Walk With Me [2]: Audubon Christmas Bird Count - Roseburg-Sutherlin, Oregon - Part 1

in #walkwithme7 years ago (edited)

Southern Oregon is big country. My task? To identify and count every bird I see, all day long! But there's more to see than birds! Come along, walk with me!

x bird count TN.jpg


A Foggy Start in a Foggy Place

Why am I identifying and counting every bird I see? I'm helping out with the Audubon Christmas Bird Count, held in the winter, every year, all around the world. I mentioned it last year. Back then, my sister came to help me out in my designated count area and I fed her Black-eyed Peas with Wild Field Mustard. This winter, in mid-December, I'm helping her in her assigned area in southern Oregon, along the Umpqua River.

x bird count 1.jpg
We met in the morning, right as the day became light enough to actually see birds. The count was on my birthday, so my sister brought me a donut cake! I don't think it took her long to make, lol. But it was a hit!

x bird count 2.jpg
This photo gives you an idea of the lay of the land. It's hilly! The grass greens up in the winter rain and fog. Even though the trees have lost their leaves for the winter, they are covered in lichens - making them look all scraggly!


Stop, Look, and Listen

We have a lot of area to cover. So for part of the day, we drive, stopping often to get out of the car, to listen for bird activity and look in the bushes and trees. What do we see?

x bird count 6.jpg
These Black-tailed Deer - a subspecies of Mule Deer - were bedded down on the hillside. They did not want to get up and move - at all! They were so still we thought they were decoys put out by the Game and Fish Commission to catch poachers hunting illegally. But with my binoculars, I could see the big buck on the left blinking! Eventually they got up and moved uphill.

x bird count 7.jpg
Our goal is to identify and count every bird we see, all day long. Sometimes the birds cooperate -- other times they don't! They can be too far away. They hide behind branches and brush. And the light can be poor, especially on a gray winter day! How many birds do you see in this big Poison Oak bush? Can you tell what they are?

x bird count 8.jpg
Did you see all 6 birds? The two with the rusty orange sides are Spotted Towhees. The rest are Dark-eyed Juncos.


Looking Close

Even though the birds are usually at a distance, there are so many interesting things to see up close, too.

x bird count 5.jpg
It's always a surprise to see vigorous, healthy mushrooms in the winter. Some mushrooms don't seem to mind freezing weather, as long as they can thaw out a bit - and if there's plenty of rain! These mushrooms were on a nearly vertical exposed slope -- so no getting up close to verify what they are!

x bird count 3.jpg
Most of the deciduous trees on the open hillslopes are Oregon White Oaks. They have so much lichen on them! Lichens are fascinating! They are two different life forms, living as one -- an algae inside of a fungus. Sometimes, there's a third life form in there -- a cyanobacteria. Together, they can thrive in difficult conditions, where they couldn't live alone.

x bird count 4.jpg
In the summer the lichen shrinks up and the algae takes most of the food. But in the winter, with the rains, the fungi partner thrives. It expands and grows and can cover entire limbs. When the weather is foggy, lichens scavenge a lot of water, nutrients -- and pollution -- from the air!

x bird count 9.jpg
Mosses thrive in the fog and winter rains, too! This fencepost is supporting a moss and at least 3 different lichens. Over 1000 kinds of lichens have been identified in the Pacific Northwest, and I'm just starting to learn some of them. I have a long way to go!


Signs of the Time

Mushrooms, and lush lichens and moss are natural signs of winter in western Oregon. But we found other signs, too - of Christmas!

x bird count 10.jpg
Hahaha - see that little stump near the center of the picture? Someone pulled over to the side of the road and cut themselves a Christmas tree! It's hard to get too upset about it. There are so many little evergreens sprouting up right next to the roads. And the road crew is certain to cut them down before they get too big. So at least that little tree was appreciated by someone, somewhere, for a few days!

x bird count 11.jpg
You have to appreciate this family's effort, putting up a giant Santa decoration, even though it's barely visible to anyone else! We only saw it because we walked to the end of the public road, that led to 2 houses tucked into the woods.


Lunch Break!

x bird count 12.jpg
This is such pretty country! This former ranch, right along the Umpqua River, is now a big area of public land where people can ride horses, hike, or mountain bike. It's a great area for finding birds! But first, we're stopping here for a quick picnic lunch.

x bird count 13.jpg
We may spend all day out looking for birds, but a bird-watching group has to eat, too! This year, I made soup from homegrown potatoes and onions, with wild field mustard, wild Yellowfoot mushrooms, and smoked bacon. That hit the spot on this cold, cloudy day!

x bird count 14.jpg
What's for dessert? Wild mushrooms! Yes, candied Cat's Tongue and Witches Butter mushrooms. I boil them in a lime sugar syrup and then dehydrate them. They turn into a wild version of Gummy Bears! So good!


Headed Uphill Through the Oaks

x bird count 15.jpg
After lunch, we're heading up toward Blacktail Ridge. We could take one of the trails. But no, not this time.

x bird count 16.jpg
We're headed cross-country, up through the Oregon White Oak forest.


Thanks for Walking With Me

There are so many neat things to see, hiking up through the oaks. Views of the spectacular landscape, signs of wildlife, and mushrooms, of course! But that will be in Part 2. Until then, I hope you enjoyed spending time on your walk with me! Thanks for coming along!

And thanks to @lyndsaybowes for the #walkwithme tag!

  • Have you ever gone bird-watching?
  • Have you heard of the Audubon Christmas Bird Count before?
  • Do you have moss or lichens growing in your area?
  • Would you eat my mushroom soup or mushroom gummy bears?

Plant and Animal List

  • Blacktailed Deer - Odocoileus hemionus columbianus
  • Poison Oak - Toxicodendron diversilobum
  • Spotted Towhee - Pipilo maculatus
  • Dark-eyed Juno - Junco hyemalis
  • Wild Field Mustard - Brassica rapa
  • Cat's Tongue mushrooms - Pseudohydnum gelatinosum
  • Yellowfoot mushrooms - Craterellus tubaeformis
  • Witches Butter mushrooms - Dacrymyces chrysospermus
  • Oregon White Oak - Quercus garryana

Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

What a fabulous experience @haphazard-hstead I've never done any official bird watching with groups but I do plenty of sole bird watching ventures for photography purposes. Those landscape pictures are amazing. I really enjoyed reading this informative and interesting blog.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

Ooh thank you @rewardpoolrape That is so kind.

I'm glad you enjoyed my walk, @trudeehunter! Even if there weren't many bird photos in it, lol. It's big country here -- we saw Bald Eagles and a Golden Eagle, too. The Golden Eagles really like the big spaces. I'll be posting the rest of the walk this week, so I hope to see you again, to walk with me!

I certainly did @haphazard-hstead and would love to join you on another foray into the forest. It must be so exciting to see Bald Eagles and Golden Eagles in their natural habitat. See you later on in the week.

It's always a surprise to see such big birds.

Love that you do the bird count! Thank you. Its such an important bit of research. And it appears that you have a great place to do it! Beautiful photos!

This area really is gorgeous! Some years it rains all day long and we don't see much. But that's part of the Count process. Over the years, it does show how some kinds of birds are going through changes. Just like many parts of North America, we see more and more wild turkeys every year. And thousands of Robins. It's crazy how many Robins we see!

I have felt that the bird numbers at my feeder were down drastically, and had that confirmed by a man who runs a bird banding station 30 miles from here. He said numbers this year were down 30%. Hoping for a good season this year!

That's too bad, @melinda010100. It's nice that you have a bird feeder. Birds are so interesting to watch. They are so lively! We don't have the cardinals or blue jays here in Oregon, so I hope you are enjoying some at your feeder! They are so colorful!

I just took some cardinal photos this morning. Will post soon.

I better go check! It's hard to keep up with everyone, so I'm glad you let me know, @melinda010100! Keep those birds happy! :D

Very cool walk. The birthday cake had a unique design. Very creative! . The countryside there is quite pretty and lush for this time of year. It surprised me about all of the lichen. Thanks for the walk.🐓🐓

Thanks, @mother2chicks! It's funny how this southern Oregon landscape can look more alive in the winter, when the leaves are gone - compared to the dry summer, when the grass is all dead and brown, and the trees are just holding on until the fall and winter rains. I don't think I will be able to learn all 1000 species of lichen, lol. ; )

Ah! I very much enjoyed walking with you, again! There are many things to see indeed!

I haven't ever gone bird-watching, but bird is one of my favorite animals.... It's great that you can observe those birds and can tell the kinds of the birds. Good! Um! At first, I can count only 4 birds.... It's unbelievable that you can see 6 birds in the brush. I like the deer, too! Oregon White Oak forest is very amazing. These are good places for relaxing indeed.

I don't think we have moss or lichens like these growing in my area....

Yes, I would like to taste your mushroom soup or mushroom gummy bears, for sure! These look very yummy! ;)

I know you would like those mushroom gummy bears, @tangmo! It's harder to see the birds in a photo, maybe, than in real life. I'm glad you could see some of them at first look. The Oregon White Oak forest is a nice place! So much of nature is nice, lol! There are not many areas in the world that have as much moss or lichens as the Pacific Northwest, like here in Oregon! Our winter rain is the key. It's a good thing that I like rain! ; )

Yes, I know you know me well, as always! ;))

It's very great forest that I would love to visit! You are so lucky living nearby the area! ;)

Looking beautiful tree photography?? Dear @haphazard-hstead
DQmTp6BxAjXT17EyY9PuNQMMpUdBZjcz3Sp5Ea5LX6hT2zb.jpeg

To me, that is beautiful! Those white oaks may not grow straight, but I like their wild look. Those white oaks are so important to the wildlife. And I like to eat their acorns, too! There are some interesting mushrooms up in those woods, too! I'll show some of those mushrooms on the next part of my walk. Hope to see you there!

Ok dear @haphazard-hstead see you lettar???

Beautiful view and foods look yummy 😋😊

You're so lucky!! Thats a beautiful place and i want a bite of those donuts too!

Haaaaaappy birthday tooo yoooooou!!🎉🍰

Thanks, @blacklux! I think you better show your friends and family that donut cake, and drop hints for your birthday! ; )

Wow you found birds in that bush or shrub, good eye man. You have a breath taking landscape. Newer to STEEMIT now following

Welcome to Steemit! It is a pretty area. I'm glad I had binoculars to find the birds. It sure helps, lol.

Wowwww what a beautiful and informative walk, those deer were beautiful, how lucky to have seen them. That cake, man, why haven't I thought of that before hahaha?? That's all I can think of...do you think my kids would let me get away with that?

This was a magazine photo!! Magnificent!!

If your kids got their own personal donut cake for their birthday, I bet you wouldn't get too many complaints! Except from everyone else, lol. This is a pretty area, alright! It was a hard day for getting good photos -- so much shifting light between fog and bright sun. I'm glad this shot turned out. I better get the next part of my walk finished, so we can go up and see this spot from a higher elevation. ; )

Oooh yes!! I'm so excited!!!

Awesome walk.. I miss Oregon.. I used to live in Riddle we floated the Umpqua many times.. legend

Dairy

Thanks, @davedickeyyall. So you know this Southern Oregon country well! I'm glad you enjoyed the Umpqua so much.

I'll be back.. looking to buy property near Klamath this summer

It's pretty country down near Klamath, too! There is some good birding down there, for sure! Good luck in your property hunt!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77