Walk With Me To Check On The Wise Elders

in #walkwithme6 years ago

Hold up!

👡👡



Those shoes will never do, you will need boots for this one. We are going all the way down below, then all the way to the top of that property to see if the old apple trees survived the winter. They are pretty amazing. They are at the top of a knoll, the nearest creek is several hundred yards away and at least 30 feet lower elevation. They get no water all summer long as we have absolutely no reasonable way of getting water up there, but they don't seem to need it. Our land has several clay layers to it and these old apple orchard survivors have managed to sink some roots into the underground mini-aquifers the clay allows to form. They survived the collapse of the apple orchards. They survived the wheat farmers that came next. They survived the cattle rancher who begged for grazing rights from the previous owner. At last David capitulated and let the old man move his cows on. A call comes a few days later that the old guy was cutting down apple trees on David's land. David was furious, the old guy's explanation was "Cows don't like them."

Spoiler Alert! They Are Alive!

20180423_151043.jpg
(All photos taken today with my Samsung Galaxy cell phone in the howling wind!)

Can you imagine? Cutting down hundred years old trees on someone else's property without even thinking to ask?! Especially after you had been told "No" to grazing several times and hounded the man to be allowed to put cows there? This is a funny little town, one family once owned all this land and they lost most of it. That is the family, so I think they may have a little residual "ownership" attitude that is not really justified at this point. Lets head on down the hill!

The tulips are walking on down the hillside, following the snowdrops.

20180423_145339.jpg


This section of fence is decorative... luckily. This area we do not graze, it is the lowest spot on the land and we try to make it wildlife friendly.

Makes a handy place to step over rather than go around at least!

20180423_145848.jpg


This little corner is just crawling with wild leeks. It cracks me up when I see what they get for them in the grocery store, they are WEEDS down here!

If you have leeky dreams, have I got a field for you!

20180423_150053.jpg


We need to keep an eye out for asparagus. The first shoot of the season was spotted by my husband on his chore run yesterday! It is really interesting how much food is on this land, just naturalized, considering it is high desert. Life is tenacious. Well, the asparagus patches are not producing yet down here, so lets gather what we find.

No asparagus yet, but yarrow at the base of the old stalks!

20180423_150536.jpg

A reminder of how tough life can be out here. I am not an expert at these types of things, not sure what animal this was or what may have gotten it, but... I am reminded of hard news I got last night. A friend of my husband and mine from high school just lost her beloved husband. She and I were not close, but we have a mutual close friend and stayed in loose contact through her. What I had noticed was how happy she looked in her photos with him. When I knew her she was very pretty but always so guarded she almost had a fierce look to her. He erased that look, and I ache for her loss. Life is so fragile, remember to be gentle with the people you love.

RIP

20180423_150842.jpg


LOOK AT THAT!!! Oh wait, it is not. I thought for a minute the camas I have been calling for two years was here at last, wrong bud though. It was on the neighbor's place last year and it had to come from the other side of the hill. I mean, how fast can you expect a plant to walk, right? Although the more I look at it, the more I am not sure. I will have to go check again in a few days when it blooms.

It was a cheap momentary thrill, but not camas. Or maybe it is...? CLIFFHANGER!

20180423_150926.jpg

OK we are finally back where we visually started! I wanted the trees to be the thumbnail so they got put at the top of the post. Chronologically, they should go here. We will have to get by with this photo of one of these staunch trees that has weathered so many tribulations! Look at this trunk, nearly empty, but the tree is about to bloom anyway.

Fairy home if I ever saw one.

20180423_151112.jpg


Looks like dwarves moved in here.

20180423_151251.jpg

The white house in upper / center frame - that is where we started. Pretty good hike already and we still have to go back! That is Council Mountain on the right side.

Do you smell smoke?

20180423_151358.jpg

They are doing "controlled burns." They do them every year. That is what they call it when they go out and start a fire to reduce the fuel load and thus the risk of wildfires. That is what they call them until they lose control of it and they burn adjoining ranches like the Hammonds. Don't you DARE try to light your own backfire to save your property or you will go to prison as a domestic terrorist. DWIGHT AND STEVEN HAMMOND. Look into it, please. That is NOT fiction, that is reality out here. (And in case you forgot, I did mention the wind here is HOWLING. Has been for 2 days.)

Relax! The government says this is under control. What could possibly go wrong?

20180423_151425.jpg

Oh, yes... look who is back! Thank you, my sweet sage plant! This lovely grows wild all around here but this is the only plant on my land. I do harvest a bit every year for my smudge.

Blessed by sacred plants!

20180423_152517.jpg

That is a TINY moth! I click away, hoping the cell phone gets a halfway decent shot! Such a pretty little thing!

Got the shot! And it turns out he was having lunch with an even tinier friend!

20180423_153108.jpg


Don't you love it when your own pictures hold surprises for you?

20180423_153115 (2).jpg


Almost back now! Lets go check on that old cherry tree. I have been saying I thought everything got frozen, but @warpedweaver has been holding the faith. She appears justified!

Blurry pic from the wind, but I think those are blooms!

20180423_154552.jpg

Home again, lets have one last look across that gorgeous view before we head inside!

20180423_154526.jpg


Lets get the harvest on trays. The air here is dry enough that I won't even turn the dehydrator on. The sage, as noted, is for smudge and the yarrow I will dry out and crush for using on cuts. I use dry in a pinch for stings, but I prefer to grab some fresh for that when possible. It grows everywhere around here so it is usually possible.

The combined aroma is heavenly!

20180423_154952.jpg

That was a long and long winded walk lol! Thank you for keeping me company and may your every step be blessed!

www.kizoa.com_collage_2018-04-10_08-31-59.jpg

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Awesome #walkwithme Sis! The tulips made me so happy, and that the apple trees have survived so much...I loved that story!

Thanks for including in the Hammonds story, that's exactly what was going through my mind when I started reading about the burning!! You rock Beautiful xoxo

💖
As I wrote this, I promised myself that the first person to mention the Hammonds would get my lame little full upvote and a tip! That shit went down too close to home, Ammon Bundy lives about 60 miles from here. I have a friend in prison over a set up / take down due to his participation at Malheur. It is very real for us.
Delighted to give that "bonus" to you awesome lady!!

Thanks Fishy, it's a terrible overreach of power, and watching people defending that SHIT had my blood boiling the whole time, all of the lies just killed me!

Hi @lyndsaybowes! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @fishyculture!

@tipU is looking for SP delegators: pays out 100% of profit to all investors - more info here.

Thanks for taking us along on your walk. I really enjoyed it. I loved the gnarly old apple tree.It has a lot of character. Glad the cherries didn't get totally frozen out. Love the wild leeks, sage and yarrow. Too bad no asparagus yet. You certainly have some beautiful scenery around you.

Thanks for coming along! It is gorgeous around here, but truly I have not found an ugly place on earth yet (unless it is a man-made eyesore!)

I took my grand kids to the park today, they took down some huge old trees that were dying, the centers were hollow, my grand kids sat in them, one of tree trunks all five kids fit inside of. The inside had tons of burrows through out them...makes you wonder what kind of ecosystem it took to hollow such a huge tree out. I got some fantastic unusual pictures of them inside though.

That sounds very cool! Are you going to post those? I understand if the answer is no, I try to only post pictures of the back of their heads lol!

I posted one article with them in it but for the most part they were looking sideways or down so you couldn't see them straight on. Who knows what people will copy and write on pics....don't want them to grow up and find themselves forever a famous meme...lol.

Lol! EXACTLY! I have these adorable pics from last summer. We set the girls out with a picnic table to fingerpaint on and a kiddie pool to splash in. They were all in swimsuits when they went out, but within about 10 minutes they were all butt-nekked fingerpainting... I cannot ever let those anywhere near the internet but one day they will have weddings... hehehe...

You're on some nice land with an abundance of nature :)

We do love this place especially this time of year, but it is kinda' rugged living!

I won? Thank you very much, I'm honored. I had given up hope but just saw your transfer. Hugs :)

Thanks for your friendship and support!

I take 10 minutes to read and watch these wonderful pictures...
How long did you take to walk? Hah
Yes, Life is so fragile, We don't have to destroy it with hatred and hate.
Thank you @fishyculture for sharing this with us

Lol! It took about an hour up and back, at a casual pace. Then it took almost three hours to put the post together! Thank you for reading it!

Thank you for the wonderful walk! It's so great that you have all those things at your fingertips. That sage plant is huge!! Mine is so puny. Haha!

The culinary sage plant is barely poking up, this is the local, wild stuff if that makes you feel better lol!

Beautiful walk @fishyculture!! So glad to join you. The blossom buds were my fave. So much good stuff in here. I really enjoy reading your stories. You are an awesome story teller. The fairies! And, dwarfs! Such a cool tree. So worthy of documentary. Peace friend 💜💙💚💛❤

Thank you for walking along! For this story, and this whole steemit stroll!💖💖

Thank you @fishyculture . Beautiful land and great photos.
That 2nd photo is really interesting to me for some reason. So cool.

Again, thank you for sharing :)

Thank you for the lovely walk and for taking your camera along. I should try that around our yard, but I'm already exhausted from accompanying you on your walk. :-)) But, I did enjoy the stroll and look forward to others. Thanks again.

We are going cross country in a couple weeks, I am hoping to do some "on the road" walks - those should be fun!

Nice photos, particularly that first one with the tree and that last landscape you have in there. I love all the green color and the mountains in the background!

Spring has finally arrived in Minnesota, but she took her time this year...

Yeah, we got several false starts this year but I think we are there at last!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56125.76
ETH 2526.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27