of spaghetti stuck on your little one's face at dinner, the way the leaves blow on the trees in a gentle wind, the sun shining in the morning and setting in the evening, the moon, a friend's smile, a lover's kiss, the cute red house on the way to work, the recognition of a co-worker for a job well done...I could go on and on.

But what makes me really sad is that too many people have lost, or perhaps never had, the idea of being conscious. Sure they may live their life, but are they really living their life. Are they so busy and in a hurry all the time and simply focused on getting things done, that they miss out on the beauty in everyday things? Do they ever really process the emotions they're having? Do they notice their loved ones and spend quality time with them?

The other piece of this mural is an equally beautiful woman, who to me appears to be smirking.

Perhaps she senses that as a society, we are losing the human in humanity.

Perhaps she also senses that some of us are fighting to keep it there.

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF.gif
Appreciator Footer.png

Sort:  

I often wonder these things myself, but as the last pictures description states, some of us truly are fighting to keep the "human" in humanity. Such a beautiful writeup. Those murals are awesome! Peaceful!

Thanks so much @charisma777! I was having a 'down' day and saw things in the murals I don't think I'd normally think of...the little miss sunshine that I normally am haha

They are very peaceful, aren't they? Thanks for the kind comments as well :)

I am glad you shared them with us here! I know how it can be, just as long as you can keep finding the beauty in life, those down times, hopefully, life today, have and will turn into a more positive one! It's funny how our minds work, we are always on the go, we see things each day and notice, but don't give it time to really sink in, and I think the interpretations you have found in these paintings are exactly what you needed to see today. Again thank you for sharing. I hope your evening is going well!

Thanks again @charisma! I always notice them, but I interpret them differently depending on my mood :)
I appreciate you stopping by!

I only have two words for you:

Firstly it’s great that you’re out for a ride and the day looks amazing! Secondly how good is street art sometimes?! Much better than graffiti. Thirdly, yes, I am well aware that this is more than two words! 🤪🤯

hahaha I didn't want to say anything, but yes, your math is a bit off :)

The street art is awesome here! So many houses have ugly cement walls surrounding their property, so it's been a local movement to 'muralize' the place (I know that's not a word, but if you can make up your own math...). I've posted photos before and will continue to do so because there are just that many!

Thanks so much for stopping by; nice to see you !

Between my math and your english-language-innovation we could start a school!

So, I saw on one of your previous posts that you live in Mexico. I thought you guys were from the US but then I guess maybe you're there for work. I'd like to go there one day but with the way I look they may not let me back into the States to fly home to Australia. I'd have to fly into and out of Mexico directly. I love Mexican food though and look pretty damned good in a sombrero...

Keep posting the murals and your impressions and feelings on them also. You should do a series. Part one, Part two etc. and tell us how each one makes you feel and what you think the mural says to the world. That'd be cool.

That's a really good idea, thank you!

We are actually from Canada (Vancouver), but when Brian got sick, we sold everything and moved here to simply live. The food is awesome and I creeped at some of your old posts and saw your photo...you'd be very striking in a sombrero indeed, but yes, fly direct :)

and I creeped at some of your old posts and saw your photo...you'd be very striking in a sombrero indeed, but yes, fly direct :)

Bwahaha. Creep away! ;)

How's Brian going lately?

Thought you'd like that!

Brian has had some rough days lately, but hangin' in there. He's a lovely stubborn ol' goat. Thank you for asking though..that's very thoughtful!

Often when I walk, something we take for granted, I like to feel the movement of my legs left and right, left and right, and feel blessed of my ability to do this. I'm not sure why as I've never been injured before, but I just love that feeling.

That's really interesting, because tonight on my walk, I was feeling the exact same thing!! No kidding! It just seems like a miracle how our bodies move...I guess how our bodies do just about everything.

Thanks for stopping by! I'm happy to see you and hope all is well :)

Murals are definitely a better use of someone's energy and talents than straight up graffiti, especially since it's wanted, encouraged, and probably paid for :)

I think it's great that you can find the miracles or blessings in every day things. So much is happening around us that we take for granted or that we let science take the natural wonder out of.

No knock on science. We need it. It's just that we need to commune with our surroundings, too, even if it is the light pastels creating a face on a white stone wall.

Live every day consciously. Act, don't react, or be acted upon.

All kinds of messages here if one wishes to seek them.

I just noticed this but from the angle you took the second image, it looks like that palm frond forms the top of her head!

Thanks for the thoughtful response...as always @glenalbrethsen! Yes I agree about the graffiti for sure, although there's some beautiful graffiti here as well, but my artsy, if you know what I mean:)

The small, everyday miracles is what life is really about...agreed! Of course we need science, but it can totally coexist with it too.

Yes, the palm fronds:) Good eye...I was thinking the exact same thing!

Thanks again, cheers :)

It's important to be conscious of the world around us. It goes by really quickly and we can miss it in our hurrying about. @humanearl just posted an article with a video of sitting to appreciate the clouds. A lady stopped and asked if he was ok because she wasn't used to seeing people just "be."
Since you've been following me for a while, you know I like Boggle. One of my favorite times of the day is when my wife and I sit down to play 5-10 rounds of Boggle. There's something so freeing about having nothing else to do be be with her.

And your pictures were really nice too.

I love @humanearl; I'm going to have to check that out.

Thank you for the compliment on the photos too!

I love what you said about you and your wife playing Boggle. For Brian and I, it's Yatzhee :) So many people get caught up in doing nothing with their family, then planning a big, once a year trip somewhere, instead of just doing simple things like Boggle every day. It's really about the time spent together; the message that nothing else is as important as you...now give me a foot rub hahaha

This mural is great and so is your photography.

Think you are correct that fair to many people go through the motions each day and then all of a sudden they look back at their lives wondering where it went.

Thank you so much; I appreciate the compliment!

And that is so true. I always swore I would never be that person with regrets on how I didn't live my life. No one ever, on their death bed has said, "I wish I would have worked more"! :)

Thanks for stopping by!

No one ever, on their death bed has said, "I wish I would have worked more"! :)

Nor did they ever say "I wish I bought more crap to keep up with the neighbors". People tend to put SO much value on their crap until much later in life when they realize they can't take it with them.

So true! When Brian, my husband got sick, we sold everything and moved to Mexico. We both said how funny it is that you spend a lifetime accumulating and eventually realise it's all worthless.

As an aside, can you tell me how to place the quote in the comment like you just did in your reply? ( "No one ever, on their death..". ) Thanks!

Use > before whatever you want to have quoted. It has to touch the first letter of the text or it just shows up as a character.

** or __before and after text for bold ** But again it must touch the first and last letter of the words you want bold.

_ or * before and after text for italic and again it must always touch the first and last letter of the text you want to alter

an * at the start of a paragraph will turn it into a bullet point like this

  • bullet point

Want big text you can use < h1 > (spaces so you can see the coding) </ h1 >

what it looks like without the spaces inside the tag


like h1, but h2 is smaller

Sure I know more tricks, but those are the most common ones I use.

Perfect!! Most I'm aware of, but

this one was a puzzle to me

Geez I'm a quick study;)
Thank you again!!

You look at estate sales and see all the stuff that nobody in the family wanted and realize how much crap people accumulate in a lifetime. So much of it barely used. Kind of sad.

Guessing you now live a much more simple life, less focus on stuff and more on memories.

You said it! We came here at 50 years of age with a backpack each and one suitcase. I do have a storage locker at home with photos, and a few items that are irreplaceable and/or too sentimental to get rid of.

That's it!

And at one time we did each have a big house full of ...well you know...stuff. Life is simple here, and it's wonderful :) And the Mexicans do it right: family is #1, and everything else is a distant second. No huge houses filled with nonsense; the possessions they do have are necessities...and yes, it's partly due to money, or lack thereof, but it's their priorities that are so different compared to home.

Something to consider for the irreplaceable items. Take photos of each item and make a digital memory book of them. So many people have things in storage and then years later realize it got infested with mice and it's destroyed. At the very least get the photos now just in case of an infestation or water damage...2 very common issues.

Seriously a backpack and a suitcase sounds like a great way to go. Actually asked my Wife about just taking a couple years and homeschool the kids. Spend some time in Asia, Mexico, Costa Rica, Europe...just bounce around the world living in different places for a few months each.

Think that the kids would learn so much about history, cultures, and life in general. Think it would be so much fun.

A digital memory book is a good idea for sure!

And yes, the backpacks and suitcase were one of our better ideas. I always wished I'd done a travel education with my kids. I was a teacher for years, and I can tell you that they can always catch up at school, but what they learn from travelling would be immeasurable! And it would be piles of fun!

Wonderfully stated, @lynncoyle1! Here's to more people finding beauty in the little things.

Thanks @traciyork! I appreciate that. I've never understood how you can't!

          Congratulations you have been upvoted because you, or a friend left a post in the NewbieResteem Post promotion Box. Discord Chat channel post Promotion Box.

I love the artwork, and your thoughts on how they made you feel on viewing, and then on the write up. These are things that I never would have seen except for the generous time you took to share them with us.


                   

Clicking on the images will take you to "Newbie Resteem Initiative info" - Our Discord Channel - And abh12345's page

We invite you to use our tag (#newbieresteemday) to connect with more of our members. To learn more visit: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Lots of votes made possible due to the kindness of abh12345 and his Steemit Curation Leagues

Thank you so much for that @bashadow! I'm so happy you appreciate my thoughts and work!

And I like your new big promo box here..pretty awesome!

I came across the concept of living consciously and mindfully about a year back and as I slowly worked on it, it really changed my perspective about life for the better. My depression, my stress, my blues- all started to slowly vanish away. I feel so much better now and sometimes when I feel stressed, I just ask myself 'Am I living consciously?' and the answer then helps me understand that I am being forgetful of the present which is why I feel stressed.

Loved this post and the murals are simply beautiful. Maybe you can find the artist behind these and bring him/ her on Steemit?

sometimes when I feel stressed, I just ask myself 'Am I living consciously?' and the answer then helps me understand that I am being forgetful of the present which is why I feel stressed.

That is such a good idea! I'll have to remember that, because you're so right, when you start to wallow in negativity, you obviously aren't focusing on the right things...I love that idea, thank you :)

There are hundreds of murals around here to cover up all of the ugly cement walls surrounding properties. I think it was a city initiative a few years ago. Not being a fluent Spanish speaker, I don't even know where I'd start to find the artist, but you've got my wheels turning for sure!

Thank you so much for stopping by to read this. It's funny how we were both of the same kind of wavelength with our posts :)

Ooh my goodness....such happy colours, and images!! Thanks for sharing this beauty with us @lynncoyle1 :) xoxoxoxo

Thank you so much @lyndsaybowes! I'm glad you enjoyed it. There are so many different murals around here, I think I'll be making this an ongoing series of sorts. Thanks for stopping by ;)

Great, I look forward to seeing more of your beautiful neighbourhood!

And I'll be sure to snap some photos of the endless hens and roosters running the streets here haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.54
ETH 2521.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53