Walk With Me [2]: Audubon Christmas Bird Count - Roseburg-Sutherlin, Oregon - Part 2

Mushrooms, wildlife signs, scenic vistas, and a southern Oregon hiking hazard! Come with me to finish my walk -- up, up, up through the lichen-covered Oregon White Oaks!

I'm helping my sister identify and count every bird we see, as part of the Annual Audubon Christmas Bird Count. Her assigned area is near the Umpqua River, in the Roseburg-Sutherlin count area. Here's the first half of our day, with Black-tailed Deer, 3 different wild mushrooms for lunch, and more!

x bird count TN.jpg

Thanks to @lyndsaybowes for the #walkwithme tag!
Thanks to @ewkaw for the #fungi-friday tag!


Watch Out for the Poison Oak!

x bird count 16.jpg
This is where we left off. We're headed cross-country, up through the Oregon White Oak forest, toward Blacktail Ridge.

x bird count 17.jpg
It seems like easy traveling. But watch out! Do not walk through that thicket of stems! That's Poison Oak! It's the western version of Poison Ivy, that thrives in eastern North America. Most people will get a rash, and even blisters, from Poison Oak or Poison Ivy -- even the leafless stems in the winter!

x bird count 18.jpg
The leafless stems may seem hard to identify, but they're really not. In the winter, they have white seeds that hang down in clusters. And look at the tip of the stem. This is so typical of Poison Oak and Poison Ivy. That plant is flipping the bird! It's middle finger is raised and it is flipping you off -- with every single stem!


Mushrooms!

x bird count 19.jpg
Is it a Turkey Tail? Turkey Tails have little pores on the underside of their cap. These have ridges, like a maze! It's the Oak Mazegill - a sturdy brown rot bracket fungus. It loves oaks! It breaks down cellulose in the tree's heartwood, leaving only brown, blocky, punky chunks of lignin.

x bird count 20.jpg
The Oak Mazegill can take different forms. The ones on the oak branch were flat, like a typical bracket fungus. The ones on this cut stump barely made a shelf - they are mostly just the spore-bearing surface!


Scenic Vista!

x bird count 21.jpg
We can't look down for mushrooms all the time. This is a bird count, after all! Here's a good spot to turn around and look back where we came from. That big turn in the Umpqua River is called Whistler's Bend. The land inside the loop, on the other side of the river, is public land, too. If you want to walk with me over there sometime, let me know in the comments!


Tough Luck, Little Tree!

x bird count 22.jpg
Let's keep working our way up toward the ridge. We're moving into a more mixed woodland, with evergreen trees. Good luck to this little Ponderosa Pine - it's in a tough spot! See that dark strip of exposed soil right behind it? That's a deer trail. And one of the bucks has been rubbing his antlers on that little pine, breaking a branch and tearing off the bark! Good luck, little Ponderosa Pine!


Into the Madrones

x bird count 24.jpg
Not all evergreens are conifers! This stand of Pacific Madrone trees was thick with all kinds of fruit-loving birds -- Robins, Scrub Jays, Cedar Waxwings, Starlings. It was so loud with birds squawking and whistling and cawing! What are they after? Red berries, hanging in clusters so big you can see them even from this far distance!

x bird count 25.jpg
The madrone berries have been pretty well picked over on this tree. So many animals -- and people -- use madrone berries and other parts of the tree. It's an important part of the ecosystem along the west coast of North America!


Higher and Higher

x bird count 26.jpg
We're getting higher and higher along the ridge. We can even start to look down on some trees. Do you see what I see, there in the center? On the trunk of the fallen Oak tree? It is so tempting to go down there and look closer!

x bird count 27.jpg
Mushrooms! From this distance, they look like more of the Oak Mazegill bracket fungus. But I'm not going all that way downhill and then back up -- especially when there is a big thicket of Poison Oak to get past! And I've got birds to look for!

x bird count 28.jpg
Let's just keep heading up the ridge. Here's an oak tree that's way downhill. But we're in luck - one of its big branches is reaching all the way up to us on the edge of the slope.

x bird count 29.jpg
Moss, lichens, mushrooms! All the different forms of life on oak branches can look pretty fantastical! I think this looks like some drooling dragon-poodle. Leave me a funny caption to this picture in the comments -- and I'll choose my favorite for a 1 SBD prize!

x bird count 30.jpg
Were those Turkey Tail mushrooms on the oak branch? Check out their underside -- it's a smooth surface, like leather, with no pores. So that's no Turkey Tail. That's the False Turkey Tail, Stereum hirsutum. It's a white rot that's digesting all the lignin in the branches, leaving only the soft, white strips of cellulose.

x bird count 23.jpg
But fungi don't always take over every oak. As we're getting to the ridgeline, here's an oak that's still standing, long after it died. These dead standing oaks are so important to woodpeckers. This one has long, rectangular holes made by Pileated Woodpeckers, smaller round holes that could be from a lot of different woodpeckers, and groups of even smaller, shallow holes made by Acorn Woodpeckers to store their food - acorns from the oaks. I couldn't get any closer, because that tree is in the middle of a big Poison Oak patch!


On the Ridge

x bird count 31.jpg
Up here, this high, we get some big views. This country is perfect for Golden Eagles and other raptors. It was so cool to see one here. And a White-tailed Kite! Distances are deceptive at this large scale. Do you see the road, toward the bottom left of the picture? How about those white dots in the far valley, toward the center of the picture?

x bird count 32.jpg
That's a good flock of sheep over in that valley. Do you see the road now? Would you like to take that road up the valley and see what's around the corner?

x bird count 33.jpg
Looking the other direction, the light is all different! I really like the scraggly silhouette of Oregon White Oaks. And the clouds are rolling by, changing the light minute by minute. We better get down off the ridge before the clouds settle in here and the sun sets.


Heading In

x bird count 34.jpg
The sun is setting and we've got to hustle to report what birds we saw. Everyone meets for a big chili feed and lots of fun - and appreciation of the birds and beauty in this part of the world! My sister and I saw only 32 species this year, much lower than usual. But we saw some great ones. The Golden Eagle and White-tailed Kite were real highlights! It's a good thing we walked all the way up the ridge!


Thanks for walking with me!
Thanks to @lyndsaybowes for the #walkwithme tag!
Thanks to #ewkaw for the #fungi-friday tag!
I hope you will join me again for another walk sometime!


Plant and Animal List

  • Oak Mazegill mushroom - Daedalea quercina
  • False Turkey Tail mushroom - Stereum hirsutum
  • Ponderosa Pine - Pinus ponderosa
  • Pacific Madrone - Arbutus menziesii
  • Poison Oak - Toxicodendron diversilobum
  • Poison Ivy - Toxicodendron radicans
  • Robin - Turdus migratorius
  • California Scrub Jay - Aphelocoma californica
  • Common Starling - Sturnus vulgaris
  • Cedar Waxwing - Bombycilla cedrorum
  • Golden Eagle - Aquila chrysaetos
  • Pileated Woodpecker - Hylatomus pileatus
  • Acorn Woodpecker - Melanerpes formicivorus
  • White-tailed Kite - Elanus leucurus

Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

Good places @haphazard-hstead! Thank you for sharing! I feel like the energy of the earth!

Thanks, @olga.maslievich! Our rain in the winter does make the earth come alive -- even when the leaves are off the trees. Thanks for taking a walk with me!

This is a place I can only dream of owning. Thanks for sharing your little piece of heaven.

I'm glad you enjoyed your walk with me, @gardengirlcanada. I could never own this place by myself, either. So that's why I'm glad it's all public land -- we all own it!

The walk is just fabulous and amazing with so much delight and energy. Whistler's Bend is truly majestic with wonderful view. Steem on!

Thanks, @cheema1! Glad you enjoyed your walk with me! : )

Holy crap what a view just everything. I never considered Oregon as a location I would actually would like (not at all meant disrespectful) but these kind of shots make me think totally different about it.

So all of this was just in a morning hike??

This was in an afternoon -- after lunch. The morning is in this post. There are so many neat things to see out in nature, that's for sure! Oregon has a lot of beautiful country! Thanks for taking a walk with me!

What a hike great stunning views and shots too, I want to come on the next one can we go Whistler's Bend please!

Alpacas bed hair !

Haha -- good caption with the Alpaca, @vibeof100monkeys! I'll head to Whistler's Bend sometime this winter, so stay tuned! :D I'll have to coordinate with my sister, since she lives very near there, and will want to come along, too!

Looking forward to it :) 💯🐒

Congratulations! Your funny caption "Alpacas bed hair!" is the winner of my 1 SBD prize! Thanks for coming along on my walk in Oregon. Check your wallet! :D

Great many thanks! Cracking walk hope to join you for more :) 💯🐒

This is a phenomenal post! Thank you for sharing so much information. Oregon looks like a mystical place.

I'm glad you enjoyed my Oregon walk, @ameliabartlett! Oregon has so many wonderful places, that's for sure! And nature is full of interesting things to get to know. I hope you are enjoying some nature in your area!

What lovely country in the PNW! I love seeing that moss!

I like all that moss and lichen, too. So many different things come to life in the winter here. Mushrooms, too, lol.

I did a post about a challenge that is just made for you then...Moss and lichen pics for art!!!
https://steemit.com/treetuesday/@old-guy-photos/time-for-tree-tuesday-and-mundane-art

Thanks for pointing out that post. I liked all your pictures!

Beautiful views.

Thanks, @shady! I'm fortunate to live near such a pretty area! I hope you are enjoying nature, too, this winter! Thanks for the resteem, too!

That looks like a great hike. I've never recorded everything like that on a hike. I might give it a try.

It was a great hike, alright! I'm glad it's public land because there is a lot of wildlife and those great views. Thanks for talking a walk with me! :D

Oh! I love Cedar Waxwings! Nice post!

I like them, too -- unless they are stripping my cherry tree or grape vines of fruit, lol! I really like their high-pitched calls to each other. It's so distinctive. Thanks for walking with me! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87