Nonconformist.

in #wafrica6 years ago

image
Image Credit

Your skin doesn't look perfect they say, but I give deaf ears to that.

Your skin needs to be lightened up they say, but I wave it off. Am comfortable in my skin and my flaws are beautiful to me because it's nature.

You need to act more like a modern girl and not a traditionalist they say, but I act like I don't get there message.

You need to start behaving like a real girl that you are, they say but I laugh at them because of what gender has done to their way if thinking and reasoning.

You need to give your life to christ fully, they say but I look at them in the eyes and reply "am not religious rather am spiritual. Am not tied down by some religion that you guys don't know what it truely implies".

You need to attend church activities they say, but I tell them I don't a place to go before I can connect with my God because his everywhere.

You need to stop behaving that way because you won't see a man to marry you. They say, but I tell them I don't see marriage as an accomplishment. I don't need to act like a Cinderella and wait for a prince to come pick me because am a boss if my own. I don't need a man to controll me and I won't give in to the pressure of marriage. If I want to get married, I will but if I don't then I won't all because the society wants and expect me to do so.

I love melanin and I won't bleach for anything. I don't comfirm to gender, rather I see myself as a human and not a woman because answering a woman limits me from certain things I love to do and want to do all due to my sex organ that wasn't planted by me. I continue to fight for what I know is right and not because everyone is doing so.

I remembered been happy when puberty hadn't hit me. Back then I ran, with no shirt on, I did what I want. But immediately puberty hits in, things changed. I had to act in a certain way, behave in a certain way, dress in a certain way all due to gender.
But now bye to all those because those don't define who I am.

I'm an African
I'm genderless
Am a nonconformist
Sort:  

Huh. This is touching. The part of bleaching touch me deep. You are right, you don't need to bleach or lighten your skin just to look beautiful or attractive. Black is beautiful and black should be respected. You were wonderfully created with a wonderful skin colour on your body. Everybody is beautiful and handsome whether black or fair.

Sure, thanks for stopping by..

Hi @uche-nna!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.284 which ranks you at #8049 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 8055).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 240 contributions, your post is ranked at #177.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @uche-nna! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week
You received more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82