Diving Into VR: Personal Experience + ICO Project Review

in #vr6 years ago

And here comes my next ICO project review. Not a typical case this time as the project is somewhat larger then ICO itself. But I will touch on the tokens a bit.

Please welcome on the stage, 

VRT World

Summary on the project

Visual perception is important in this case… When we’re talking VR (he-he), visualizing and testing the product changes everything. I did dive into the virtual realm, and my experience is described in full below.

Obviously, I did my homework: studied VRT World and its management, had a look at the company’s business practice. I’ve known some of the founders for quite some time, we’ve been in touch in other finance/IT projects long before the crypto era began, and that is why there was no doubt about their professionalism.

What is it about?

VRT World – is a big venture in virtual reality space, the team is building a full mode ecosystem for VR content developers, producers of applications and designers of separate VR elements. Their end goal is to comprise a unified platform enabling designers, developers and producers all over the world to construct their own blocks and elements for gaming (and non-gaming) applications, and on the other side, to use/employ ready solutions created by others.

Simply speaking, you are working on a walkthrough adventure game. You will need no own programming of technical modules that connect the costume to the VR space wall receivers to activate your 3D model – they are already available in the system on free, freemium or subscription/royalty base. The platform presumes many different payment combinations and scenarios including combined ones.

Another case: you have designed a module that allows to 3D-model a cat, or a dog – good job! Put it in the system and start offering the element to other developers who, in turn, will only create their individual skins to make a calico cat or a bulldog. VRT's kit for VR development is available to every developer as well.

Games that VRT World team offers in their own and franchise parks are using full body tracking technology, which is not generally available for a regular VR user/player (here is a fine story on that by HackerNoon: HackerNoon). It is worth noting that VRT didn’t use one of the existing solutions but created its own instead. There are only several similar technologies in the world, all unique, and only VRT platform will allow unlimited use of the technology by every interested party.

The project is currently running a token sale to place VRT tokens which are aimed to become the system’s internal currency. The team is very cautious about the role of VR parks in the project and always notes that the token is not related to VR park business and its value is not in connection with the profit that the network of parks will generate. The token is utility by its nature and will only serve within the ecosystem for VR developers. The parks are created under Z8 brand (where “8” shall be rotated clockwise to become an eternity sign).

It is clear, however, that the parks are beneficial for the project in many aspects: firstly, they establish a system of testing and dry running venues for new solutions and games; secondly, they will act as the system blockchain nodes. Finally, don’t leave aside the beauty of marketing and promotion of the VR business and the ecosystem. Plans are massive: over 20 parks to be opened in Russia in coming 12 month, and over 30 locations to be started in Europe in 18 months under the master franchise agreement. And there is the rest of the world.

However, I’m not analyzing VRT tokens here, and please make your own decisions on buying them. I barely state that the project looks solid to me, and here I see a system that will truly use the token as an internal circulation tool. And, which is a rare situation, I believe that there are very high chances for the project’s WP and road map to be implemented with no pivots and major delays. As for me, I decided to test the product by myself.


Diving into the virtual reality

Finally, I found some spare time and went to the VR location in Moscow. I had my daughter Masha with me and a friend – in order to have three pairs of eyes seeing everything. I had never tried VR effects before but had heard a lot about it. But knowing about tacos and tasting tacos are two kinds of animals.

We arrived in the place as agreed, met by Vazgen, very nice and qualified manager. He instructed us carefully, paying most of his attention to Masha (who, let’s be frank, knows how to attract attention). “If you feel afraid, don’t hesitate and take of the glasses immediately, OK?”. That was when I felt worried – I’d been into computer games for almost two decades. But who knows what monsters and surprises will face me in this virtual reality? Some alien beast eating me while I look for the necessary exit button? So that was good about lifting the glasses in case of emergency…

We were invited into the game hall – an empty room 12x12 meters (i.e. c.140 sqm) stuffed with receivers on the walls. We were equipped with light backpacks and sensors on our feet and hands, and VR headsets. All three received different “guns”. Some more training and explanations, and it kicked off!



Vazgen loaded the game, and we appeared on a space station in stylish enough costumes)) Big panoramic windows had space depths behind them, and an “energy barrier” separated us from virtual creatures looking as realistic as we in our space suits. Interestingly enough, I was taller than Masha just as in real life.

Female computer voice was guiding us on the game and action, and the show began. We were running in shady tunnels, shooting creepy green monsters, screaming because of giant rocks falling everywhere around and explosions happening unexpectedly. What got me the most is riding up and down on different transporters and elevators. Despite me constantly reminding myself that all the time I stand on the floor, my mind declined to accept that. We got up on another platform, and the next thing I felt – my body moving fast towards another cave of slide. At some stage, we arrived to an island surrounded by a lake of lava, and, believe me or not, I felt heat touching my skin. The other time, we had to jump over a bridge that started falling apart. Again, instead of walking over the floor my body was standing on, my mind forced me to jump. I felt afraid of falling into the giant scary hole under the bridge. No kidding, it was terrifying. Then we saw and open space above us, with dark sky, stars and space ships parading slowly. That was when I felt tiny and unprotected on a surface on an unknown planet. Wow.

We finished the game and killed the monster boss.

Here is a screenshot of this moment for you. Once the game was over, Vazgen disconnected the equipment, and we appeared to be in the same room as before. The vision of the game didn’t leave me for almost a week, and I even had a colorful dream of the space ship for a couple of times. Truly awesome!

On our way back home me and Masha were dreaming of possible implementations of the technology, e.g. in schools and educative programs. Imagine your History class when you are teleported into Ancient Rome to live a life of a slave, or a citizen. Or to witness the last day of Pompey. Or to stand next to Chris Columbus when he lands on the cost of America. By the way, the Poltava Battle VR reconstruction is already available.

The technology is picking up in medical and military education, there are promising plans for big shopping centers (I plan on writing about it).

You can contact me via

  •   Linkedin Sofia Paskal
  •   E-mail [email protected]
  •   Or Telegram @sofiapaskal
  •    Some info about me
  • Sort:  

    I tried VR for the first time about few days ago and unfortunately it wasn't some game like in your case, but I was taken back to Jurassic time just to take a walk with dinosaurs and it was really, really amazing experience!

    I think that VR projects and start-ups, beside gaming industry, have a great potential in everyday life. Nice blog, keep the good work :)

    Oh, that's great! Where did you get your experience? I mean in which VR-park? And thank you very much for your words about my blog, they are very inspiring. Hvala puno-puno!

    Omg you speak Serbian? :D
    We had in my city open museum night, that's the event when many cultural institutions in the city have open exhibitions for free and one of exhibitions was about new technologies.

    I was just discussed then with my friend how is good idea for project, maybe to use VR in the future for calls instead of Skype. Something like virtual meeting on some virtual exotic place :)

    Да, ja сам много пута бывала у Србиjи и веома волим ту земльу. Говорим сасвим мало. Имам приjателье коjи живе у Београду. About virtual meetings you are right. I'm preparing a new review about VR, so I'm going to touch this question

    Oh nice, this world is so small. If you visit Belgrade in the future, you can call just to hang out .
    I'd love to see your next post about VR. :)

    Great! Let's keep in touch!

    Hi sofiapaskal,

    Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

    LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

    To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

    Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

    You have been scouted by @promo-mentors.

    We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the lookout for promising authors.

    I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

    When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)


    Congratulations @sofiapaskal! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

    Award for the number of upvotes received

    Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

    To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
    For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

    If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

    Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.20
    TRX 0.13
    JST 0.029
    BTC 66263.69
    ETH 3419.88
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.63