OMG its a Snow Day!

in #walkwithme6 years ago

Yesterday in Scotland, for the first time in nearly 10 years, I HAD A SNOW DAY. SWEET.


20180301-IMG_6748.jpg

Basically the weather service put out a weather warning so severe they believed it was a severe risk to human life. So my employer closed up shop yesterday and told us all to stay home.

What do you do when severe weather is threatening your life? Well you button down the hatches, bundle up and ride out the storm in the comfort of your home. So naturally I grabbed my camera and went out for a walk! What better time is there to get some nice photos than when its been snowing. I find that a place is transformed by snow and at least hear you rarely get to see that.

Before heading out one must of course assess the conditions.


20180301-IMG_6697.jpg

hmmm.. results are inconclusive. Better just go outside and see for myself.


IMG_9931.JPG

Well its cold and the snow is coming down heavy but i don't feel like its life threatening. Well... onwards!


IMG_9932.JPG

It seems someone decided to make a snowman in the middle of a roundabout in town. The scots have a great sense of humour!


IMG_9907.JPG

I love the symmetrical pattern of tyre tracks in the road here.. of course this was before all public transport shut down.


IMG_9908.JPG

The weather was a bit schizophrenic. The snow would come and go all day long. As is typical in Scotland, the nature of the weather here is always unpredictable.


20180228-IMG_6678.jpg

I thought I'd start in the neighbourhood and go to my local park thinking it would be devoid of human life, but it turned out to have a lot of dog walkers all over the place.. and the dogs loved it.


20180228-IMG_6671.jpg


20180228-IMG_6684.jpg


20180228-IMG_6686.jpg


20180228-IMG_6690.jpg

I felt it was a good moment to take an 'artsy' photo of an empty bench. People like empty benches right?


20180228-IMG_6673.jpg

The snow is perfect! Its dry and powdery and I love the way it sounds when you walk on it. Its perfect for skiing and now I wish I had some skis!


20180301-IMG_6703.jpg

Next I headed down to a part of town called the shore.. although there isnt a beach, there is this river... which was totally frozen over.


20180301-IMG_6709.jpg

Brown ice... ick.


20180301-IMG_6719.jpg


20180301-IMG_6721.jpg


20180301-IMG_6723.jpg

This is Cruz. A restaurant on a boat.. I've heard good things but have actually never seen it open myself!


20180301-IMG_6724.jpg


20180301-IMG_6727.jpg


20180301-IMG_6730.jpg

Ah the phoenix bar.. which funnily enough burned down a few years ago and was (as the name suggests) rebuilt from the ashes. How appropriate.


20180301-IMG_6733.jpg


20180301-IMG_6734.jpg

I love a lot of the old architecture and quaint designs of the homes here in Edinburgh.. and in the snow it just looks like a story book.


IMG_9938.JPG

And so the snow storm picks up again .. and rather heavily too.. Its at this point where I decided that actually.. walking through the snow is getting a little tiring and the weather is turning.. So I turn around and head home..


20180301-IMG_6739.jpg

A quick snap of another park as I head home..


20180301-IMG_6751.jpg

Just look at how pretty this place is! You know.. I wish I had a sled.. I'd go to that hill you can just see behind and between the buildings..

Its been a lovely day despite the extreme weather .. made extra special by the fact that my work was closed and I got to have a snow day. Aside from recent travels, I haven't actually had much of chance to go out with my camera and do some shooting.

But you know there is one thing that is better than a snow day.... and thats a SECOND snow day! Woo hoo! That's right, after I got home there was another message from work stating that due to ongoing severe weather they'd stay closed a second day.

So I may go out again to do some more shots, as it turns out I need some practice because snow really screws with your exposure when the sun comes out and reflects off it! But in the mean time I will end this blog with a snowday selfie. Have a great day everyone!


IMG_9940.JPG
A Snowday Selfie


Shot with Canon 5D MKII with Carl ZEISS Planar T* 50mm F/1.4 (and some shot with an iPhone 7).


!steemitworldmap 55.964709 lat -3.177136 long OMG its a Snow Day! D3SCR


image
Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem

Sort:  

very beautiful photos!!!!

Hi! A little late but of you wonder where the votes came from...

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation 203!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


@ocd now has a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!


Thanks @elteamgordo this was a wonderful surprise :) I have followed @ocd for quite some time and you have my vote for witness also :) Thank you for letting me know of this, have a wonderful weekend!

I know you guys are cold but damn! I’m seeing so much great dynamic weather photography. Is that selfish of me? Probably. Loving your work. Especially ♥️ The ⛄️. Resteeming.

Not selfish at all! :) We are cold.. but usually up here its not cold enough for snow.. here in the city we rarely get snow .. so to see it under a good 10cm of snow is just unheard of. I love how the snow transforms a place the way it does.. its just so beautiful. thank you for the resteem :)

So, the beast from the east hit you. 😊 Looks nice, covered in snow.

Yeah it got us good.. don't think I've ever seen so much snow here :) it's lovely l, though a nightmare to walk through.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=fiftysixnorth
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=omg-its-a-snow-day


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 1 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

A good time to have the streets pretty much to yourself
Looks beautiful out there

Oh for sure, it was wonderful but I had forgotten how tiring walking in snow can be :)

Ohh yes I missed that this year haven’t taken many walks or photos in the snow this year

I can see why.. its pretty exhausting .. i think if we had snowfall like this every year I probably wouldn't either :)

You framed snowfall in a lot of photos.Really amazing photoshoot.

Thanks! Yes I tried to capture just how wild the snowfall was during the day :)

That is the way to enjoy a snow day. Have a good second day.
Love

Thank you :) I did indeed have a good second day.

You do live in such a beautiful place.
Love

Yes, I am lucky in that :) (i would prefer somewhere warmer though!)

It is finally starting to warm up here in mid USA. I am glad to have seasons that change. Summer is just never long enough. Winter is always here to long. So I just try to enjoy each season while it is here.
Love

Ah yes, I love seasonal change too. When I lived in Indonesia it was the one thing I really missed.. it was 30 degrees all year round there because we were on the equator.. no seasons.. technically it is the endless summer. Its quaint for a while but then you get tired of it an crave some change in the weather! :)

I agree changes in weather are nice.
Love

It looks like you had quite an adventure! I love your photos, and was lovely to see Edinburgh in photos. Well done! I'm resteeming this.
That snowman needs a 🎩 😃

Thank so much for the resteem :) I'm glad you enjoyed the photos, and I quite agree.. that snowman needs a hat! Sadly there were none available at the time, and given the weather no one was really willing to donate their own ;)

My pleasure, I'm always happy to see new places. This way I can travel a bit even if it is just virtual 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3398.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50