Reflecting on Voting for Comments

in #voting7 years ago


By now you are thinking:

Yes, whatsup we know already you are wanting everyone to vote on comments.  Yes, but I wanted to share my experience

I wanted to let you know when you move away from the most visible posts and posts by dolphins and above the meaningful interaction is as scarce as the votes.

Many great conversations developed, I followed some new people, and both agreed and disagreed with others.

Yes, while searching for relevant comments I did see a LOT of spam.  I even flagged a bit of it, something I don't usually do.

I found the same people over and over, out there reading, making comments and making friends, I bet those people will stay, improve their skills and continue to move forward.

I support voting for comments that show POR.  (Proof of reading)

 

Simple reasons voting for comments is beneficial:

  1. If we spread more of the reward pool to comments people are likely to engage more.  
  2. Engagement/Relationships = equal product loyalty and commitment 
  3. It is a good start toward building communities.
  4. Not everyone is a content creator, but they can add to the community via discussion
  5. Save voting for posts for the best content, improving quality and possibly increasing traffic and decreasing frustration with spam
  6. When you make a meaningful comment it is POR.  - I just made this term up.  Proof of Reading  


I will continue to try and spend about half of my voting power towards rewarding comments.

Sort:  

Fully agreed!
I spend like 80% of my VP on upvoting comments. A comment is the highest form of involvement on this platform, which should definitely be rewarded accordingly. It's not only POR (as you called it), but further shows that the person that comments took the time to even think about the piece of content and add their own beliefs.
That's how communication (thus community life) is built.

Exactly, I am not only voting for comments on my posts, I am taking more time to read the comments on other posts, voting and chiming in.

I know you also do this! I completely agree with the thought that is how we build a community.

I love this song. Great lyrics. Enjoyed every part of the melody.
Go Cubs! USA USA! @whatsup for president! :D

I have no idea if this is you or your crazy bot. Either way, Thanks!

well, i have not been upvoting comments on my post and any other post maybe because It doesn't really make a difference but I agreed upvoting a comment can actually go a long way in encouraging and engaging every steemian and thus build friendship but most times people don't read the content and will still comment also guilty of that. thanks for the heads up, will start reading and commenting henceforth

i have not been upvoting comments on my post and any other post maybe because It doesn't really make a difference

I do believe that it makes a difference. First, it makes a difference for the commenter that probably would comment again the next time (since he got rewarded for it) 😉
Second (as a consequence from point 1), it also makes a difference for you (the voter) since the same user might come back and read and comment your stuff again.
So there it is: the beautiful communicative circle 😊

The problem here is this: Newbies like me don't have a clue how Voting Power is created, grows or reduces. Many of us are just starting and just do something, without knowing what the consequences to our account are... If I see a relevant post and want to comment on it, I do it, regardless of what this means for my VP etc...
True, there are lots of spam posts among newer members, that's all because they don't know that quality is more important than quantity here... But give some people a chance to develop themselves and to get the hang of this platform, maybe by rewarding decent comments that add value to an article or discussion...
Still learning here!

If I see a relevant post and want to comment on it, I do it, regardless of what this means for my VP etc...

Well that is EXACTLY what you should do. Even though I'm on this platform since more than one year now, I do behave in the exact same way.

Curation rewards (the rewards you get for voting the "right" piece of content at the "right" time) may become interesting once you're a dolphin, but until then you have many months to learn more about the system.

So as long as you are new, just behave like you'd behave in any other social network: engage and vote for the stuff you like, independently from the economical aspect 😊

@surfermarly! You are awesome :D Your great effort to vote people is very useful!

Thank you, that's lovely 😊 Trying to do my best to have a good time and helping others to have a good one, too.

I am so proud to be one of your followers <3 !

Oh that was cute! Thank you, I saw it a bit late sorry for that :-)

I agree with you.

Comments and community go hand in hand!

In one month I've only gotten two spam comments. It was by the same person, who quickly disappeared into the ether because he couldn't troll me. Real and genuine comments are always a delightful touch to any post. Thanks for spreading the love, Steemit is in dire need of it right now.

I usually vote for comments on my posts that show proof of reading. It has a nice side effect of moving the spam to the bottom of the list.

It sure does! lol, I love that you mentioned that.

So true, my VP is always down around 60% 70% because I always vote for comments on my posts. Well the real comments anyway. :)
P.O.R I like that :)

Yes, and I find new people that I like as I go!

I was looking through my reblogged posts on steemd the other day and you was the first person to resteem my first ever post. Thank you @whatsup I feel as though I owe some of success here on steemit to you. :)

Hey markwhittam, if I resteemed it, I liked it! That is cool that you noticed that. :) Pay it forward as you go! :)

03106285.png

These are really cute, I have been seeing them around. Nice job, and this one is painfully true for me right now. Everyone loves a minnow,... sniff, sniff.

:) All in fun.

i enjoy making them , even if they don't get tons of feedback

Really great, keep it up.

4 to cast. 5/5
Overpowered for cuteness.
^u^

Anyway , i ussualy vote/flag comments. Even if my vote is worth 0.1 cents..

Wish I wrote this blog, it's awesome. POR; (if possible) should be done something with

I am in agreement that people should at least take the trouble to read someone's else post. I am sure the person posting the article for sharing with others have taken time and efforts to share a post. I take a lot of time to search for facts and google to make sure my spelling and meaning are right for the topic. I do feel angry when someone reply with an answer that is not relevant to the topic that has been posted. Some one told me that it happened because the reply comes from a robot. Then it defeats the purpose of learning from others and you sharing with others if everyone just use a robot to answer. Worst of all is that the message is not relevant at all. So it makes the author of the post feel frustrated.
I hope more people will use steemit as a communication channel of sharing and learning and not just hoping to make money.
Thanks
@jackpot

Its cool idea for people to become more engage with commenting and i like the new name POR , this is what help me when i just started out and now i have gain some followers doing this, i also try to upvote those who comment on my post because most people like generosity, this was i great read so i will resteem and follow you thanks for the share

I upvote majorities of comments made on my posts as a token of much appreciation. We all know who have read it or not based on their responses. Aloha!

nice photography... (totally kidding)

Lol...no upvote for u! 😜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58956.47
ETH 2517.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48